48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have used this recipe with great success for more years than I care to count but I use a hot pepper sauce(to taste)in place of the horseradish. Horseradish,as with other bottled sauces,suffers from manufacturers choice in that the a/m product often is too vinegary so or so hot it burns the retina. Go with what you know you can depend on for that touch of fire that gives this recipe its'distinction.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonicaD July 30, 2002

Very delicious salad. I made as posted except didn't use fresh lemon juice, I used the bottle kind. I felt it was missing the extra spiciness that I love. Next time I plan to add some cayenne pepper or maybe some smoked paprika. Thanks for posting. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas May 01, 2010

My family hates crab salad or atleast that is what they have always said. I had only had a fork full of it before I put in the fridge to have the next evening. However, when I had gotten home from work that next day, I found an empty bowl in the sink and two very happy children asking if there was any more. If the kids liked it - it has to be good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GotBoxer? July 09, 2008

I am sure I have reviewed this recipe before, but, hey I could be wrong, obviously!! My daughterinlaw's fav summer salad, actually I have made this as an appetizer in winter too.. so a fav all year round. I followed your recipe to a T, but this time round, I added a quarter of an english cucumber, thinly diced, 1 tomatoe, and 1/2 a purple onion, just because I was out of green onions. It tasted spot on and of course the horseradish (my opinion) "hit the nail on the head" for a culmination of "titilatting" tastebud sensational salad! Thank you for sharing !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluv2cook59 April 28, 2008

I used this more as a base for my crab salad. I dont like celery chunks in mine and I had no green onions so I added in dried chives and celery salt. I doubled the recipe and used equal parts mayo and sour cream. I am sure I used more of everything else than called for, I just add as I go. The horseradish was a nice addition to any I have had before. I only had creamed so thats what I used. I added black olives and a bit of chalula hot sauce for a little extra kick. Thanks for sharing this, it is a keeper! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali~jenn September 03, 2009

Excellent recipe. Nice refreshing, light crab salad that is very easy to make. I left out the horseradish because I didn't have any on hand. Will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds June 04, 2008

"I ate the whole thing" Well, not quite in one sitting but was gone quickly. Only change was using red onion (out of green.) The red onion very good with the salad. The flavors are perfect together and I enjoyed every morsel. The horseradish adds great flavor! Thanks, Sassy Cat for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan May 18, 2008

Delicious, I served this on tortilla shells with lettuce. But next time I will use less horseradish because of personal taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadi February 14, 2008

This was so good. It is a different crab salad then what I've had before. The dill and horseradish in this was delicious. I will use this recipe from now on. Thank you for posting...Stephanie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 04, 2008

Was just what I was looking for when I wanted something lite on a hot day. Easy to make and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flue Crew February 01, 2008
Imitation Crab Salad