33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a fantastic recipe and is utterly delicious. ive made it many times for the family and they all love it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t_michalak December 10, 2007

I've made this soup twice and love it. I have to add my own touch to everything, so a chopped sauteed sweet onion was added, 2 diced carrots, some chopped celery. I always double the recipe so I can eat it the next day or freeze any left over. there rarely is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve P. September 10, 2014

I made a profile here just to review this recipe. It is brilliant. I've made it both ways; with the recommended amount of liquid and with about four cups of stock and preferred it with less as it makes it more filling feeling. This is a new lifetime recipe for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meg.regan May 21, 2013

Delicous. Within the choices of the recipe...I used red lentils, curry leaves, homemade veggie stock, and ghee. I subbed mustard powder for the seeds since that was what I had on-hand. I also split the recipe in half for the two of us. Everything worked out very well. We ate it with basmati rice and naan, and we finished the entire dish! We will be keeping this super-simple & budget-friendly dish in our rotation for sure. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 March 21, 2013

Yum! Great soup. Super quick and easy to throw together with ingredients I had on hand. I altered the recipe quite a bit. I added onion, carrot, celery, a bit of salt, dash or garam masala, a generous dash of Kitchen King blend. Used 2c homemade chicken stock, 4c veg boullion and probably another 3c water (based on reviews, as I wanted a thinner soup). I also altered the method in that I started by sauteing the onion (maybe 1/2c) in ghee with a bit of asafetida and most of the spices. Then added the lentils and broth. Since I was using whole cardamon pods I added them with the bay leaves. Let it simmer gently for half an hour before removing the bay leaves and adding 1c finely diced carrots and 1c finely diced celery. I let the soup simmer for another hour or more before removing the cardamon pods, only because I had time, it probably wasn't necessary. The result was excellent - a light yet hearty soup with just the right flavour. Glad I added extra liquid - now I have more leftovers! :) Will definitely make again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stylin'Dog November 17, 2011

This recipe is a gem - so easy to make, light, and honestly, the best lentil soup I have ever had. I added 1 t salt and used orange lentils. Delicate rather than heavy taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JC Jones October 01, 2011

A few suggestions that would make this recipe 5 stars:

Needs about a teaspoon of salt and a couple dashes of garam masala to round out the flavor. Also, to get the texture just right, I'd suggest putting the mixture into a blender or food processor after cooked.

I cooked this for lunch today and adjusted it as mentioned above and it was fantastic. Little strong for my pregnant wife though...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamjamesmarq September 20, 2011

I made this for my church's potluck and three people asked for the recipe as it was the best lentil soup they had. I made mine vegan. I need to investigate more where you can get different lentils or Mung beans. Perhaps Whole Foods. My geneneral grocery store only had one type and I'm not even sure if it was yellow or the not recommended green lentils. Having not used turmeric before, be careful as it will stain anything yellow. Clorox did get it off my formica counter top, sink and faucet (all are white). I also had to go out and get several of the spices. Cardamon is very expensive but interestingly, the McCormick brand at Stop & Shop was $15, the 365 Whole Foods brand was $10 and the Organic Whole Foods brand was $7 so worth pricing it at Whole Foods if you need this spice. I got ground Cardamon. I like the idea below about topping the soup with fresh cilantro, which I'll do next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
md12 May 18, 2011

I really love this recipe. It is easy to throw together and sit and simmer. I have been playing around with the amount of broth for perfect consistencies. I like to use less than the amount of broth stated so I get a thicker dal. I have made this many times, and it goes perfectly with a side of basmati rice. I do mix up the lentils, but do mostly red, as I like it that way best :] This is such a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny February 06, 2011

Yum! This was wonderful and I love the spice...I used the yellow split mung beans and it was thick and creamy. I topped it with fresh cilantro!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juju2424 January 25, 2011
Indian Lentil Soup (Dal Shorva)