33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love crunch so the crunchy factors here were essential, I thought. But it's totally lacking ANY seasoning!!! It needs some! I added Old Bay seasoning, salt, and pepper but you could also add powdered mustard, horseradish, lemon zest/juice..... just anything at all to give it some real flavor and some life!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon T. April 19, 2010

We really liked this I did add some Old Bay seasoning but no water chestnuts. Added a little chopped carrot instead & crumbled cracker crumbs on top with butter. It was easy to make & will it again for sure. Thanks for posting!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dana78olson May 06, 2010

This is a very easy meal to make and tasty. I have made it now a couple times and some changes that we enjoy include: adding 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, 1 cup chopped cabbage, doubling the rice to 2 cups, and doubling the mayo to 1 cup. We also have not put in the water chestnuts due to our tastes. The result is incredibly good. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tandkbenson June 09, 2011

This was great! My boyfriend LOVED it! I left out the water chestnuts (just because I personally don't like them) and I didn't have any mushrooms so I didn't put them in either, but it was still great!! I will put mushrooms in next time because I'm sure they are a nice addition : ) My boyfriend pretty much devoured 3/4 of the casserole in one night! haha

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Val ley October 20, 2009

I've made this twice already and am finally reviewing it. Very good casserole and easy (which is a plus). I've even frozen the leftovers and it reheats great. Thanks so much. UPDATE: 4-7-09. Made this again a couple of weeks ago and am eating the leftover freezer portion tonight for dinner. It's really, very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 07, 2009

This was soooo good! I made some changes to make it lower in fat and higher in fiber, like lowfat mayo, fat free cream of chicken and brown rice. I used baby portabellos for the mushrooms. I pureed the water chestnuts because I love the flavor of them, but not the texture. I omitted the buttered bread crumbs. Even with all of those adaptations, this recipe was outstanding! You can bet I will be making this one again, and soon! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick August 24, 2007

This was really good considering how few ingredients it has and of course the changes I made. I thought I had cream of chicken, but I only had mushroom so I used that. I used leftover rice and only 1/2 a can of the water chestnuts. Had no mushrooms so subbed with a little diced red, yellow and orange peppers and a sprinkle of dill. I used 1/4c mayo and 1/4c miracle whip just for something different. Anyhow good recipe, next time I may try a different soup..... Thanks Judy, nice recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen1 July 30, 2007

This is a quick, great recipe. I ate it as a meal and as a side dish. Next time I think I may boil/nuke the potatoes a bit before I add them to the casserole. I think I'm going to add a little more mayo and cream of chicken to make it a little juicier. I think I may try sour cream also... Great recipe, I'm very excited.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole W June 05, 2007

Fam and I loved this casserole. I used crumbled Ritz crackers for the topping and added just a little salt and pepper. Texture was crunchy and creamy, which is weird, but it totally works. Thanks for something new to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' February 03, 2015
Imitation Crab Casserole