Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ikea Swedish Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ikea Swedish Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2009

      This was fantastic! i love ikea meatballs and buy them frozen to make at home, but when i'm out, this is a great fix! I would make the following changes: 1 - I don't think i'll add the water to the meatballs next time. They did fall apart easily and needed to be a bit more dense. 2- the gravy is spot-on! Mine was a little thin so i might add a bit more flour, but the flavor is perfect! 3 - I might try baking the meatballs next time instead of frying in butter... tastey but that's alot of butter! :) Plus baking is just easy and i'm lazy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      These were really nice. I used all beef, omitted the water from the meatballs, added a pinch of ginger & nutmeg to the sauce. Served with egg noodles. I also made the sauce first & simmered the raw meatballs for a few hours in the sauce (which is how I like to make meatballs best). The meatballs were flavorful, tender & really melded well with the sauce after simmering for a few hours. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      I only made the sauce portion from this recipe. I live 5 minutes from IKEA, so I had the meatballs, but ran out of sauce packets. I will probably never need to buy those sauce packets again! This recipe was spot on, if not a touch better! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      These were great! My son and husband gobbled them up saying they were as good as IKEA's. I should make them often. The only thing I changed was instead of the onion, salt and pepper I used a pack of Lipton's onion soup mix and some allspice. This is how my Swedish mother-in-law made her meatballs. Also I used soy milk and soy creamer because of a milk allergy. No one could tell.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      I made the recipe as written and have to agree that the mixture comes out too wet. I also found them a bit to greasy with all the butter so next time I will follow the reviews and eliminate the water and bake them! They are tasty and it will be so much easier to bake them that I will be inclined to make them more often. The sauce was great. I did use just a little extra flour as I like my gravy on the thicker side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      These meatballs were pretty good but not really like the ones at Ikea. I found the meat mixture to be too sticky to shape into perfect little round balls and the flavor overall was not as rich as I expected. I added an additional 1/2 a beef bullion cube to the sauce as well as a little corn starch as it wasn't as flavorful or thick as I thought it should be. Overall, these meatballs tasted pretty good and the potato certainly added a nice silkiness to the texture, but I would probably not make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      The taste on this recipe is spot on, but other reviewers were totally right about the amount of liquid. I omitted the water altogether, and it was still pretty wet. Next time I will cut the total amount of liquid to 1/3 cup. I also baked them instead of frying in butter to save a few calories (and because it is so much easier haha!) and it worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      It was yummy! Although, while I prepared it, I had more than a moment of doubt : the recipe prescribes an unusually large amount of liquids for the meatball preparation. Even by cutting the cream and water in half, the mixture was unconstistent. I had to double the breadcrumbs to save it. So my advice is : instead of 1/2 cup of cream and 1/2 cup of water reduce to maybe just 1/3 cup TOTAL of liquids. And maybe just one potato instead of two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I make only the meatballs from this recipe as I buy the packet of sauce from Ikea. The mixture turns out a little (ok, that may be an understatement) wet, but there's just enough 'hold' to form it into balls. I also have the heat up relatively high at first to brown the meatballs first and then turn it way down. Otherwise I am afraid they will fall apart. Yummy, Yummy recipe!! And don't forget that lingonberry jam!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ikea Swedish Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (445 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1172.0
     
    Calories from Fat 783
    66%
    Total Fat 87.0 g
    133%
    Saturated Fat 43.4 g
    217%
    Cholesterol 386.4 mg
    128%
    Sodium 520.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 51.6 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites