10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I grew up just across the river from St Louis. We had our own Imo's pizza in Godfrey IL so I can say I have had Imo's pizza many times. This recipe is close but no cigar. First the crust. It got it very close, as close as you get without a pizza oven. I suggest using a pizza pan with the holes in it to get the best results. Next the sauce. NOPE!!! Not even close. I found that Prego Pizzaria sauce comes closest. Now the cheese. It is close but not quite right. Instead of one cup white cheddar and one half cup provolone I would switch that. One cup provolone and one half cup cheddar and one half cup Swiss is more like it. That gives you that "stick to the roof of your mouth" effect that Imo's has. I really miss Imo's pizza since I moved to Peoria. This recipe with my modifications satisfys my pizza urge. Now if they only had White Castles here.....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaryCorn July 24, 2012

First of all I have to writ that I am from St. Louis, but now live in Texas. I grew up on a street with one of the Imo's families. Sometimes, when Mr. Imo would have left over pizza, he would bring it home and all the kids would sit on the curb and eat it in the street. What memories... There is good pizza in Texas, but it's different, not Imo's! My daughter was so excited when I made this. I think she ate a whole pizza herself. This was really good. I've made a lot of home made pizza over the years and my family liked this the most. I didn't follow the cheese recipe exactly. I bought a bag of premixed pizza cheese. Next time I'll follow the recipe. The liquid smoke added a great flavor though. The crust came out perfect too. The sauce tasted exactly right. This is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saint louie girl August 20, 2009

pretty close, it was good but next time I'm going to buy Provel cheese online and make it with that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christopher H. May 24, 2014

We used the crust and sauce recipe (more or less). We are St. Louisans who love the pizza, especially Pirrone's. Our daughter has soy and dairy sensitivities so we skipped Provel cheese in favor of Teese vegan mozzarella cheese substitute (it's good!), but really, the pizza stood on its own without the cheese/Teese! We used tomato sauce instead of the diced whole tomatoes in the sauce and substituted 2 t of brown sugar with an extra 1/2 t of water for the dark corn syrup in the dough. It was amazing! Thanks for the recipe! We will use it again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slatterk December 09, 2013

We just absolutely love this crust! I have made pizza 3 days this week already!!!! Very crisp very tasty and doesn't make you feel over full after eating!!!! TY for posting this recipe for a yeastless crust and a restraunt style one at that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathrynQ March 28, 2012

I did think this pizza was good but the crust was not my favorite. It was more like a cracker crust and even though I love thin crust pizza, I like it to be a little fluffy in the middle. I will make this again, but next time I will add in some yeast and let it rise a bit to get a better texture that I prefer. I loved the fresh pizza sauce! Using fresh tomatoes and not cooking it, I decided to use fresh basil and not dried. It gave it so much flavor and was so good on the pizza. The combination of the liquid smoke and cheeses was definitely something different and gave the pizza a whole new flavor. I made one pepperoni and one with just the cheeses. Thanks for the unique pizza combinations and I will be making again sometime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* July 19, 2011

I am giving this 4 stars because it was wonderful when it first came out of the oven. But then we had to leave and when we came home 3 hours later and reheated it, it was NOT that good. If you plan on eating it all at once, it is VERY good though! I added about 1 tsp. more sugar to the sauce and just *tested* the cheeses on my family with good ole' pepperoni on top. They really enjoyed the cheeses,so next time I will try hamburger and sausage. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris December 11, 2009

This was very good pizza, but tasted NOTHING like Imo's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbk93036 November 03, 2009

This was excellent. I really liked the cheese combination although I only added1/2 tsp liquid smoke that that worked well for us. Made a couple of changes to the sauce but other than that made as directed. The crust was very thin, which we liked, and cooked up perfect. Thanks College Girl. Made for PAC Fall 09' :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ September 18, 2009

The cheese combo is wonderful and the sauce is perfect! I think the crust is almost perfect, but the more you handle a crust the tougher it gets. I mixed it, found it too dry so added 2 tablespoons more of water (did this by teaspoons to be careful) and think that made the crust tougher than it should have been. But then maybe it could be a different liquid increased-maybe the dark corn syrup-truly am unsure. Pizza is a quest for us (ask our kids and friends) and this is mighty close to our favorite. Thanks College Girl for sharing. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal August 18, 2009
Imo's Pizza Recipe (St. Louis Style Pizza)