Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Butter Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Butter Chicken

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2010

      Fast, easy, very good! I used sour cream since I had no yoghurt - it was delicious. Thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      We absolutely adored this dish! Funny story... My brother-in-law lives in India, and he flew in for a suprise visit the same night that I was cooking this. He knocked on our door and came inside and the first thing he said was 'it smells like you're cooking Indian food in here'. What a coincidence :) He passed however, and exclaimed that he was 'ready to eat some American food for once' - LoL :D I made and used Quick Garam Masala and instead of cardamom pods (couldn't find any!) I used 6 teaspoons of ground cardamom. I served this with Butternut Squash With Cumin Couscous. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2004

      Tastes just like restaurant butter chicken-delicious. An easy to follow recipe that we both loved so much thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      Disgusting waste of ingredients. Rated five stars by those who have no sense of taste, smoke, have never had really good Indian food or douse everything they eat in ketchup. Don't waste your time or ingredients with this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I really loved this recipe, and I only made a few adjustments. First I boiled my own tomatoes, took the skin off and pureed them and added these instead of canned tomatoes. i also added an extra half tsp of sugar and also a little salt. I didn't have any cream, so I used unsweetened coconut cream instead, and it turned out very delicious! We ate the chicken with fresh homemade roti.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      There are far better butter chicken recipes available on this site. As written the dish was very bland and it improved slightly with the addition of cumin, garlic, and onion powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I'm sorry - I was so hoping that this recipe would turn out, because I adore butter chicken, but it just didn't. I found that there was way too much sauce, and it was quite soupy. I tried to reduce it but just ended up making the chicken tough. I also thought that the tomato taste overpowered the buttery-ness, and the spices weren't pronounced enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      I followed the recipe exactly..Didn't enjoy it. I Have had better butter chicken..Wasn't very spicy and didn't have much flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      Loved this. Relatively uncomplicated recipe that produced a delicious dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      I don't know why people call this butter chicken, I couldn't detect any semblance to butter chicken in the recipe. Maybe if the spices were doubled or even tripled it would be closer but following the recipe as it is results in chicken in a creamy tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      Made this for the first time and we loved it. After I added the butter to the pan I added 2 cloves of garlic and an onion, both finely chopped, cooked for 5 mins until soft, then added the spices and followed the recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      i made this recipe a year ago and it was the best butter chicken i have ever made so this afternoon i was deciding what to have for dinner and i decided to look up this recipe. i have spent the last 30minutes trying to find this exact recipe and i identified it by the story of your son.<br/>thank you so much for sharing this amazing recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Thank you for the post. Again one of my favorite Indian recipe. I tried preparing it in my pure clay pot and the dish was amazing. The chicken was juicy, temder and evenly cooked. Most importantly it holds all the nutrients in the food and no fear of metal or chemicals get into our food. I got mine from mecware.US

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      I joined this site just to say this is an awesomely simple recipe to a lovely butter chicken dish! I was craving for this since I ate butter chicken at a local Indian restaurant, but this is by far the better! I added salt as I was cooking and that's the only change I made to it (oh and I used olive oil because I didn't have any peanut oil). Thanks for a keeper! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I have not tried this recipe, I just wanted to say that Butter Chicken most certainly did originate in India! It's Chicken Tikka Masala that originated in the UK... they are sort of similar but definitely not the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      I have made this several times now and everyone loves it. This is a great recipe and so easy to make. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      I think this recipe was pretty good though I would halve the amount of cardamom. For those who commented that it is a little bland, I think the recipe needs some demi-glace. Next time I make this recipe, I will add some. I think it will add some depth and needed saltiness in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      Really easy dish to make....i made this with turkey instead and left out the cream (trying to keep the pounds down) and still turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      yummmmy!!!!!!! totallly a no#1 hit in my books :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This was nice, but I am sorry to say my lacal Indian place still makes a better butter chicken!
      Mine was a bit too mild and creamy, but I did prepare the chicken beforehand and freeze it in a ziplock bag. I think I may have lost some of the sauce by leaving it behind in the bag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Butter Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.5
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    51%
    Total Fat 33.6 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 221.8 mg
    73%
    Sodium 430.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 56.4 g
    112%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites