Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Lamb Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Lamb Curry

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2011

      I Used Coconut milk instead of Yogurt, Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      I served this last week for our dinner after heading out to the mountains to get our Christmas tree! I made it a few days prior to allow the flavours to develop. It was the best lamb curry ever! And so raved the man - he even said it was the very best lamb curry he's ever had! And we grew up eating curries so!!

      I followed the recipe pretty much except 1) I used one 14oz can chopped tomatoes 2) I used greek yogurt (as suggested by some reviews) and 3) I used about 1 1/2 C - 2 C water given the feedback here.

      It turned out phenomenal, and on the day itself I heated it up in the oven and took the lid off for about 20 mins to let the sauce evaporate a little more. I do agree that if you put in 4C as the recipe suggests, it's a lot of liquid (like soup almost). And finally, I wouldn't use greek yogurt again, I think if you eyeball the water, normal yogurt will do. The greek yogurt did not thicken things up and I think normal yogurt would have a more impact on the flavour. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I made this dish last night. I had sheep meat to use instead of lamb. To cut down the cooking time I pressure cooked the meat for 15 minutes on high then followed the recipe as stated. This is the first Indian dish I have made and we found it to be absolutely fabulous. I felt like I was back in India. Wonderful dish and easy to make. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      this came out excellent!!! ive tried other indian recipes and they wernt that great but this one came out the best great flavor and came out perfect. i will definitely be making it again and would recomend it. the only thing i would change is instead of 4 cups of water i only would put 2 and i would add cumin next time ads alot better flavor to it. thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      So good! The only changes I made is that I didn't have quite enough lamb so I added two chopped up potatoes to stretch what I did have. I also took rosewater's suggestion and only added one cup of water instead of four. It was very flavorful, spicy and the meat was very tender. Will definitely be making again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I'm Indian, and this is exactly like the lamb curry I get at my favorite Indian restaurant! Very authentic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      The flavour was outstanding! I used veal shoulder chops (bone in) instead of lamb, and simmered it for 5 hours until the 2 cups of chicken broth (rather than 4 cups of water) reduced to a thick sauce. The veal was fall-off-the-bone tender. My friends almost fell off their chairs when they tasted it - it was that good! Be sure to use kosher salt or sea salt instead of harsh-tasting table salt. One more thing: Add 2 or 3 chili peppers instead of just 1. This recipe is totally worth the time it takes to do it right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Exellent flavor! I added two large green chilis, used 4 green cardamom pods instead of 1 black, and used 3 cups water. I let the curry simmer for about 45 minutes instead of 15 after adding the water. The lamb turned out very tender, and the consistency was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      Very tasty,my family loved it,easy to prepare and to cook,will certainly be making this dish a lot in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      Flavor was very good. Next time I'd use less water so that the sauce would be thicker. Also, for the meat to absorb the flavor it took about three hours. Maybe a slow cooker would work well for this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      This recipe was taken almost exactly from the cookbook, The Great Curries of India by Camellia Panjabi. Page 63. The three differences: Puree tomato, chop fresh garlic, and fresh ginger. It is a great cookbook by the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Turned out really well. We needed it a little hotter. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Its the 3rd time i cook this curry with lamb and it turns out better and better everytime. Its a winner if u wanna impress your guests. I served it last night with raitha, tabuleh, mango chutney, papadums and naanbread. everybody loved it.
      Only changes I have made to the recipe is to use 2 cups of water instead of 4.
      And I only use a half teaspoon of cayenne. as it turned out a bit to hot first couple of times.
      be sure to use plain natural yougurt.
      enjoy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      wonderful dish full of flavour the cinnamon is the key i think and maybe a dash of lemon ;) ,,authentic indian, restaurant quality curry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      This was super good!!! I've tried some Indian lamb dishes and they were pretty good but this was awesome! Thanks so much for the recipe the only thing I did different was to add 1 1/4c water and I cooked it longer about 35 minutes. I also added 2 diced Serrano chiles and a 1/4 of a green chilie. We like it hot. Thanks again I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      I cooked this based on the good reviews, it was bland and no very good at all. If I was served this in a restaurant, I would not be happy, its a no from me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      This was really good, my family really enjoyed this. I have tried many tomato based Indian lamb curries, but I have never found anything I really liked. This recipe tasted like the lamb curry my old neighbors from Pakistan used to make, I am going to keep making this recipe and will stop looking for another one. I think the difference for me in this recipe compared to others, are the peppercorns (they add a really lovely flavor, that matches well with the cinnamon and the brown cardamom). I made a few small changes. I only used 2 tablespoons of oil (for dietary reasons), and I think this recipe would be good with this amount of oil or with more (you could probably get away with one tablespoon as well). I forgot to add the yogurt at the end, but I think I liked it better that way (I will try it with yogurt and with coconut milk some other times as well). The only other thing I changed was to use only one clove because I think too many cloves make food taste bitter. I simmered the lamb for one and a half hours on a low heat, (lamb needs a long cooking time to become tender). If I were to add yogurt another time I would simmer just in tomato and water until the lamb was tender and just near the end add the yogurt (and any excess water can be boiled down on high heat before adding the yogurt, so the amount of water should not be a problem). In the future I will try adding lentils and will also try adding potatoes, I think these additions would suit this curry well. Thank you so much for a great recipe that will be on my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Absolutely delicious and a pleasure to cook. Family loved it and I took the leftovers to work. Had everyone in the office drooling at lunch. Fantastic recipe and well recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      It came out excellent, nice and spicy and full of flavor. Though I wouldn't add as much water at the end before simmering; I only used 2 cups and that was plenty. I would also recommend including a measure for curry powder in lieu of tumeric and the other ingredients curry powder includes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Delicious. Looking back at the recipe, I had to laugh when it gave prep time as 10 minutes. For me it took quite a bit of prep, it was well worth it. Rave review all around. Even my mother who doesn't like hot food, loved it. I make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Lamb Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 421.4
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    73%
    Total Fat 34.4 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 83.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 81.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes