8 Reviews

Yummy! Trying to get away from the supermarket shelf stable dressing. A lot of them taste like rancid oil to me any more. I made this with balsamic vinegar, canola oil and instead of using celery salt, I used celery seeds to reduce the salt content. I plan on maybe adding a little bit of garlic to it next time to change it up but it's great the way it is. I always have the ingredients in the cupboard too. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Watkinslady30 June 24, 2009

"Incredible" defines this perfectly. I use a light olive oil and Braggs apple cider vinegar. I just put everything into my mini food processor and viola! end up with the best salad dressing ever. It is almost addictive.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babaweg December 06, 2008

I have prepared this twice in the past month and we've liked it very much. I did make some changes as others have suggested,,,, using balsamic vinegar, I have used olive oil once and vegetable oil the second time (liked both), added 4 large cloves of garlic and used about 1/4 cup of splenda rather than sugar. Thanks for this delightful salad dressing recipe tree luee dee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee March 12, 2007

I made this dressing using olive oil and balsamic vinegar and added 4 large garlic cloves. It was fabulous and everyone at the two dinner parties that I served it at asked for the recipe! Yummie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neen in Michigan September 02, 2006

We love this dressing. I use onion flakes instead of fresh onion - about a tsp - otherwise I find the onion overwhelms the taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen October 12, 2005

I have been using this recipe for the past six months and am just getting around to reviewing it. We are low-carbing and eat lots of salads. Before finding this we got burned out on them very easily but now we can eat salad twice a day, and never tire of this dressing. I make at least four batches a week. We usually use green leaf lettuce but my husband sometimes has it on spinach, and he says that gives the dressing an entirely different taste. It has kind of a honey mustard, sweet and sour taste. Very distinctive. I scale it to 6 servings, substitute just under 1/4 cup Splenda for the sugar and cut down the onion to one thick slice, and it's always perfect. We use it on lettuce or spinach with diced onion, tomatoes, shredded cheddar, and a few sunflower seeds and french fried onions for some crunch. It really is an incredible dressing, goes together quickly in my mini food processor, and is my recipe from now on. I would give it thirty stars if I could. Thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaiden July 09, 2005

This really is a great tasting dressing. I did it in a food processor and it worked like a charm. Glad you posted this tree luee dee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 01, 2005

Excellent salad dressing. I made this up for our supper salad last night ... grated the onion very fine, put all the ingredients in a lidded jar, gave it a good shake and done. The blender wasn't handy and this did work very well for me. Will give the blender a try next time around. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry November 19, 2004
Incredible Salad Dressing