Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ikea Swedish Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ikea Swedish Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2010

      I was making this for a crowd so I used 1.5 lbs. ground beef and 1 lb. ground pork. I doubled everything else and the consistency was fine. The meatballs were difficult to roll by hand but dropping them in the pan using a cookie dough scoop worked great! Very, very delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      These were delicious and tasted just like IKEA's. I meant to half the milk, as others recommended, but I forgot. I didn't have any problems with the consistency though. I used ground turkey since I didn't have pork, and fat free half and half for the cream. I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This recipe really tastes good.My husband and I love it so dearly. Thanks for posting this recipe so I could prepare it at home . I just hope i can cook n swedish meatballs and taste like real.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I wrote a previous review saying I would try these again...and I did. I used 1/2 the milk and found it perfect. The only other change I would make is to double the gravy - as a family of two, there wasn't quite enough gravy left for a second dinner. (and they taste just as good reheated in the microwave!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Excellent taste, but way too much liquid in the mixture. It was like handling thick soup. Next time I will cut the milk in half - but there will be a next time. These were really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This recipe tastes very good! My son loved it. But the meatballs as written didn't hold together. In order to make the sauce taste like the swedish meatballs we have had, I added nutmeg. I also added more nutmeg to the meatball mixture. That is not the fault of the recipe, just a personal preference. My problem with the recipe is that there was way too much liquid in the meatball mix. It was impossible to keep the meatballs together. Of course, this didn't affect the taste, just the presentation....thus no photo! Mine looked quite messy! Next time (and there will be a next time), I will not add as much milk to the breadcrumbs to try and help the meatballs stick together. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      These taste nothing like IKEA swedish meatballs. WAY too much liquid in the mixture; I ended up with tiny patties instead of meatballs. I would recommend using only 1/2 - 3/4 C milk to soak the breadcrumbs, and then add more milk if your mixture needs it. The texture of the meat was also off (too lumpy), although I'm unsure how to rectify that. Also, for those of you who are unfamiliar with "10% cream", it's basically half-and-half, so don't use regular cream, because that is too rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Make sure you use dry bread crumbs and not fresh. I did and it was hard to form the meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      i have also been to IKEA and had the meatballs. i do not live near an IKEA and i am now craving them. my very picky family even ate them when i bought a package of the mix at the store. now i am again not near a store and without a package of mix. i heard somewhere that the sauce had beef gravy, this is the only place i could find the ratio. thanks so much for posting this, it will keep my husband from driving 5 hours to get to a store just so i can eat and then spend what is left of his paycheck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      I have tried to make Swedish meatballs at home, and it was okay, but when I went to IKEA and tried their version, it was outstanding! Very tender, yummy with the cream sauce. The lingonberry jam and boiled potatoes are a must as they complement the meatballs very well. This is a dish I want to eat again and again. The Swedish food that I sampled at IKEA was very tasty. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      those were the best ever

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ikea Swedish Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.1
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    58%
    Total Fat 31.7 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 151.0 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1208.8 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes