Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Immoral" Sandwich Filling (Loose Meat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Immoral" Sandwich Filling (Loose Meat)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2007

      Sorry...We just did not care for this. I did add a onion and hot pepper flakes. But has my Dh said this taste as weird as it looks. But he ate it LOL.But that is the fun of cooking, trying something new.I did cut the recipe to 6serv. And some times that does not work. thanks,Bobbie Girl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      This was easy, delicious, and extremely versatile. I can see endless options with this baby.This time I served it on toasted Kaiser buns. Cayenne amount was just right for me, but I added 2 cloves of garlic but will add more next time (personnal preference). I had a medium cheddar, so that's what i used.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      This was really a very nice change from plain burgers! I had only 3/4 lb of beef to use up, and I was able to cut the recipe down perfectly. I used brown mustard (all I had) and just a small squirt of ketchup (for my hubby's taste), but everything else was to the letter. I steamed a couple hoagie buns on top of the meat and topped our big sandwiches with American cheese and dill pickles. It was WONDERFUL! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      OUt of this world!!! So much better than the typical burger. We had friends over for dinner last night. Three decided on a grilled burger and two of us chose the "Immoral Burger". Guess what we fed to the cats? Yep.. the grilled burgers. Thanks for sharing a super recipe. They are great served with dill pickle and chopped onion and most certainly on a nice soft white bun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This was great! I didn't have venison burger, but I had stew meat, so I used that. I added an onion as well and sautéed it with the garlic before browning the meat. I used a Guinness extra stout and it turned out wonderful! Kind of like a Cottage Pie since I served it over roughly mashed yukon gold potatoes. When most of the liquid had evaporated I added a tablespoon of flour and made a gravy. I added sharp cheddar, but it didn't make much of a difference for my dish. It was mainly the Guinness that gave it flavor. I love the flexibility of this recipe! I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Very Very good! I had to add onions of course, The only other changes I made was a little smoked paprika for color and smokey flavor, and pre-shredded cheese because I'm a caterer, and like to take any short cuts possible. But the changes were good, and I think the recipe would be excellent without them also. I've moved it to my "Stuff we like" cookbook. Thanks TBG for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      My fiance, who is not hard to please, said, "um, its not that great." We were both kind of grossed out by the creamy liquid that accompanied it, but we ate it anyway. I was very thankful that I sauteed some onion separately and then added it to the mixture. And thank God I had some pickles on hand, because at my first bite, it was very obvious that they were missing from the equation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I liked this so much I registered just so I could comment on it. I wanted to have cheeseburgers tonight, but I didn't want to have the mess that goes with them. This recipe was perfect, and the seasonings are just right. Would give it 10 stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Being from Alabama, I had never heard of these. They truly are awesome. So easy! I can't say if they are true to the midwest way of making, but they are a new favorite here in Birmingham. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      This recipe ROCKS!!! Yum-oh! The kids loved it as is...the big kids loved it with a splash of peri-peri hot sauce over the top. Cheers ThatBobbieGirl! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      I used to drive 2 hours to Ohio to get these loose meat hamburgers called Maid Rite. Now I can make them any time I want. These are GREAT! The only change I made was adding some fine diced onion to my hamburger as it fried and cut the recipe by 1/3 since I only had 1 pound of hamburger. This made enough for 5 hamburgers for us. Thanks for posting this one, I will be making often. Served with chips and cold beer. Yum, yum, yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      These were a little close to what I grew up eating Maid-Rites in my hometown in Ohio. The Maid-Rite restaurant opened in the 1940's. Rumor has it that the ground beef is steamed in beer. What I don't like about these is the garlic in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      My daughters boyfriend is from Iowa and loves "Maidrites" but this wasn't exactly what I remebered. I combined then a couple of recipe's as when I first tasted the hamburg mixture I knew it wasn't right. Omitted this recipe sugar and added 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 1 can of sloppy joe mix, dark beer,and used veveeta instead of american cheese. Turned out great, a little on the sweeter side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      A confession, I liked this much better luke warm....on a toasted bun it reminded me of a meatloaf sandwich. I followed directions to the "T" and it took approximately 1 hour to cook down. It made a great weeknight dinner with chips and dip and slaw. And I liked it because it made enough to freeze half for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      Boy was this a treat! Bye bye, sloppy joes - hello "immoral" loose meat!! My dh and son and I all loved this stuff. Okay, I have to confess I added some chopped onion while browning the meat. I can't help it, I just love onion. If anyone is leery of trying this because of the beer - don't be! You will be surprised at the wonderful flavor it imparts as it cooks away. I served this open-faced on toasted hamburger buns. Great easy meal for busy weeknights or anytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      This was a cheesy twist on sloppy joes. It made a very easy week-night dinner served on toasted buns with oven fries, cottage cheese, and sliced tomatoes. I added diced onion as I browned the beef and used Lawry's seasoned salt instead of regular. My hubby ate some of the leftovers with tortilla chips as a hot-hamburger dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2004

      This was great. I halved the recipe for just my bf and I, he loved it. Don't all guys love beef? I added a little more cayenne and half a yellow onion while browning the meat. We ate this on low-fat wheat buns. Lots of leftovers! Delicious! Definitely a summer must have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      These are so good!! My family devoured them - it's so easy to make! i agree with ReeLani - it is very addicting to sample while it's cooking! i did add 4 cloves of garlic (we love garlic)and some minced onion (on the side) - will definitely make again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Yummm!! I sampled this a few times as it was cooking and didn't think I would find it too fascinating, but once it was done I found myself quickly addicted! I had mine plain on a plate with no starches, but a good crusty roll would have been an excellent accompaniment. I'll be sharing some of this with my mom, and I know she'll share my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Immoral" Sandwich Filling (Loose Meat)

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.2
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    59%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 62.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 169.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites