18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thought it would have better if the salsa and some cheese were mixed with the meat before baking. The bottom was soggy, the meat dry with a layer of salsa and cheese on the top. Could have made a much tastier dish with my pound of hamburger.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W February 18, 2002

My husband LOVED this meal. I usually don''t like burritos myself (strangely I prefer tacos), but this was really good. If you don''t like re-fried beans, don''t worry, because while you can still taste them, the texture is 100 times better! Usually a meal in our house yields a couple of days of left-overs (I freeze everything), but this was gone in less than a day!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allyson October 17, 2001

What a fast, easy, yummy meal! DH and I will get two meals out of this ... excellent for just 1 lb of gr.beef. I'll be making this again; it was a big hit.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie November 22, 2001

I really enjoyed this recipe. I used taco seasoned meat. Before serving, I layered it with fresh chopped onions and tomatoes, served with a side of sour cream. Easy and delicious. Thanks, Brenda

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda November 13, 2001

Wow! This was the best. I also used taco seasoning on the meat and threw in some black olives. After baking I topped it with sour cream, fresh tomatoes, a little lettuce and some tortilla chips. We kind of mixed it all together and it made an awesome taco salad sort of thing. Dh is so picky about what he eats and he gushed over this one. Quick, easy and really very inexpensive to make. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 April 13, 2002

My hubby really liked this and it's easy. It was even better for leftovers. It does look a little gross when you're making it, but it turns out yummy..

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frau Frau December 16, 2002

This was great! Even my picking 8y/o loved it. The bottom was a bit mushy but that didn't matter much. We sliced it thin the next day and ate it rapped in tortillas with sour cream, tomatoes, cheese and lettuce. Will definitly make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joan hotson April 21, 2003

Extremely quick and easy to make. I read some other reviews and I added some cheese and salsa into the beef mixture. I also added some cumin, cayenne pepper and garlic to the meat mixture and I'm glad that I did because it would have been too bland otherwise. I think it's important to use a good, fresh (not jarred, shelf salsa). Thanx for a nice, quick meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 29, 2012

We enjoyed this but felt the crust was to "beany". Next time I'd like to try using more bisquick and a half a can of beans. We also topped it with lettuce, tomato and the sour cream and ate it like that instead of with the tortilla chips. We will be eating this again. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 February 27, 2009

I browned the burger meat with two slices of chopped bacon, a chopped onion and green bell pepper and 3-4 minced cloves of garlic. The liquid from the veggies was more than enough to accommodate a packet of taco seasoning without additional water, and the result was zip-aliciois.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unclesmedley December 29, 2008
Impossible Burrito Bake