Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Idaho Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Idaho Tacos

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2009

      This is a simple idea that had never occurred to me to try. I don't use pre-made seasoning packets, instead flavoring the beef with some chili powder, cumin, seasoned salt and a couple of Tbs of salsa. The whole family loved these, and were done in under 20 minutes, as we microwaved the potatoes. We'll be having these again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      Very good for me and the wife said fabulous. I added onion, green chiles and a fresh jalapeno to the meat. Topped with tortilla strips. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

    • on February 03, 2012

      Great idea!! Put this under the category of "why didn't I think of that?" Everyone loves this and I like to also add the shredded lettuce and onion that I'd serve with real tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This is a great, easy meal that everyone with a family to feed needs to have in the mix. I do suggest a real oven-baked potato for quality, but ours was cooked in a crock pot and they can also be nuked for convenience. Taco stuffing in a potato is a pleasant surprise to those who haven't tried it and comfort food for those familiar with it. We have been doing something similar for years, calling it "Irish tacos." Kids love them, and they can be done salad-bar style with varied toppings so picky eaters can build their own. Made for Top Favorites of 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Absolutely delicious, and it does taste like tacos! I have made these several times now, sometimes using ground turkey, other times using soy crumbles (and both are really good). We usually omit the cheese, and also top them with cilantro, guacamole and tomatoes (or pico de gallo instead of salsa). You will be licking your plate with this one if you love tacos and potatoes like I do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This was wonderful, yet so simple. This probably won't go in our regular rotation, but we all really liked it and will be great to make when we want something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      My kids wanted tacos again so I decided to make me a baked potato in the microwave and used your recipe for an idaho taco. What a great dinner idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      My dh said 4.5 stars and i say 5. Mexican is my favorite and these were delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Good, quick and fun dinner. I served each taco on a half of a baked potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      We loved these!!! I skinnied them up a little by using ground turkey, low-fat sour cream and 2% cheese. A quick and easy meal that made a nice change of pace from regular ol' baked potatoes and plain ol' tacos...thanks so much for posting! We'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      What a great, simple, no-stress meal! Thanks for the idea :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      What a great week night meal. Everybody at the table enjoyed it. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This was excellent! The sour cream is a must for us, lol. I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of salsa. This will definitely be added into our regular menu plans. :) I also think this would be a great lunch box item in a thermos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I made this last evening using Morningstar soy crumbles instead of ground beef. This was absolutely fabulous! Everyone loved it. I used 244839 as the taco seasoning, and added 2/3 cup water to the skillet. Only complaint is that now I have to go back to the grocery store today to buy more potatoes, as everyone is asking when I will be making it again! Thank you~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      What an easy and simple weeknight meal! I used Amazing Taco Seasoning and left out the green onions as I don't care for them. This made a very filling, very delicious meal that I will make again - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was really simple and really good. I used a Mexican-blend cheese for this that worked really well. I can't wait to try this with the grandkids. Thanks DuChick. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      DuChick - my family really enjoyed this meal. It was so simple to put together that my 13 yo DD made dinner for the family on a night when I was at meetings at evening. Because she was not comfortable with the green onions she just used dried onions while browning the beef but I know either way they are great! These will be a staple for those quick night meals I need for our busy family! Thanks for a great addition to my cookbooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Idaho Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (544 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 666.4
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    36%
    Total Fat 26.7 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 106.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 991.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 36.0 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes