Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Masala Chai Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Masala Chai

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2014

      Brilliant! A quick suggestion - using coarsely powdered dry (dehydrated) ginger instead of fresh ginger would impart a very wholesome spicy flavour. Magically clears blocked sinuses and soothes the throat as well. <br/>Replace 1/4 tsp fresh ginger with 1/8 tsp (or a pinch) of dry ginger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Very nice indeed, nice spiciness to it. Next batch I'll try with honey. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      This is a perfect base recipe! I had to use cardamom seeds as opposed to pods so I guessed at how many and used 16 (I looked online and saw that a pod can have 8-12 seeds). I love cardamom and that was a good amount for me. I think next time I will increase the ginger and/or pepper since a like a little more bite. I also used 4 tea bags in place of the loose tea and that seemed to work well. I've been searching for a good chia tea recipe. Thanks, Sharon123 for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I admit up front I don't love hot tea. But I LOVE this tea! Spicy and just barely sweet with a depth of flavor and creaminess I've never tasted before in tea. DH loved it too. I made coffe too (just in case) but we both liked the tea more today. I also got to use the mortar/pestle I got for Christmas and that was a fun bonus. Worth making just to make the house smell so good! Made for ZWT6 by a fellow Looney Spoon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Delicious chai. Exactly what I think chai should taste like. I added a star anise just because I had some but I don't think it needs it, and used dark brown sugar instead of granulated. I used rice dream for the milk because we are dairy free but had a problem that after boiling it, it began to separate for some reason so the next time I added the rice milk after all the simmering was done and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      5 decadent, aromatic, Chai-spiced stars all the way! I think I will make a batch of the mix for whenever I need a super Chai fix. Thanks so much! UPDATE: I just have to say how much I have come to LOVE this tea. A big steaming cup of this makes me forget the existence of lattes (a huge achievement for any cup of tea!). Thanks again Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Lovely authentic spicy chai recipe. We didn't use any black tea, replaced the sugar with splenda, left out the ground ginger, water and milk. I increased the servings 15-fold, and have it stored in a jar with a vanilla pod. We have this mixed with milk most nights before sleeping. Sometimes I also add fresh grated ginger, and strain before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      This is a delightful chai!! Very delicious and easy to make. I multiplied it by 7 to make for a group and it was a big hit. I've made it a couple of times now and must confess once I was in a hurry and missed adding in the ginger and pepper and didn't realize till later, as it was still very good, just slightly different in flavor. I did use green cardamom pods. Wonderful, thank you, Sharon123!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was a really nice chai. I used six peppercorns and soy milk instead of regular. Next time I think I will use fresh ginger too and add some star anise. All in all this was a good chai that I will make again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This is a GREAT spicy chai! I've tried several and this is one of the BEST! I used 1 percent milk, decaf tea and Splenda. I used regular ground pepper and probably should have ground up some whole peppercorns with the rest of the spices instead because it ended up very peppery...but I like black pepper heat and flavor so I still LOVED it. This also smells WONDERFUL while the spices are simmering. Thanks for this keeper recipe! Made for Photo tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Sharon,you have a winner here. I thought the spices were going to be too mild and the pepper noticeable (I never had pepper in my chai before) Needless to say it was perfect and the pepper adds depth rather than taste. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      OH YEAH, THIS is THE ONE!!! I am finishing a mug as I type- it is divine, splendid, love it!!! I wanted a complex blend of flavors as in some of the better chai's I've had and have been searching for a blend to make as gifts. I used the coffee grinder for the cloves and cinnamon stick. I didn't have ground ginger so I threw in 2 chunks of crystalized ginger. I added a few elements... 2 peppercorns, 1/2 star anise and 6 fennel seeds. After grinding everything I used 1/4t. ground cardamom as I didn't have pods. For the tea, I used 2 bags orange pekoe. The batch made 2 huge mugs! I found empty tea bags and will be filling them with the ground spices, a package of orange pekoe tea bags and the instructions... double the batch and there will be enough for me too ;) Thank you Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was such a lovely and calming treat in the midst of the holiday crush. I added an extra cardamom pod because I love the flavor. I used vanilla soymilk which complemented the chai spices so well. Like Annacia, Splenda in lieu of sugar.Next time I want to blend up a big batch so its ready when I am. Thanks Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Total yumm here. The only thing I did to it was to use Splenda for the sugar and evaporated non fat milk for regular. So good on a cold afternoon. I don't think it could be better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Masala Chai

    Serving Size: 1 (888 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.0
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    22%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 40.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes