Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Incredibly Cool and Refreshing Mandarin Orange Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Incredibly Cool and Refreshing Mandarin Orange Cake

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2002

      Karen, this was just as you said, wonderful for a hot day. We had a BBQ yesterday and I made this the night before. Very quick and easy to make and I had it done in no time. I had other desserts as well, so there was some left over (but I'm glad about that, because now I can enjoy it today). Everyone really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for a recipe I intend to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      I made this for our "end-of-summer/daughter's-birthday party-barbecue" and it was a hit! Citrus has always been one of my favourite flavours and this was just great. Moist cake and frosting that's not too sweet...mmmm......gonna go sneak a piece as we speak! Thanks Karen! Sorry Karen, I'm reposting this as I forgot to rate it the first time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      Sorry Karen, I didn't mean to rate this without comments! I made this for a co-workers birthday. She (along with everyone else) loved it! It's so easy to put together, and the "frosting" is so creamy, it just makes the cake! Thanks for posting, this is a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      This is a wonderful cake. It was very easy to make. It's a good dessert to have on a hot day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      A very nice, light and refreshing cake recipe. My cake didn't taste very "orangy", but I realized that the mandarin oranges I used were packed in pear juice - maybe this is why. It was very good and everyone liked it. Will definitely make this one again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Mmmm so good and refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      We too love this cake in the summer. As a change of pace, I usually substitute 1 can of crushed pineapple for the 2nd can of oranges in the icing. Either way, a great cake with a yummy topping that is loved by most! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      delicious! i put a small can of crushed pineapple in the frosting part-yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Well, I just don't know! I tried the cake by itself (b4 frosting) and the cake was delish all by itself. Then I frosted the cake and I thought it was really sweet with the frosting. I changed my diet significantly last year, went from eating sweets several times throughout the day (primarily German chocolate cake, frosted honey buns, brownies and rice krispy treats) to really limiting my sugar intake. This could be the reason I found this really sweet. That was last night. Then I had to try it again after it being refrigerated over night. This is where I am stumped? I guess I am giving the cake itself 4 stars, but not sure what I really think of the frosting quite yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      I made this cake for a July luncheon that I catered and it was a huge success! Everybody loved it. They said it was the perfect dessert to end a summer meal because it was just so light and refreshing. I'll definitely be making this again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Made this with the new sugar free cake mix from Pillsbury and everybody LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I made this for a pot luck at church. I will definately make it again. However next time I will make a couple changes. I think I will add another egg because the cake was just a touch dry. I also think I will do something different with the topping next time. Maybe strait whip cream or something to give it a slightly different flavor. Over all very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because I have eaten one with crushed pineapples(20 oz can drained) mixed in the topping instead of the 2nd can of oranges and it was fantastic! Give it a try! You won't be disappointed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I decided not to give stars because I didn't want to change the rating too much. I would give it 4 stars though. It was definitely very good, but I changed the recipe up a little bit and didn't want to make my rating unfair. I didn't have a full cup of oil, so I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 butter. I also used white cake mix vs. yellow - which I don't think made a huge difference, but still wanted to mention it. It was very good. Everyone complimented it. I think it might even be even more cool and refreshing if you make it ahead of time and refrigerate it overnight. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Fantastic recipe...wonderful at any season. I made this without changing a thing, used the whole cup of oil. Making it again tonight but I'll try adding crushed pineapple to the topping. This cake is highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This cake is VERY good. Easy to make. Made it for a Church function and was asked to make it again for our next gathering. Light and refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Just rating the cake, since I had leftover frosting to use up. Delicious and moist! I used less oil (I just couldn't put a whole cup in!) and baked it in a ball shaped pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was a tasty and refreshing cake! I used vanilla yogurt instead of the oil as an earlier reviewer suggested and it was good that way. I imagine the cake would be a bit lighter using the oil instead, but the slightly dense consistency was fine to me. Other than that, I made this as listed using lowfat ingredients for the whipped topping and pudding. It went over very well at the church potluck. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Very good and very spongy. My friend and I added a box of orange Jell-o gelatin to the frosting and it tasted just like a creamscicle! I don't know if the mandarin oranges I used (Dole canned mandarin) contained too much liquid but my frosting wasn't thick enough, I added extra creamy whipped topping and an extra box of jell-o pudding. Thank you for a very fruity, easy and refreshing cake recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Just wasn't like I thought it would be. It could have used more sweetness. My hubby ate it up though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Incredibly Cool and Refreshing Mandarin Orange Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 591.3
     
    Calories from Fat 322
    54%
    Total Fat 35.8 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 75.4 mg
    25%
    Sodium 523.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 43.9 g
    175%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes