Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      Simple refreshing salad that works well with my spicy tikka masala recipe. I have to agree with another reviewer that there is something missing, more on the sweeter side. Next time, I may add honey instead of sugar, carrots and green pepper. Thank you for the posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I used English cucumbers and Greek yogurt. This made an excellent addition to an Indian themed dinner. Thanks much for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Very very good!! I used spenda instead of sugar (I don't know why lol) Really liked this salad! Thank you *Parsley*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      My grandmother used to make this a lot, but she never added any sugar, Lemon juice, mint or cumin...She used to add Just cut up chilli, onions, cucumber, yogurt and salt. This version tastes much nicer, as the lemon and mint give it a nice refreshing kick. I also used low fat yogurt, but it was still wonderful. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      I followed the recipe, using the stated larger amount of sugar, cumin and mint. I even let it sit for 1 and 1/2 hours in the refrigerator. The mint was not noticeable in the taste. I added a 1/16 tsp. of salt, after deciding it needed 'something.' Also, maybe take out 1/2 tsp. of the lemon juice, add more mint, and add 1/2tsp more of some sweetener; that would make it better. I served this with an Indian eggplant/green bean curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Lovely and simple. Following some other reviewers' suggestions, I used Greek yogurt and substituted honey for the sugar. I find fresh mint an overwhelming flavor, so I used a fraction of the amount called for -- maybe three leaves, minced very fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Cool and tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      The PERFECT complement to a very spicy curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      A very strong 4 1/2 stars with honey instead of sugar taking previous reviews into consideration. The mint is good in this and shouldn't be left out! We had this along with Curried Beef-Stuffed Squash, Yellow Rice and Balkan (thick) yogurt. Made for India -- More Than Just Curries Tag Game -- March 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Great complement to a spicy Indian meal. I had to use dried mint since that is what I had, but next time will use fresh mint. I let it sit about 3 hours in the fridge and it was great! Thanks Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Great recipe - definitely use fresh lemons and mint if you have it available. Also, the flavors meld a bit better if you allow this to sit for a couple of hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I followed this recipe completely including the use of mint. I love cucumbers and this was another winner recipe. Loved the flavor of cumin with cucumber. Thanks Parsley for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This was a great Indian cucumber salad! I didn't have any mint, so I omitted it but hope to try it again with mint sometime. Turned out great! My family enjoyed this with some potato curry. Made for Indian tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      The DS and I thoroughly enjoyed this dish with Celticevergreen Beef Korma though I didn't add the mint as we don't like it and I thought the home grown cucumbers were sweet enough without extra sugar. Thank you *Parsley* for a great recipe to serve with Indian food. Thank you *Parsley*, made for for Incredible India Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I enjoy experimenting with different cucumber salads. This one is a keeper! The cumin adds a unique flavor and the yogurt/lemon dressing provides a refreshing tang. I did use extra sugar and omitted the mint. I served the salad with The Better Butter Chicken, but think this would be a good salad with other cuisines as well. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I served this for an Indian themed dinner. I was trying to do something different, but this just really did not suit my tastes. It was very bitter, also there was a little too much dressing to the amount of cucumber I had. Thank you though Parsley for giving me something new to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      A wonderful simple side dish to go with any Indian cuisine. I used the 1/2 teaspoon of cumin to be "safe" but I think next time I'll increase it a little. A little bit of salt wouldn't hurt either. This was the only recourse we had against the most spicy burger we've ever eaten - we served it with our Valley of Spices Burger and it was definitely a good match. Thanks for the great idea! We'll be using this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      WONDERFUL! A very refreshing salad that I served to accompany Chicken Vindaloo #24139-a perfect pairing! I did not use the sugar and I used 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1 T. mint, and a dash of celery salt. The mint was a delightful addition. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Very refreshing summertime salad. The cumin seemed a bit overpowering.I used the full teaspoon next time I will try it with the 1/2. Loved the touch of mint. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      June 19th, 2007 - came back at this recipe tonight because it had promise. Just that, for our personal tastes, it was lacking something. So added a bit of lemon pepper, celery salt and a couple drops of tabasco and it was really tasty. You wouldn't need the tabasco - we just like a bit of a bite. But the lemon pepper and celery salt just gave it that wee bit of something. SO have changed my 3 star rating to a strong 4. Original review: We liked this but we didn't love it. We don't like sweet in anything but desserts so did not add in the sugar. It needed something more - not sure what. I will try this again to see if it changes our rating - maybe a bit more lemon and maybe some garlic salt?? It certainly has potential - we just had a mix of reviews from our dinner guests from 2 to 4 so averaged it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.5
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    15%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 48.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes