Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Incredible Lemon Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Incredible Lemon Cake

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2011

      The first time I made this cake, I didn't read the instructions properly (missed that "divided") and put the whole 3/4 c lemon juice in the batter, then (when I realized the mistake) added 1/4 c milk instead of the other way around. I don't make it any other way now. I love the glaze, but don't bother with the syrup (with all that juice, it's very lemony by itself). Having said that, this has become my go-to cake for just about any occasion, and I get requests for it all the time. I've always meant to say thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Wow! You better like lemons for this recipe. I loved it. A tip from the show - to get 1/3 c grated zest easily, remove the zest with a vegetable peeler in strips. Put the zest and the amount of sugar for the recipe in your food processor. Use the sugar as directed in the recipe. This makes quick work of all that 'grating'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      A delicious lemon cake! Moist and lemony. I made mine into a layer cake, omitted the syrup and the glaze, and made a butter cream lemon frosting. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Delightful! Light, Lemony, Moist, and utterly fantastic!. I didn't use the glaze, and used a light butter citrus icing. I made cupcakes and the full recipe makes 29. 18 mins to bake to perfect lemony goodness

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This cake was very good. I made it for a cake decorating class I am taking. My only complaint is that I had to make another cake because only half the cake came out of the pan, and I use parchment paper on the bottom. This is definitely the best textured cake I have ever tasted. It is light and fluffy, but it sits heavy so you don't need a lot to fill you up. It is extremely lemony ever for my taste and I love lemon desserts. I brought the sugar up about 1/3 cup and reduced the lemon juice to about 1/2 a cup. This is still a fabulous cake that I will make again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      This cake was great! Sooo buttery, and lemony from all that wonderful fresh zest. The smell alone will take your breath away. I did end up making mine in a bundt pan. I just added about 15 minutes onto the cooking time, and it came out great. The lemon glaze drizzled over the top really looked nice over the bundt cake. AND, this recipe is no longer posted on the FoodTV website! Thanks Ducky for sharing so we can all get a chance to make this lovely cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This is the first recipe review I've ever posted, but this lemon cake continues to haunt my dreams it was sooo good. I made as directed with the following exceptions> I put in a little less sugar, I sub'd about half of the butter for apple sauce to make a lighter version and didn't have buttermilk so used some lemon juice in regular skim milk--it still turned out drool worthy. SO GOOD. will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      EXCELLENT recipe. Authentic lemon flavour (not that synthetic, artificial aftertaste flavour you get with mixes). I used 3 large lemons left at room temperature before juicing. If you don't have buttermilk: substitute 3/4 tbsp. vinegar in a measuring cup and fill to 3/4 cup mark with regular milk. You won't notice any difference. Next time I will poke some holes in the bottom of the baked, warm cakes before spooning the syrup over to disperse syrup deeper into the cakes. It's nice that the recipe makes two cakes so one can be frozen for unexpected company. This recipe is definitely a KEEPER :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      This is why I own a Kitchenaid stand mixer. It made short work of the batter. Makes me happy to have a lemon tree in the backyard. Be warned that the sugar measurement is divided. I didn't read carefully and screwed up but it's still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      This was divine, served with fresh raspberries. A real taste of summer in the dead of winter. Definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Delicious! I used cake flour instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      This is a delicious recipe! I just love the lemon taste throughout. I have made it twice in a week and have given them to friends who have enjoyed it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      One word- YUMMMMMMM!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Wonderful! Very light and tart with lemon, a very refreshing dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      I made two lemons cake recipes to compare and this one seemed heavy. It was still good but more like a bread than a light fluffy cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      This cake was AMAZING!!!! It was moist & perfect!!! We added a few drops of Lemon extract to the batter & used blueberry pie filling in the middle. My family ate the WHOLE cake in one night!!! Thanks for such a GREAT receipe!!! We will be using this receipe often!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Delicious! I made this for my son's 4th birthday and it got rave reviews. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I made this for Easter dessert this year. It's delicious! Pretty easy, pretty to look at and lovely sweet-tart flavor. I love that it makes 2 loaf cakes. I used parchment paper in the bottom of my loaf pans and that made for easy removal. Thanks, Ducky! This is a keeper for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Like another reviewer I would like to give this 3.5 stars. I baked this in a bundt pan for 60 mins and had trouble getting it out of the pan. I used non stick spray instead of flouring it so that may have had something to do with it. The flavor and the texture of the cake itself was great. Nice lemon flavor without being overpowering and a beautiful color. I found the syrup and glaze to be a little bit too much lemon for us. I made the glaze with only 1 cup of sugar. It would have been too thick and I think too sweet with the full 2 cups. Next time I would skip the syrup and make a different glaze. Overall, a nice cake. UPDATE - All of the guests really enjoyed it and commented that the syrup and glaze were a great addition. Eating the cake a few days later I would now have to say that I agree. It's now a solid 4 stars for us. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I was excited about the cake based on the mostly glowing reviews, butI have to say, maybe my expectations were too high. I made it in a bundt pan, and it came out beautifully. It was moist, but not as lemony as I hoped. It was very good, but just not that exciting. I've had better lemon cakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Incredible Lemon Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 630.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    29%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 123.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 307.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.8 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    300%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites