10 Reviews

These were very yummy! I love love love sweet potatoes and this recipe didn't let me down. They had a nice crispy exterior and tender interior. I had to bake mine longer though, but I think that's because I made my fries into pretty thick wedges.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smadie3 May 18, 2011

Wonderful recipe! I loved the addition of chili powder and also loved the use of sweet potatoes - it's a nice change from other fries! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 20, 2008

An easy to follow recipe, & great tasting fries! I thought about cutting back on the chili powder, but am glad that I didn't ~ These were perfect! Certainly a recipe worth keeping! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Recipe Tag game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 19, 2008

I made these to go with Baked Pork Ribs With Hoisin Barbecue Sauce I baked them in an aluminum pan with high edges, and I think I should have used a baking sheet, so they would have browned more and gotten crispier. However, they were tasty, and I really enjoyed them with my dinner! I will be making these again. Thank you Redsie for another way to make use of sweet potatoes! Linda Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 27, 2008

For some reason, the spice mixture just did not do it for me. None of my family ate more than one. I always love to try new recipes and I thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 January 02, 2008

Oh these are SO good. I had no onion powder so I used onion salt and omitted the salt. Forget potatoes, I'm doing these from now on. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum December 31, 2007

Great flavour. The spices complement the sweet potatoes very nicely. I baked them on a tin lined with nonstick foil and the excess egg white does get nice and crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 26, 2007

Loved the spice combination here as it was a terrific contrast to the sweetness of the potato. The egg wash is a bit messy and in some cases left a lovely crispy crust and in others a pooled mess on the baking sheet. My caution is to make sure you let any exess coating drip off the fries before putting them on the baking sheet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni December 19, 2007

Very easy to make and tastes great! DH is not to fond of sweet potatoes but he enjoyed these fries. I used one very large sweet potato for the two of us and a bit less chili powder. Sprayed my cookie sheet with non stick spray and did bake a few minutes longer. Havent been feeling to well and this was perfect for a quick put together supper served with your The Canadian Living Burger, thank you Reds!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 05, 2007

These were great. I made 1/2 regular potatoes and 1/2 sweet potatoes. We all liked them. Will make this again for sure. Never tried with egg whites, but left a nice crunchy coating. I did cook mine an additional 5 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally November 05, 2007
Incredible French Fries