13 Reviews

My meal turned out edible but I had a few challenges with this recipe. First, the ingredients aren't listed in the order they are used, so that is a little confusing. Second, wasn't sure about the mashed potatoes as I haven't ever heard of putting them in meatballs before. I added them and my meatballs were ok but I still am not sure if that was what I was supposed to do. Not sure about the 2T of butter listed at the end of the meatball list... maybe that is what is used to saute them. I didn't include in my meatballs. Finally, I did not include the water as the meatball mixture was extremely moist already. As for the sauce, the flavor wasn't what I expected. Mine didn't thicken nor did it have much flavor - so I added dill and thyme and used cornstarch to thicken. Also, I added the soy sauce to the sauce after I added the other liquids, the directions don't mention it though it is in the ingredient list. If you make these, my best recommendation is to read the recipe a few times before you start!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerik January 12, 2015

This was fantastic! i love ikea meatballs and buy them frozen to make at home, but when i'm out, this is a great fix! I would make the following changes: 1 - I don't think i'll add the water to the meatballs next time. They did fall apart easily and needed to be a bit more dense. 2- the gravy is spot-on! Mine was a little thin so i might add a bit more flour, but the flavor is perfect! 3 - I might try baking the meatballs next time instead of frying in butter... tastey but that's alot of butter! :) Plus baking is just easy and i'm lazy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margokidd November 02, 2009

These were really nice. I used all beef, omitted the water from the meatballs, added a pinch of ginger & nutmeg to the sauce. Served with egg noodles. I also made the sauce first & simmered the raw meatballs for a few hours in the sauce (which is how I like to make meatballs best). The meatballs were flavorful, tender & really melded well with the sauce after simmering for a few hours. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau March 09, 2014

I made the recipe as written and have to agree that the mixture comes out too wet. I also found them a bit to greasy with all the butter so next time I will follow the reviews and eliminate the water and bake them! They are tasty and it will be so much easier to bake them that I will be inclined to make them more often. The sauce was great. I did use just a little extra flour as I like my gravy on the thicker side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynmadhal August 13, 2013

These meatballs were pretty good but not really like the ones at Ikea. I found the meat mixture to be too sticky to shape into perfect little round balls and the flavor overall was not as rich as I expected. I added an additional 1/2 a beef bullion cube to the sauce as well as a little corn starch as it wasn't as flavorful or thick as I thought it should be. Overall, these meatballs tasted pretty good and the potato certainly added a nice silkiness to the texture, but I would probably not make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhopecs December 29, 2012

I only made the sauce portion from this recipe. I live 5 minutes from IKEA, so I had the meatballs, but ran out of sauce packets. I will probably never need to buy those sauce packets again! This recipe was spot on, if not a touch better! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinthiele January 28, 2011

These were great! My son and husband gobbled them up saying they were as good as IKEA's. I should make them often. The only thing I changed was instead of the onion, salt and pepper I used a pack of Lipton's onion soup mix and some allspice. This is how my Swedish mother-in-law made her meatballs. Also I used soy milk and soy creamer because of a milk allergy. No one could tell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindabyberg March 04, 2010

It was yummy! Although, while I prepared it, I had more than a moment of doubt : the recipe prescribes an unusually large amount of liquids for the meatball preparation. Even by cutting the cream and water in half, the mixture was unconstistent. I had to double the breadcrumbs to save it. So my advice is : instead of 1/2 cup of cream and 1/2 cup of water reduce to maybe just 1/3 cup TOTAL of liquids. And maybe just one potato instead of two.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tahitia February 09, 2010

I agree with other reviewers that this recipe calls for too much liquid. Perhaps the quantity of bread crumbs is wrong? I omitted the water and had to keep adding bread till the mixture was thick enough to handle. It also needs more seasoning such as nutmeg, coriander, allspice, as in other recipes for this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theclays April 06, 2016

These meatballs had a good flavor and I will make again. My suggestion is to make the balls small. Mine were too large and did not fry evenly. To get the inside cooked, I had to burn the outside. Next time I will make them much smaller. I was also completely confused by the potato ingredients. Do the mashed potatoes go in the meatball mixture? I ended up serving the mashed potatoes on the side. The instructions are not very clear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 February 16, 2016
Ikea Swedish Meatballs