13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the same recipe I make, so rather than post it I'll just give this one 5 stars! Only difference is my recipe calls for 2 teaspoons baking powder and after you mix the dry ingredients with the water there is no kneading. You just cover it and let it sit for an hour. Than I scoop out balls of dough with my cookie scoop, roll flat into 4 inch circles and fry! We use this for tacos, and it is one of my husbands favorite meals.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers August 12, 2006

yep, authentic, basic fry bread. I was taught to use a little more baking powder too. Knead just to make it into a dough, then use hands to flatten it out, instead of a roller, poke a little hole in the middle. I have not let it rest, but, I will next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbow - Chef 536866 February 05, 2010

My Husband & I were visiting New Mexico 2 weeks ago ...had Indian Fry Bread for the first time...& LOVED it...Happy to find a recipe that met with our taste....& its easy to make...will make again & again..Thank You

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcrcvinerv August 09, 2007

This is the same recipe my grandmother taught me except she mixed in a little more water til the mix was sticky and dropped them in the hot oil by a large spoonful. I like them with butter and peanut butter. Mt sisters ate them with mixed peanut butter and maple syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brat-kat March 26, 2015

I made these as a quick and easy brunch as I tried to use up ingredients before supermarket day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaatarbella August 16, 2009

This recipe turned out very delicious and authentic tasting. I love how the dough stays flat while frying, yet maintains a crispy, chewy texture. The dough is easy enough to work with and the ingredients are just the right measurements. I used half the batch for indian tacos, and the other I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on for dessert :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Archie's Little Cookie April 12, 2008

Yum! Very authentic in taste and texture, unlike some of the commercialized fair booth stuff. My original plan was make half with sugar sprinkled on it for desert, but it was so good, they were inhaled and I had to make batch #2 for sugar. I put a little in the batter on the second batch, and it was just enough of a treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandie Swift November 29, 2007

We loved them! We had Fry Bread the first time back in October at a resort here in Southern CA and got hooked. I made this last night for my family and they were devoured. My oldest DS couldn't get enough of them! Thanks for the great recipe. I think next time I might experiment and put a tiny bit of sugar in the recipe, as well as maybe use milk instead of water... They are fantastic as is though. Update: a little over a month later and I made them again for DS#1 and his friends - they LOVED them. One even asked for the recipe! Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom April 22, 2007

I had fry bread on a trip to AZ and NM a couple of years ago too. I can't find it here in CA. I've been wanting to make it ever since and now I have! I made half of a recipe and followed AprilShowers advice. However, I hate rolling out things so I just stretched them in my hands and plopped them in the hot oil. I got fritter fry bread! They still tasted great! We enjoyed them with butter & three different ways: honey, cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar. Yum! Thanks for the recipe. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed January 22, 2007
Indian Fry Bread