Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Impossible Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Impossible Pie

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2001

      This is my favorite coconut pie to make. I have even substituted Splenda for baking for the sugar in it and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      I love this recipe..couldn't be easier. My husband devoured it. In fact, he suggested that next time I make it, that I add crushed pinneaple. Should go good with the coconut. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      Brought back memories of something my Nanna used to cook when I was little (a very long time ago).Incredibly easy, nice custard centre, yum. It is winter here, and it was a perfect way to finish dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      I made 3 of these for Easter. I started out making just one, and my hubby ate it all, just after proclaiming, "I don't like coconut" The next two I experimented made one with lemon and one without coconut, but added pecans. All 3 were very good but the orginal was great. P.S. I used coconut milk instead of regular milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I hadn't thought of this pie in years. My mother made this often when I was growing up. I did cut the margerine in half, but otherwise made it as posted. Thanks for the memory!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Very easy, I only used 2 Tbls. melted butter. Turned out great. Good Stuff!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      To say this is simple to put together is an understatement. Very easy. I used 3/4 of the serving size as I had a 9" pie pan. It overloaded it. (good thing I had foil underneath it during baking). I would suggest if using pie pans, as stated, it would make 2 easily. The pie did sink down right after removing it from the oven but it was still very good. A bit of moisture on the bottom of the pie dish also. Overall, yea it is very good. ~Bird

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This is what my Mom made when I was a child! I did not have her recipe. She had passed and thought I would never see it again. Thank you for sharing it! ~ Wendy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      We really enjoyed this pie, but were not crazy about the "crust" it was sort of rubbery. I also sprinkled about 3/4 cup of coconut on the top to brown in the oven. Apart from the crust the pie is very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      This recipe was sure fun to make. I needed 2 9-inches pie dishes to contain all the recipe. So I assume my pie dishes were much shallower than yours. It did well separate but ended up with less custard in the middle. DH didn't like much, to eggy for his taste. I liked it, and baby loved it very much. It's a sugary way to get some eggs in him :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      As a little girl, I used to make this with my mom. It brings back such great memories, however, back then I was always sad to see it sink in the middle. However, after years of baking I learnt not to take these sort of desserts out of the oven immediately. Instead, turn off the oven and let the pie slowly cool. I used Splenda instead of sugar and only used 1/4 cup of butter and it worked perfectly. I didn't use a pie plate either. . . I used individual ramikins. Added a perfect touch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      I made something like this years ago but it was too greasy. I made your and cut the butter by half and it is perfect! A dessert couldn't be easier. Thanks so much. Nancy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      Who would believe that something that tastes so decadent would be so easy and come from such a short humble list of ingredients. Holy cow...This was terrific! This has the most wonderfully rich comforting taste....if you are wondering whether to try this or not....just go ahead and try it (in my humble opinion I don't think you will be sorry). Not a whole lot of work and by gosh it tastes like you really spent some serious time in the kitchen. This will become a standby for me I am sure....and my daughter who is home from university this weekend says this will become a recipe she will use when she has friends over for dinner. One note...you will need a very large pie plate (deep dish) as this puffs up beautifully...it falls once out of the oven but I think it still looks beautifull with the toasted coconut on top and the custardy filling below. I made the recipe exactly as is this time (the milk I used was 1%)...next time I will try using splenda. Thank you Tebo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Perfect dessert, in my opinion! It combined two of my favorites in one--crispy toasted coconut on top and a flan/creme brulee-like middle. The only change I made was to use 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract, just because I love the flavor of coconut and almond together. It was incredibly easy to make and fun to watch bake; I love how the crust forms! Thanks for a pie I'll make often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      When this pie frist came out of the oven, it was beautiful and I was so proud of myself, but after sitting on the counter to cool, it collapsed in the middle and I was so sad. Nothing happened to the flavor though, it was delicious. I used splenda and 2% milk and thought it was a great tasting pie. Thanks Tebo

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2002

      This was indeed easy to make but I think my pie dish was a size too small (it wouldn't hold all of it). Anyway, the family said it was really good and wants it again. Thanks, I love easy cooking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      The kids and DH loved this (used a bit less butter), I want to try thing next time with coconut milk. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      This is a nice and easy recipe for making a custard type pie. I had enough filling to make a little sampler because my pie plate was full. I greased my pie plate with butter, and had a dollup of butter left over. I put it in the bottom of plate and when I added the filling it came to the top and made those butter indentions (imperfections) that you see in the photos I posted, on top of my pie. It didn't bother the taste at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This took me right back to my Grandma's house. Simple and delish. My husband had never had it, and was pleasantly surprised. He compared the flavor to one of his favorite desserts - custard. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      My family didn't care for this one too much, way too "eggy". But it is such a neat recipe and the way the bottom crust formed was so cool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Impossible Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 500.7
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    55%
    Total Fat 30.6 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 152.3 mg
    50%
    Sodium 269.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 34.8 g
    139%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes