Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ina's Coconut Macaroons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ina's Coconut Macaroons

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2011

      We love love love this macaroon recipe. They are awesome and so easy to make. We've made them so many times that i have a few tips about the recipe. 1) To avoid puddling when baking (complaint of earlier reviews) the cookies must be baked as soon as they are combined with the egg whites. If you wait and they sit the egg whites will break down and cause them to be runny and they will puddle (still delicious that way.) 2) Do not try and over compensate for the extra large egg whites if you only have large eggs. Large egg whites work just fine. If you add extra whites to your recipe the cookies become too moist/runny and won't set up and bake properly. 3) These cookies freeze great. We baked them and put them in the freezer and ate them 3 months later and they were still great. Just not as crunchy as when they were originally baked. I've also dipped them in chocolate or drizzled them with chocolate. Just melt some chocolate chips in the microwave if you don't have dipping chocolate. Give them a try, they are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      These were easy to make - people who had problems may have either 1) used evaporated milk (thinner and less sweet) instead of sweetened condensed milk, 2) not shipped the egg whites long enough - they actually need to be stiff peaks when you lift the beaters, or 3) mixed the beaten egg whites with the coconut mixture with the mixer instead of gently by hand, thereby breaking down the fluffiness. We found these took a little less time in the oven than stated here, and rotating the pans and alternating racks is important. But we found these too sweet overall - dipping them in very dark chocolate (70% cocoa or above) helps ( well, how could it not?). Next Passover, I will try a basic meringue recipe with vanilla and coconut instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      I made this simple recipe today. I added the zest of one lemon to the mixture. Did not have an ice cream scooper but I used a piping gadget to create lovely macaroons. Everyone in the household like them very much. No leftovers on these yummy macaroons! Next time I will double the portions...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      These are great and so easy.A parent brought them to my pot luck and everyone loved them. <br/>1. I made them with low fat sweetened condensed milk, worked great.<br/>2. I used Bob's Red Mill Unsweetened Coconut (health food aisle) to cut down on the sugar, because original recipe a bit too sweet for me.<br/>3. Next time I make them, going to dry dipping half in melted dark chocolate.<br/><br/>Cant go wrong with these if you want to wow a crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      These are irresistible! I have made them several times and in the beginning had problems with puddling - but whipping the egg whites to stiff peaks helps avoid that problem. Another tip I want to pass on-is to dust the parchment paper / cookie pan with a little cornstarch or flour so that the cookies release easier. In the past it was annoying when half the cookie remained on the pan. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Easy and yummy. Can't ask for much more. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      I never leave reviews, but I had to with this recipe. These cookies are to die for!!! I made them as Christmas gifts for co-workers, etc. and I couldn't keep my hands off of them they are so good! I found that I had to bake them a little longer to get the tops nice and brown and some of them did end up with a little puddle. I just took a sharp knife and cut away and blobs after they cooled (delicious blobs that is). Also, do yourself a favor and dip the bottoms in melted dark chocolate. That takes them over the edge. I will make these every year. Easy and sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      You can't go wrong with a recipe from Ina! These are delicious! I had a little issue with the batter puddling around the base, but that was probably my own fault in not beating the egg whites enough. I noticed that another reviewer said to whip until stiff peaks (not medium-firm like the recipe states). I will try this next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I made these as directed and like some of the other reviewers had issues with the consistancy. Everyone loved the flavor but I also had issues with the runny halo around the outside of the cookies. No leftovers but I was a bit disappointed in the presentation. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      We make these every year. The people we share them with rave about them. Easy and delicious - perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      So yummy....... all I had was unsweetened organic coconut so I sweetened it 1 Tablespoon powdered sugar, 1 1/2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil and 2 Tablespoons water to every 1/2 cup of coconut. my husband can not stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      My husband loves macaroons and this is the easiest and best recipe I've found. Yes, they are sweet, due to the use of sweetened condensed milk, but aren't cookies supposed to be sweet? I too have found some "puddling" around the macaroons, but think our 7,000 foot altitude might be one reason for that. I will keep using this and working on getting my egg white whipped until they're really dry.
      Thanks, Ina. I love everything of yours that I've tried!
      Mountain Cook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Tried many recipes and this is the easiest and best. I was skeptical about the sweetened condensed milk. I should have known Ina's recipe wouldn't disappoint!! I used half a teaspoon vanilla bean paste and half a teaspoon almond extract. Drizzled chocolate on some. Fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      These cookies came out great! I made mine smaller and baked for about 15 minutes. Dipped bottoms in melted chocolate, yum! These are going on my Christmas cookie platter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      These cookies are simple and taste great! I have made the recipe a few times without any problems and more than a few compliments. Most recently I cut the vanilla to 1/2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp almond extract. And for personal taste use unsweetened coconut flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Oh my--these are calling me from the freezer where I stuck them to leave them alone. I added an extra egg white as my eggs did not look particularly large. I dipped them in white chocolate and toasted, dry roasted macadamia nuts--the sweet/salty combination was to die for! I'm putting these in my "tried and true" recipe file. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Excellent! I dipped mine in very good dark chocolate and they were super, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Flavour rates a 5 for sure. Had no parchment paper in the house so i filled minuture muffin tins with the mixture and baked for 30 minutes. Rotated once. Let cool in pan and remove. Alittle messy to remove but once dipped in chocolate nobody is the wiser. Glad I finally tried this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Well, according to hubby's co-workers, these deserve 10 stars!! I've made these at least 15 times for him to take to work and all I get is raves. They absolutely love it and so do we. I make mine alot smaller since I'm feeding alot more people. The only recipe I will use for macaroons. Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Well, I tried to use EggBeaters which were frozen and defrosted and what a soupy mess I had. I couldn't even bake them because it was just liquid. I am sure it was the EggBeaters because Ina does not make ugly food soooooo, I will rate the recipe after I re-make it with fresh egg whites and another bag of coconut! Arrrggghhhh! This was my first EggBeater attempt! :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ina's Coconut Macaroons

    Serving Size: 1 (866 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.4
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    47%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 6.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 111.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites