Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Beef Madras Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Beef Madras Curry

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2012

      This gets 4 stars for flavor and ease of making in the pressure cooker (I am always looking for new ways to use my pressure cooker). Served it over steamed rice. I would have given 5 stars, but, as a previous reviewer mentioned, the recipe is not well written. The ingredient list is out of order (pet peeve of mine) and wasn't sure what the "aromatics" were, since it also says to cook the spices, garlic and onion together. Remember, not everyone is an experienced cook, and instructions should be detailed to help them better. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      I made this dish earlier this evening and it turned out to be very delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      Done using cross cut blade steak in Le Creseut 2.5hrs, slow cook, was very nice

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      This was very tasty but I'm a little bummed the directions weren't 100% clear. We debated in the forums whether or not this was supposed to be cooked on the stove with a dutch oven or actually IN the oven (in the DO). I went with in the oven, 350 for about 2 hours, and the beef was deliciously tender. Flavors were good, but very mild. Next time I'd probably use green chiles and a bit of salt. Thanks Lil!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      My family loves this recipe! Easy to make & a nice mild curry. My husband adds minced serranos to his for extra heat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I quite enjoyed this Madras curry at its completion, but I had to make some adjustments in the cooking. I sampled the sauce part-way through the cooking, and it was much too mild for me, so I doubled the spices, ginger, garlic and peppers. That was just the right amount, and the curry was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Very tasty, mild curry. I cooked this is a dutch oven for 3 hours, and the beef was so tender! I liked the addition of lentils. It gives the curry such a smooth flavour. Thanks for posting! Made for PAC Fall 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Made this for dinner, and loved it! I had to make a few changes (e.g. no lentils), but it was still yummy. I used my pressure cooker as per instructions. Then I added some veggies (carrots, potatoes and pumpkin) and pressure cooked on high for a further 5 minutes. Let the pressure drop on its own. It was a very tasty curry, quite mild. I loved how tender the beef was. Many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This was really good! I substituted veggie broth for the beef broth and a large diced potato for the beef to make it vegetarian. I cooked it in my rice cooker and ran it through two cycles (about 40 minutes maybe?) to cook it all the way through. I love the spices and can't think of a thing I would change beyond what I already did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

    • on September 25, 2008

      A very tasty mild curry, I loved the addition of red lentils..it thickened the curry nicely. I used my LeCrueset Dutch Oven and cooked for about 2 hours. I subbed tomato paste for the puree and mistakinly used cumin powder instead of seed. Mmmm...Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      WOW! This is a very vibrant dish that sent our senses soaring the whole time it was cooking. I used the crock pot approach to my recipe and it turned out wonderful! We wil be making this over and over again! Thank you Lil Ms Tropical!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I just made this for dinner and it was awesome! Thanks for the great Recipe, it was like eating at my fav indian restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This was really good! I left out the lentils and used 2 medium potatoes, peeled and diced, and about 2/3 c frozen peas. I also fried the whole spices and the chili peppers before adding the onion and other things to fry in the beginning. The timing was perfect for my pressure cooker. I think this will become my staple beef curry recipe for when my Indian hubby gets sick of American food (again,lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Beef Madras Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.7
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    27%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 160.0 mg
    53%
    Sodium 583.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 64.6 g
    129%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites