15 Reviews

This gets 4 stars for flavor and ease of making in the pressure cooker (I am always looking for new ways to use my pressure cooker). Served it over steamed rice. I would have given 5 stars, but, as a previous reviewer mentioned, the recipe is not well written. The ingredient list is out of order (pet peeve of mine) and wasn't sure what the "aromatics" were, since it also says to cook the spices, garlic and onion together. Remember, not everyone is an experienced cook, and instructions should be detailed to help them better. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here September 21, 2012

I made this dish earlier this evening and it turned out to be very delicious!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mong1 October 04, 2010

Done using cross cut blade steak in Le Creseut 2.5hrs, slow cook, was very nice

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wainui June 29, 2013

This was very tasty but I'm a little bummed the directions weren't 100% clear. We debated in the forums whether or not this was supposed to be cooked on the stove with a dutch oven or actually IN the oven (in the DO). I went with in the oven, 350 for about 2 hours, and the beef was deliciously tender. Flavors were good, but very mild. Next time I'd probably use green chiles and a bit of salt. Thanks Lil!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy February 20, 2009

I have made this recipe many times, both in the pressure cooker or slowly in a stove top pot. Either way, it turns out delicious. I must say that when using the pressure cooker, I worry that the lentils will catch on the bottom (since you can't stir regularly) and so I add the lentils after I have depressurized the cooker. They only take 20 minutes or so to cook and I can keep an eye on things while they soak up the extra liquid. Today, I will experiment with a slow cooker. By the way, I always use beef cheeks for this curry and I have not tasted a better beef curry at an Indian restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vluppi January 17, 2015

My family loves this recipe! Easy to make & a nice mild curry. My husband adds minced serranos to his for extra heat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Datura September 22, 2010

I quite enjoyed this Madras curry at its completion, but I had to make some adjustments in the cooking. I sampled the sauce part-way through the cooking, and it was much too mild for me, so I doubled the spices, ginger, garlic and peppers. That was just the right amount, and the curry was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahCKS January 25, 2010

Very tasty, mild curry. I cooked this is a dutch oven for 3 hours, and the beef was so tender! I liked the addition of lentils. It gives the curry such a smooth flavour. Thanks for posting! Made for PAC Fall 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz September 20, 2009

Made this for dinner, and loved it! I had to make a few changes (e.g. no lentils), but it was still yummy. I used my pressure cooker as per instructions. Then I added some veggies (carrots, potatoes and pumpkin) and pressure cooked on high for a further 5 minutes. Let the pressure drop on its own. It was a very tasty curry, quite mild. I loved how tender the beef was. Many thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkkmei September 11, 2009

This was really good! I substituted veggie broth for the beef broth and a large diced potato for the beef to make it vegetarian. I cooked it in my rice cooker and ran it through two cycles (about 40 minutes maybe?) to cook it all the way through. I love the spices and can't think of a thing I would change beyond what I already did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lashannamasala August 14, 2009
Indian Beef Madras Curry