Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Impossible Greek Spinach Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Impossible Greek Spinach Pie

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      This was excellent!! I had some cooked barley available so I added it as well. The nutmeg really picked this up too. I did not manage to make 8 servings. Two of us devoured half of it in one sitting. Thank you Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      nothing i like better than impossible pies-- escept maybe spinach- what a wonderful easy dish i added 2 tbsp of crumbled feta cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      As Tebo says," This was excellent!!". We had this for dinner tonight. My son cooked it and he followed the recipe, except his used 1/2 cup gluten free flour instead of the /2 cup Bisquick. We really liked the combination of the nutmeg, spinach and cottage cheese. We went one better then Tebo, devoured the LOT in one sitting. THANK YOU Mirjam. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      This is a great recipe,we loved it.Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      This was very easy to make. It was just a bit bland, so next time I may add some garlic and red pepper. I didn't have enough cottage cheese so I mixed in some ricotta, too. This tasted great! I used fat free cottage cheese which worked very well. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      This was really good! I had to modify a little because of what I had on hand. I used two eggs and one egg white, I used fresh spinach that I cooked with the onions, and I used 1/4 of a cup sour cream to make a full cup of cottage cheese. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

    • on June 08, 2008

      I really wanted to like this recipe as I like anything that has spinach and cheese, however, this was a big disappointment. The consistency reminded me of bread pudding and it never seemed to harden enough. After I put it in the fridge overnight, I hoped that it would be better the next day but to no avail. I ended up throwing it in the trash. I hate wasting food but I had no idea what to do with it. Also, the nutmeg, which other reviewers liked really turned me off. I made this per the instructions and I only added some feta cheese. The kids all turned up their noses and the husband looked the other way. Too bad. I will not try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This is an awesome and easy recipe. My husband has to eat spinach every day (medical).Thank you so much for a new and delious way to serve spinach. sandy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Made per instructions, except with the addition of some feta cheese. A nice light dish. I do think I will add more spinach, next time. Thnx for posting, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This was great! Threw in a couple of fresh mushrooms and used fresh spinach (not a fan of the frozen stuff)I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I made the mistake of baking this in a deep souflee dish. Next time I will bake it in a wider pie plate so it bakes faster. This is the perfect recipe for using up leftover produce. I also threw in a couple of seeded, diced tomatoes, some collard greens & a handful of crisped bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I added sliced black olives and diced red bell pepper. This recipe is excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      This was good the first time I made it, but a bit bland. I crumbled feta cheese over it after 25 minutes and put it back in the oven the next time I made it. You could probably even use swiss or mozzarella on top near the end of cooking time to make it more of a full-meal-deal. I could also see adding well-drained ground beef to this, putting it on the bottom of the "pie", and/or putting fresh tomato slices that have been "dried" a bit on paper towel on top after about 25 minutes. This is an easy recipe that will be adapted and tinkered with in the future. It is easy to assemble and has a nice presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      We had this today and it was great~ I used fresh spinach instead and substituted plain yogurt and white cheddar cheese for the cottage cheese (didn't have any) It still turned out great and is very filling. Thank you so much for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      I had to go back and change me review upon further thought now that time has passed. It really did turn out quite watery (I really did squeeze out the spinach!) and my DH didn't really care for it. A little bland too. A nice idea - the impossible pie-- but almost impossible to get one really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      So quick and easy. By error, I made mine with ricotta and it turned out just lovely. The next time I made it I mixed the spinach with the ricotta, layered cooked onion (replaced green onion) and smoked sausage and poured the mixture over. It's a hit. Just a great the next day! Thanks Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      Fantastic!!! Easy and delicious. I used some feta cheese also, it was superb. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful! Thanks so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      this is the perfect dish. so easy ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Impossible Greek Spinach Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.9
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    48%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 84.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 288.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes