16 Reviews

I make this a lot -- though I have a couple additions to it. After cooking in the crockpot, I take it out and shred it, then put back in the crockpot and add a can of corn, and a can of black beans, and let cook for an additional hour and serve in tortillas with guacamole and sour cream -- best chicken tacos ever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe February 01, 2012

This recipe has a lot more flavor than expected. Buddha was leary of how it would taste because of just 2 ingredients but found it surprisingly flavorful. (I cooked a small portion of cubed chicken and used Pace Picante Salsa in my mini slow cooker and it overcooked, but we did not count that into the rating as it was chef's error). Now that we've sampled it, we look forward to making a full batch next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 05, 2009

Very good recipe, place some frozen chicken breast in the crockpot added some taco seasoning and the salsa. Cooked on high,took out the chicken and shredded it placed it back in the juices for about a half hour. Served as chicken soft tacos. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria August 12, 2006

THis has to be my favorite thing to make,its so simple and easy i add rice to it while its still cooking and alittle tomato juice or canned tomatoes with juice(or both if it gets a little dry) but you cant go wrong with chicken and salsa(that is if you like both of them)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XxBullet-Proof-HeartxX January 28, 2011

I usually make this in the oven. I just add 3 chicken breasts to a casserole dish (9x13), pour a jar of salsa over it, cover and bake at 350 for an hour. Comes out perfect. I also like to add shredded cheese on top and bake (uncovered) a few more minutes until melted. Serve over rice with a veggie or salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FKHamer January 03, 2011

I`ve been making this for years!!! Alway`s wondered about my IQ,now I know!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet Walker October 07, 2010

I have just invested in a slow cooker -and was attracted to this recipe as it had only two ingredients and had the word 'idiot' in the title...I felt confident that I couldn't mess it up. I cooked two chicken breasts on high for just under 4 hours. Like Annacia, I think the salsa was more of a topping than a sauce as such, but we still enjoyed nonetheless. A good healthy and low fat meal. Thanks Sam.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo June 29, 2010

This is tasty and super easy. I found the salsa to be a really nice sauce/topping as I can't say that it really infused into the chicken. I also need to say that I cooked it on low fro 4 hrs and the chicken was still a little frozen and it was completely done in that time (I used skinless boneless chicken and the one breast was so large that it was plenty for me and DH). I served it with brown rice, sliced avocado and tomato. This is really healthy too as well as good tasting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 18, 2010

I seem to collect half full jars of salsa and what a great way to use them up. I added a pack of taco seasonin (as suggested) and this was real yummy served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from south carolina February 16, 2009

Yummy and couldn't be easier! The chicken was nice and juicy. I like the idea of using for taco meat as other reviewers said...I will definitely try that. We ate it the way it was with a little bit of shredded cheese on top. Thanks so much for this versatile and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo November 23, 2008
Idiot Chicken