Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Imam Bayildi (A Stuffed Eggplant Recipe from Asia Minor)
    Lost? Site Map

    Imam Bayildi (A Stuffed Eggplant Recipe from Asia Minor)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2010

      This was superbly delicious! I used less oil & added some red bell pepper & chopped mushroom. I have one half in the freezer ready. I rarely have eggplant as husband won't eat it. I shall definitely be cooking it more frequently after finding this recipe. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      I enjoyed this recipe. I added more olive oil as it is heart-healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      WOW! This was amazing. I followed the recipe to the tea (I may have put a bit more fresh parsley and mint--I don't "measure"). The eggplant was like everyone else has said: Creamy Goodness!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      I did not like this very much. I think the mint is what I didn't like about this dish. It just seemed to add a strange flavor. Obviously there are lots of people who love this recipe; it just didn't suit me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      Delicious and satisfying. Even my non-veg hubby was satisfied. Served with salad and crusty sourdough baguette. Also used much less oil than called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      Poli nostimo!! A bit different from how I usually make it and thought I would try it. I would cut back a bit on the lemon juice as I'm used to Imam Bayildi being a bit more on the sweet side. I also added a can of tomato sauce to give it a bit creamier taste and more color. I too cut back on the oil but not as much as some other reviewers here.

      But I love the idea of removing the eggplant and then adding it back in where as I used to cook the eggplant halved in the oven and then add the tomato onion mixture on top. Both ways taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Yummy eggplant recipe. Like other reviewers, I cut back on the oil. I also had small japanese eggplants picked from my garden, so I only made two cuts...otherwise followed the recipe. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      5 stars with the oil cut back to just a touch to coat the pan for onions and to coat the pan for the eggplant. Delish! Without the guilt of to much fat! made 1/2 the amount. I served as a side which was more then enough for four serving. Tender creamy good and full of flavor. Your taste buds will love this. Made for ZWT 6. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

    • on January 25, 2009

      Wonderful!! My husband and I bought a couple of eggplants and decided to make finding a great recipe our project this week, since we love eating it at restaurants but didn't know how to cook it ourselves. The recipe worked out great! Just make sure to block out enough time because between the chopping, frying, and baking it might take more than 1.5 hours to prepare. But don't worry because it is definitely a restaurant-quality dish. Enjoy!! On a side note: Instead of bread, we served it with brown rice; the combination of flavors and textures were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Excellent! I only used 4 tbsp of olive oil and it worked great. I also added (from a mediterranean cookbook): 1/2 tspn of cumin, 1/2 tspn of cinnamon and 3 tbsp of raisins. I combined all the ingredients and made this recipe in a skillet for simplicity and to save time. From the start I added water so that the eggplant and onions would not dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Of all the great tasting eggplant dishes, this may be the best. Be sure to serve at room temperature. It's superb that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Ohmigawd this is good! Though it takes a while to make, it is worth every minute. I did fret a while trying to figure out when to add the mint; came to the conclusion that it has to be with the other filling ingredients. The fresh lemon juice and sugar on top were a surprise, but WONDERFUL. Thanks for posting this, Evelyn! It had been in my cookbook to try for almost a year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Î?οστιμοτατος!!! "Nostimotatos" Looks like recipezaar doesn't use Greek fonts :-P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

    • on February 23, 2006

      I love eggplant, and this reminded me of a dish my Sicilian grandmother used to make: split an eggplant in half, cover with her marinara sauce and bake. She added cheese on top and melted it. This recipe is a deliciously simple dinner. I brushed the eggplant with oil to avoid too much fat, but I am sure it is delicious either way. I also don't have an oven, and a microwave worked just fine for the final step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      This is a fabulous recipe. I never truly enjoyed the texture of eggplant, but the texture was pretty good in this considering how I usually feel about its texture. The flavors in this are absolutely amazing. I will be making this again, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Apr 7th..... I printed this recipe about a week or more ago. Step #6 called for 1 cup of oil. It sounded and looked like alot but I usually follow a recipe exactly the first time to give an accurate review. When I got to step #13 it said to sprinkle another 1/2 cup of oil. This really sounded like to much so I decided to check the picture on the recipe. That's when I discovered that a correction had been made in the amount of oil to use from 1 cup to 2/3 cup. I allowed the eggplant to drain for over an hour and did not add the extra 1/2 cup of oil. Once baking was complete there was still plenty of oil in the dish. I'll definately be making this again but will cut down on the amount of oil using, perhaps, just enough to brown the eggplant and drizzle a bit on top before baking. Apr 8th -I changed the rating from 4 to 5 stars today. We had leftovers which I stored in the fridge on a paper towel which allowed more oil to drain off....and they were positively delicious the next day......cold. Thank you Evelyn for posting this tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Great tasting recipe if you don't think about all the oil in it! The oil gives the eggplant a very velvety texture which is amazing and the hint of mint in the filling is lovely as well. For reasons of texture alone, I definitely advocate frying the eggplant but I'm sure you could cut down on the oil a little bit. I still had oil left over from frying, so I reckon that could go down to 3/4 of a cup if not a bit less. I only used a couple spoonfuls on top before baking yet there was still plenty in the bottom of the dish when I was done. A variation on this might be to add some breadcrumbs to make a crunchy gratin topping while baking. We served with a saffron/onion/mushroom rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Imam Bayildi (A Stuffed Eggplant Recipe from Asia Minor)

    Serving Size: 1 (463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.9
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    70%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes