44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never been able to make a good pie crust...but this crust rolled with such ease it was even fun and oh so flaky and good taste. anyone afraid of crust..this is a must try..filling was excellent also..thank you recipezaar..

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise November 13, 2002

This was my very first apple pie baking experience.It was easy and it tasted great.I made it last night and there is none left(12 hrs. later)I didnt change a thing,used a combonation of Rome and Granny Smith apples.Wonderful!Thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawfish pie March 26, 2002

Used Pillsbury premade crust, and 8 cups of chopped apples in place of 6, because of time and surplus, but have to say this recipe was one of the best recipes I have ever made... it is definitely a keeper...thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP November 23, 2008

Yummy! I used my own crust recipe, but everything else as stated. Great apple pie, not overly sweet. The filling is very runny, so definitely add flour if a thicker filling is preferred. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 17, 2013

Like other reviewers, I had a problem with too much liquid in the pie, which led to a soggy bottom crust, even though I added flour and an extra apple to the mix. The crust recipe did roll out easily and was pretty easy to work with, but it didn't really have much taste...maybe a mix of butter and shortening would result in a better flavor? Definitely a recipe that needs to be tweaked a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen November 23, 2012

Very nice. I try new apple pie recipes all the time, and I really loved this one. I imagine it becoming a go-to recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO December 20, 2009

this is my go to recipe when I make my pies to freeze. My family waits for me to make this. It is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop October 18, 2009

My family loves this recipe. I've been making this for the last couple of years. I've never had a problem with the filling being too juicy or runny, however I only add about 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and a little flour to it. The crust is amazingly flaky and delicious. Awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda S. September 05, 2009

I really wanted to rate this a 5 star, but I made just as written and even added the flour to make the filling a little thicker, but it was still very soupy/runny when I cut it up. Overall though wonderful flavor. Really delicious. Very easy to make. (I did use premade crust though bc I didn't have crisco) Timing is right on. Any suggestions on how I can make it thicker? Maybe another tbsp, or 2 of flour? ***UPDATE*** Made this again to give it a second shot. Made filling exactly as directed, except because of last time with the soupy-ness I added about 3 1/2 tbsp. of flour. And still a soupy runny mess, even after letting it set. It really tastes good, but I wish I was able to cut it so it would stay together. Instead of a pie, it ends up looking more like cobbler because of the mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPCook August 09, 2009

This pie is nice, but the filling was super runny- even with adding 3 Tbsp of flour! Strange. Good flavor though. I would make this again and seriously thicken it first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy but capable March 26, 2009
Illinois Apple Pie