Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Impossible Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Impossible Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2002

      That Inez - calling this impossible. It's actually very easy - I don't know what she's thinking :). I used Breckenridge Oatmeal Stout as my beer - it yielded a very hearty taste. I was a little suprised at the texture - it's a soda bread, but lighter than most soda breads that I've made. Takes no time to stir up - I did let mine rise a bit longer than the recipe recommended, though. Thanks, Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Now my husband talked me into making this bread. I don't like beer so I just knew I wasn't going to go for this. Wrong. This is some very good stuff. Easy as can be to make. We ate it warm and it just melted in our mouths. I served it with Miller's Vermont Cheddar Potato Soup. We had an incredible meal. Thanks Inez.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      My college room mate used to make this all the time. We made it last week to go with beef-vegetable soup. It was so yummy and easy,easy. Very light texture and nice golden brown crust. Thanks Inez.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      This is the first time I have ever made OR tasted beer bread. I was surprised at how easy this was and how well it came out. Made a perfect loaf of beer flavoured bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      My best friend's mom used to make beer bread and I always thought is was so delicious. Since alcohol was not allowed to enter into our house, I only got to have it when I was over at her house. Now that I am all grown up, I can do what I want. I was so excited to see this recipe. It is as delicious as I remember and much easier than I thought it would be. Mine had a beautiful light golden crust with soft tender melt in your mouth bread. Yeah. Thanks for providing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      My husband requests this all the time...we have it at least once a week. I have also made this with a can of coke & it comes out great, almost nutty-like. Next I will try Dr. Pepper!! Great Recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      Guess what I am eating right at the moment? Hmmm, the bread is great! I took self rising wholemeal flour and dark beer and sprinkeld the loaf pan with oats. The result is simply fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      I cannot believe how simple this was to make or how superb it turned out! My kids could make this! I just pulled a loaf out of the oven and slathered on some butter...heaven! It's dense and soft on the inside, with a crusty exterior that is perfection. It isn't sweet and it doesn't taste like beer. This will be a weekly staple in our house, thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      Easy, easy, easy and tasty, tasty, tasty. Nuff said. Except that today I made it while I was on the phone and accidentally used regular flour. It's in the oven right now, I figured I would bake it just to see what happens. (It was too late to add the stuff to make regular flour into self rising flour - or was it?) I have a feeling it will be like a rock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      The only thing I can say is FANTISTIC; As in a ham or turkey sandwich, warm with butter, with black bean soup. I added 1 large elephant clove of garlic and 2 tbsp of dried basil. Thanks for a very great basic recipr

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      Now this is my kind of recipe. Very simple for a beginner like me and it contains my favorite ingredient--beer. The bread was amazing. Thanks Inez, for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      Very good and easy too! Tasted great topped with some butter!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      At my husbands suggestion I made this recipe tonight so that we could compare it with the Tastefully Simple Beer Bread mix I made earlier today. Let me just say that I won't be buying anymore $5.00 a box beer bread mixes. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This is my favorite beer bread recipe from Dom Deluise's cookbook EAT THIS. As long as you keep at least 1.5 cups of self rising flour, you can play around with the other 1.5 cups using whole wheat flour, white flour, oats, bran flakes, etc. You can also add nuts. I use 1.5 cups self rising flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup oats and a nice honey wheat beer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      I have this same recipe, but mine calls for 3 tbsp sugar. You can substitute the following for the 3 cups self-rising flour: 3 cups all purpose flour, 3 tsp baking powder, and 1 1/2 tsp salt. My recipe says to just bake it in the oven for an hour, and doesn't call for you to let it rise for 25 minutes. You can also make this in muffin pans, to make little muffins/rolls. Just reduce the time to about 30 minutes. You can also make a great calzone/pizza dough from this, you just need to add enough flour to make a pizza dough consistency - I'm not sure how much extra is needed, I've never measured. Just split it into 4-8 pieces, and roll each up into a ball and place in the fridge to proof overnight. If you split it into 4 pieces, you will have 4 giant calzones, each one enough for 2 servings. Oh and it makes great bread too. :) You can even add some herbs/spices and shredded cheese if you want. It's a very versatile recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      I don't know what I did wrong, but I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I left it to rise in a warm place for 25 minutes and it didn't rise much. Then I baked it for the required 40 minutes, and it was still doughy. So, I baked it 10 minutes longer. It was icky and tasteless.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      This is GOOD! I used Heineken. The loaf came out with a lovely chewey crust, crunchy on top. The inside is light and tender. The taste is kind of toasty and nutty. It doesn't particularly taste of beer. I haven't tried making beer, but I'd guess the flavor is from the hops. It's a "grainy" taste. I'm looking forward to trying this with some of the micro brews that are available around town. Easy, easy loaf and good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Super yummy and easy! We made four loaves tonight and served it up with crock pot chili and a green salad. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This was my first time making beer bread and I'm quite happy with the results! Not sure if it turned out EXACTLY the way it's supposed to because I had to use the "emergency substitution" for the self-rising flour. (Flour, baking powder and salt) I made the bread to go with an Irish Stew that I made for St. Patrick's Day. Yum!! I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This is super easy and very tasty. I made this last winter for my college son and sent it with him back to school. I also had to make a loaf for DH. I was making 3-4 loaves at a time. Now that it's turning cold, I had to look for the recipe again and get my bread pans out to starting baking this again. I recommend trying different beers, but NEVER a light beer. Light beer is like adding water because it is very thin and very light in flavor. Thanks for a easy, yummy bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Impossible Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (756 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1578.2
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    75%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4776.7 mg
    199%
    Total Carbohydrate 316.1 g
    105%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 26.0 g
    104%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites