Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Incredible Slow Roasted Shoulder of Lamb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Incredible Slow Roasted Shoulder of Lamb

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2009

      I love the cooking method, moist and tasty. However I prefer lamb with a bolder sauce. I add 2 or 3 onions, halved with the garilc to the pan. After draining fat deglaze pan with 125ml of port and reduce. add 700ml of mix chicken veal stock and reduce 1/2, strain and add vinegar (dash) and mint, knob of butter to finish. It also goes superbly served atop Provence veg (sauted egg plant, courgettes, bay onions plum tomatoes olives and capers) and sauted spuds or rosti

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Gave this a run; we do a lot of lamb/hogget roasts; shoulder and leg. The flavour was great but the meat was overcooked and tending to the stringy side. Yeah, could've been the cut, could've been the oven, could've been the full moon.<br/><br/>Next time with this cut I'll do a sear and slow cook over liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I used a 3 lb. boneless lamb shoulder. It took less than 4 hours, more like 2 hours to cook to 160 F. The meat was incredibly tender. I made the sauce without the mint, capers and red wine vinegar (personal preference) and it was still very, very good as a sauce. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Delicious! Has anyone tried using anchovies with the capers?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      I had never cooked a lamb shoulder roast before. Mine was about a pound less than the recipe called for. I followed this recipe and just didn't cook it for quite as long. Wow, was it tender and perfect! I made the sauce but wasn't crazy about it, but that's just my preference. I was thrilled with the lamb because lamb is pretty expensive to ruin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Fabulous recipe. My family raved over it. I added the juice of 2 lemons to the dish just before placing it in the oven. Can't wait to cook it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      The combination of the meat and the sauce really makes this an outstanding dish. I was not very impressed when I first tasted the sauce on it's own, but it worked great with the lamb. (I also left out the capers.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Love this recipe. Have made it quite a few times now and have also made it in a roasting pan on the bbq. Best to use capers in salt rather than brined capers as I find they give a better taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I saw this episode with Jamie Oliver and could not wait to make this lamb…I was not disappointed! Moist, juicy, falling of the bone with the ease of simple prep and easy cooking. I used about a half cup of “sauce� in a saucepan to steam root veggies- They came out delicious! I’ll definitely be making this again & again. Thx 4 posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Amazing lamb dish - Have cooked this every sunday now for the last three weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      scrumdiddlybumtious! i usually smother lamb in mint sauce but this was so full of flavour there was no need :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

    • on February 08, 2008

      So good and so simple. I like that I do so little for such a good result. The lamb was tender and tasty. We had ours with a garden salad because it has been so hot in Brisbane at the moment, but I would really enjoy having mashed potato & veg with this meal too. Thank you Kookaburra

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Fantastic and scrummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Just fabulous. Pull-a-part, melt in the mouth succulent lamb. Just easy to prepare and make. This is one of those WOW dishes for so little effort. Thanks for posting Kooka.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Incredible Slow Roasted Shoulder of Lamb

    Serving Size: 1 (433 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 923.2
     
    Calories from Fat 653
    70%
    Total Fat 72.5 g
    111%
    Saturated Fat 31.2 g
    156%
    Cholesterol 242.5 mg
    80%
    Sodium 410.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 57.9 g
    115%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh rosemary

    fresh mint

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites