38 Reviews

Simple refreshing salad that works well with my spicy tikka masala recipe. I have to agree with another reviewer that there is something missing, more on the sweeter side. Next time, I may add honey instead of sugar, carrots and green pepper. Thank you for the posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry November 01, 2009

I used English cucumbers and Greek yogurt. This made an excellent addition to an Indian themed dinner. Thanks much for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 07, 2009

Very very good!! I used spenda instead of sugar (I don't know why lol) Really liked this salad! Thank you *Parsley*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP June 26, 2006

My grandmother used to make this a lot, but she never added any sugar, Lemon juice, mint or cumin...She used to add Just cut up chilli, onions, cucumber, yogurt and salt. This version tastes much nicer, as the lemon and mint give it a nice refreshing kick. I also used low fat yogurt, but it was still wonderful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi June 23, 2006

This is commonly known as raita , and is served often with very spicy Indian food. Everyone seems to fix it differently, however, it is usually a thin consistency with some spice for flavor and the cucumbers are not as prevalent as the yogurt. It is almost soupy. I could literally drink it when it is prepared properly. This recipe is a little different as I slice the cucumber in thin coins use cumin, a little coriander and lightly sweeten. Cucumbers are mostly delicious no matter how they end up in a salad or raita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna June 07, 2016

Yes, we do prepare it all the time but without lemon when we use yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arunbhat1962 August 25, 2015

I followed the recipe, using the stated larger amount of sugar, cumin and mint. I even let it sit for 1 and 1/2 hours in the refrigerator. The mint was not noticeable in the taste. I added a 1/16 tsp. of salt, after deciding it needed 'something.' Also, maybe take out 1/2 tsp. of the lemon juice, add more mint, and add 1/2tsp more of some sweetener; that would make it better. I served this with an Indian eggplant/green bean curry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minmn August 26, 2012

Lovely and simple. Following some other reviewers' suggestions, I used Greek yogurt and substituted honey for the sugar. I find fresh mint an overwhelming flavor, so I used a fraction of the amount called for -- maybe three leaves, minced very fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeJohnJP August 20, 2012

Cool and tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny June 17, 2010

The PERFECT complement to a very spicy curry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen June 05, 2010
Indian Cucumber Salad