Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Kadai Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Kadai Chicken

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2009

      As written I felt this curry was a bit strong flavored. It wasn't bad, just a little too much garam masala for our liking. Next time I'll decrease it to 2 tsp and perhaps add it earlier in the cooking so the flavors have time to calm a bit. I didn't have whole coriander seeds or red chilies, so I used 1 tsp coriander powder and 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. It was a bit spicy, I'll decrease the pepper next time. I used boneless thighs, so it cooked very quickly. It was also very quick and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      dee-licious. I will admit that I was skeptical at first, because I'm so used to marinating the chicken first. Tasted even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I made this with shrimp instead of chicken. We thought it was great and my 4 yr old even liked it! Amazing! I didn't have red chilies so I left them out. I also used a can of diced tomatoes. Next time I will add peas in the mix as well. I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Very tasty, but WAY too spicy. If we make it again, we will have to do something to bring down the heat. However, if we didn't eat any extra sauce, and mixed the chicken with basmati rice, it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I used diced chicken breast tinned tomato and a bit of yoghurt at the end in addition to the other ingredients-it is fantastic my DH hates tomatoes but he loved this recipe -will make frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I used boneless, skinless thighs and fresh red jalapeno chiles instead of dried chiles. I could not believe how delicious it is!!! I was practically licking the plate! :) However, I noticed that the heat level varied significantly depending on the chiles. I followed the quantities in the recipe both times, but the first time it was blow-your-head-off spicy, and the second time it was just medium spicy. There is really no way to tell how hot a chile is going to be when you buy it at the store. At any rate, this is one of the best chicken Indian dishes I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe! I was just reviewing another one of your fantastic recipes and remembered about this one. Excellent flavor with just the right amount of heat. Have made it a couple of times; served it once with Chappatis (Roti) and another time with Rotis With Mint (Indian Flat Bread With Fresh Mint). TY for posting Charishma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I made this first exactly as the recipe stated and it was amazing! This is the most amazing chicken I have ever tasted. I also made it again but simmered until all the juice disappeared so it had a thick layer of tomatoe paste all around. I put it in a yeast pastry dough and made little chicken filled pastries for my husbands lunch. He has suggested I add rice into the mix when I put it in the pastry, I might give it a try. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Thank you for this excellent recipe. My husband loves spicy Indian food and he had never tried Kadai Chicken. He really loved your recipe. I increased the number of red chillies and left out the bay leaves and it was awesome. The chicken also really looked great. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I tried this last week and it turned out fantastic!Didnt have the fresh coriander or the bay leaves, but it still came out just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      I'm brand new to the world of cooking and spices and this is easy, delicious and healthy! I've cooked it twice already and I'm looking forward to the leftovers for dinner tonight. I did make a few substitutions that turned out fine. I bought a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, used finely chopped garlic and ginger instead of paste, and used 3 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes instead of whole chilies. GREAT GREAT GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This was great! I used 600 g of chicken fillets and 2 tbls of oil but otherwise followed the recipe. Also used extra hot chili powder, and, well, hhhhot!! Perfectly hot though - "warm" hot all the way but it didn't burn or hide the gorgeous flavours of the dish. Thank you for the recipe Charishma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Quite delicious and very easy and quick to make. It goes well with steamed rice as well. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      OH my goodness!!! This is a delicious recipe. I've never made Indian food but, I told my boyfriend I bought it to see what he would say and He said he would definitly go back to the "restaurant" again. (I confessed once I got my fill of rave reviews)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      We now have a Kadia fire pit with tripod and the Kadai bowl arrived today so this seemed to be a good recipe to try. It worked really well with half of everything, chunks of chicken and tinned chopped tomatoes. It was served with rice and raisins. Husband admitted adding chillies with seeds so it was a bit spicy! I am so lucky he loves to cook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      not really good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Excellent over basmati rice with a dollop of yoghurt!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I see how in the picture it has more of a thick sauce look to it, as it does when you order it from an Indian restaurant. For some reason when I made it, it was pretty much chunks of tomato and chicken in a soup - and a very light colored soup at that! I used chicken breasts and I think where I might have gone astray is the ginger paste and garlic paste. I used minced garlic in an oil base and found out at the last minute that I only had ground ginger powder. Despite the disappointment in the looks and texture, it tasted quite well. I will still look for the ideal kadai though, it just wasnt close enough to the original stuff. =) Thanks for posting this recipe for me to try!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      Great, great, great taste -:) Would recommend whole-heartedly. Very impressive. The only thing is that this dish has to be eaten with roti / bread, potatoes or some other starchy food to be more enjoyable, which is no good for a person who doesn't mix starchy & protein foods.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This is my favorite dish to order in Indian Rest. I added green pepprers to this dish because I thought it added great balance to the spice this came out real well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Kadai Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (558 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 940.0
     
    Calories from Fat 622
    66%
    Total Fat 69.1 g
    106%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 250.0 mg
    83%
    Sodium 260.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 64.7 g
    129%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites