83 Reviews

Wow! You better like lemons for this recipe. I loved it. A tip from the show - to get 1/3 c grated zest easily, remove the zest with a vegetable peeler in strips. Put the zest and the amount of sugar for the recipe in your food processor. Use the sugar as directed in the recipe. This makes quick work of all that 'grating'!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K January 29, 2006

The first time I made this cake, I didn't read the instructions properly (missed that "divided") and put the whole 3/4 c lemon juice in the batter, then (when I realized the mistake) added 1/4 c milk instead of the other way around. I don't make it any other way now. I love the glaze, but don't bother with the syrup (with all that juice, it's very lemony by itself). Having said that, this has become my go-to cake for just about any occasion, and I get requests for it all the time. I've always meant to say thanks for the recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scaithach March 06, 2011

A delicious lemon cake! Moist and lemony. I made mine into a layer cake, omitted the syrup and the glaze, and made a butter cream lemon frosting. Delish!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive* July 26, 2010

This cake was great! Sooo buttery, and lemony from all that wonderful fresh zest. The smell alone will take your breath away. I did end up making mine in a bundt pan. I just added about 15 minutes onto the cooking time, and it came out great. The lemon glaze drizzled over the top really looked nice over the bundt cake. AND, this recipe is no longer posted on the FoodTV website! Thanks Ducky for sharing so we can all get a chance to make this lovely cake!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues January 31, 2004

Delightful! Light, Lemony, Moist, and utterly fantastic!. I didn't use the glaze, and used a light butter citrus icing. I made cupcakes and the full recipe makes 29. 18 mins to bake to perfect lemony goodness

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toffiffeezz August 14, 2010

EXCELLENT recipe. Authentic lemon flavour (not that synthetic, artificial aftertaste flavour you get with mixes). I used 3 large lemons left at room temperature before juicing. If you don't have buttermilk: substitute 3/4 tbsp. vinegar in a measuring cup and fill to 3/4 cup mark with regular milk. You won't notice any difference. Next time I will poke some holes in the bottom of the baked, warm cakes before spooning the syrup over to disperse syrup deeper into the cakes. It's nice that the recipe makes two cakes so one can be frozen for unexpected company. This recipe is definitely a KEEPER :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hattie Ghost April 12, 2009

This is the first recipe review I've ever posted, but this lemon cake continues to haunt my dreams it was sooo good. I made as directed with the following exceptions> I put in a little less sugar, I sub'd about half of the butter for apple sauce to make a lighter version and didn't have buttermilk so used some lemon juice in regular skim milk--it still turned out drool worthy. SO GOOD. will definitely make again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizz Marr January 19, 2010

This cake was very good. I made it for a cake decorating class I am taking. My only complaint is that I had to make another cake because only half the cake came out of the pan, and I use parchment paper on the bottom. This is definitely the best textured cake I have ever tasted. It is light and fluffy, but it sits heavy so you don't need a lot to fill you up. It is extremely lemony ever for my taste and I love lemon desserts. I brought the sugar up about 1/3 cup and reduced the lemon juice to about 1/2 a cup. This is still a fabulous cake that I will make again soon!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Miss Rachel. July 21, 2008

This is why I own a Kitchenaid stand mixer. It made short work of the batter. Makes me happy to have a lemon tree in the backyard. Be warned that the sugar measurement is divided. I didn't read carefully and screwed up but it's still great.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathleen Colbert April 17, 2004

This was divine, served with fresh raspberries. A real taste of summer in the dead of winter. Definately a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke January 16, 2004
Incredible Lemon Cake