Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Idiot Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Idiot Chicken

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2012

      I make this a lot -- though I have a couple additions to it. After cooking in the crockpot, I take it out and shred it, then put back in the crockpot and add a can of corn, and a can of black beans, and let cook for an additional hour and serve in tortillas with guacamole and sour cream -- best chicken tacos ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This recipe has a lot more flavor than expected. Buddha was leary of how it would taste because of just 2 ingredients but found it surprisingly flavorful. (I cooked a small portion of cubed chicken and used Pace Picante Salsa in my mini slow cooker and it overcooked, but we did not count that into the rating as it was chef's error). Now that we've sampled it, we look forward to making a full batch next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      Very good recipe, place some frozen chicken breast in the crockpot added some taco seasoning and the salsa. Cooked on high,took out the chicken and shredded it placed it back in the juices for about a half hour. Served as chicken soft tacos. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      THis has to be my favorite thing to make,its so simple and easy i add rice to it while its still cooking and alittle tomato juice or canned tomatoes with juice(or both if it gets a little dry) but you cant go wrong with chicken and salsa(that is if you like both of them)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I usually make this in the oven. I just add 3 chicken breasts to a casserole dish (9x13), pour a jar of salsa over it, cover and bake at 350 for an hour. Comes out perfect. I also like to add shredded cheese on top and bake (uncovered) a few more minutes until melted. Serve over rice with a veggie or salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      I`ve been making this for years!!! Alway`s wondered about my IQ,now I know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I have just invested in a slow cooker -and was attracted to this recipe as it had only two ingredients and had the word 'idiot' in the title...I felt confident that I couldn't mess it up. I cooked two chicken breasts on high for just under 4 hours. Like Annacia, I think the salsa was more of a topping than a sauce as such, but we still enjoyed nonetheless. A good healthy and low fat meal. Thanks Sam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This is tasty and super easy. I found the salsa to be a really nice sauce/topping as I can't say that it really infused into the chicken. I also need to say that I cooked it on low fro 4 hrs and the chicken was still a little frozen and it was completely done in that time (I used skinless boneless chicken and the one breast was so large that it was plenty for me and DH). I served it with brown rice, sliced avocado and tomato. This is really healthy too as well as good tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I seem to collect half full jars of salsa and what a great way to use them up. I added a pack of taco seasonin (as suggested) and this was real yummy served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Yummy and couldn't be easier! The chicken was nice and juicy. I like the idea of using for taco meat as other reviewers said...I will definitely try that. We ate it the way it was with a little bit of shredded cheese on top. Thanks so much for this versatile and tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      So easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then mine only needed to cook for three hours on low. I topped this with some mexican blend cheese. Next time I will cut up the chicken into bit size pieces so the salsa draws through the chicken more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      So easy and good. Cut/shred it up and made chicken tacos with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      We make this often and love it. It's low fat and delicious. I often top individual servings with a sprinkling of Mozzarella cheese, and serve over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Very tasty and easy to make. The chicken just fell apart when I took a fork to it. I made tacos with it and they were delicious! I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      I make this all the time, but with a Middle Eastern slant and use either matbucha or add some Yemenite zchug to tomato sauce. It really is easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      We do this all the time. The kids love it for their soft tacos. Left overs make great nachos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Idiot Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.4
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    16%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1157.4 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes