9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone from toddler to Grandma loved this dessert. I loved it because it was so easy and fun to make. Great hot weather recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjane June 26, 2002

omg, this was so easy. I brought this to a 4th of July bbq and I've never had anyone "clap" because of my dessert. Everyone loved it and didn't believe it was made with ice cream sandwiches. I'll definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azbunky July 08, 2010

Wow! This was yummy! I used banana split ice cream bars, Hershey's hot fudge, caramel sauce, and toasted pecans. My dh said no one would have known it was made with ice cream bars. Yet another 5 star recipe that deserves its rating!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phylerin October 26, 2007

My stars! This is soooooo yummy! Made according to recipe using half va ice cream sandwiches (bottom layer) and chocolate ice cream sandwiches (top layer). Popped it in the freezer 2 days ahead. Everyone LOVED it, especially the grandkids. DS requested the recipe he enjoyed it so much. Can't think of a single thing I'd change next time. I also like that you can make a half batch if you have a smaller number of people... however, since it keeps in the freezer, maybe just keep it on hand! I loved it. Very easy and definitely will be made again... and again... and again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna August 12, 2006

I have made this several times now, using a variety of added ingredients. We like crumbledrnHeath bars for one layer and malted milk balls for the other. This weekend I wanted to make a dessert but there were only 4 of us. I used an 8x8 pan and only one layer of ice cream sandwiches. It was still too much but it is great to have a recipe which is so adaptable. I haven't found a soul who doesn't love it. It is sooooo easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava Girl October 06, 2002

I made two of these last night - one for home and one for a cookout at my husband's office today. I went ahead and sliced the bananas into my optional ingredient layer. Sooooo good. What a wonderful idea. Rich but cold and not too heavy for summer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom May 04, 2002

What an easy birthday cake to put together at the last minute. Excellent recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook April 27, 2002

Amazingly easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kobrien7299 July 04, 2010

WOW a dessert persons delight. Great being able to make it in advance for parties that might come up and your ready. Great taste and feel like a kid again eating it.Everyone oh's and ah's said it all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanie67 June 24, 2002
Incredible Ice Cream Sandwich Sundae Dessert