19 Reviews

As I noted each review, in the only reviews with less than 5 stars, the chefs opted to make changes. I don't think they should even be allowed to rate the recipes if they changed them. This is without a doubt the ABSOLUTE BEST whole wheat recipe I have come across. I myself opted to use 1/2 honey also, but would not have posted review if less than 5 star due to changing original recipe. Thank You for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wolfepak2006 March 06, 2010

I was a bit surprised with the cocoa and the coffee, but OMG this was by far the best homemade bread that we have every had. I did everything by the recipe and again OMG was it great. I will be making this all the time now that I have found the one bread that looks like wheat, taste like wheat and is still light and airy.
I did this as a dump bread, everything in the Kitchen-aid knead for 10 minute, put in a bowl and rise for a time then cooked in on a cookie sheet, Very easy. I dont have a bread pan right now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 February 18, 2013

Love this bread!! This is the best wheat bread recipe I've found. I reduced the honey by half based on other reviews. I used the dough cycle of the bread machine. Then I let the dough rise again in two 9x5 loaf pans (covered with greased plastic wrap), and baked them in the oven. The loaves baked up beautifully. This is a great all-around bread for sandwiches. The loaves are so lightweight that one person could easily eat half a loaf all by themself ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane-johnson January 20, 2010

i can't seem to make this recipe as delicious as all the other reviewers did. i followed the recipe exactly 3 times and the bread was dense and heavy every time, but it tasted fine. if anyone can help i would really appreciate it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurasling May 09, 2011

so moist and finally, a honey bread you can taste the honey in! Mixed it in the bread machine, then halved it and let rise in two loaf pans for 30 mins. For sandwiches, I would not split it, but put it in one loaf pan for larger slices. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 October 06, 2010

I reduced the recipe by half & enjoyed one large loaf of bread. I did use a full pkt of yeast & the dough cycle of the bread machine. The bread was very fluffy, rose high, and had a nice sweet flavor. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D January 08, 2010

One of the best tasting bread, and it turned out so good. There were 2 little changes that i made, i added 1table spoon of instant yeast and sprinkled it with oats right before baking to give it the gourmet effect, my husband and i loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megha_32 December 22, 2009

This is wonderful bread, and the smell when it's baking is out of this world! The only thing I had to change was I had to add 1/2 cup more bread flour because it resembled cake batter. That might just be the difference in altitude though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Passionate Baker October 11, 2009

This is probably the best bread I've ever had! My whole family LOVED it! There may have been a little bit too much honey, but it was still delicious. I also didn't use the coffee because I didn't have any around...and I don't like coffee. It turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesus.is.my.Savior September 27, 2009

Very nice flavor and very soft. Keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB September 07, 2009
Incredible Honey Wheat Bread (No Bread Machine Required!)