20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good for me and the wife said fabulous. I added onion, green chiles and a fresh jalapeno to the meat. Topped with tortilla strips. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man May 01, 2014

This is a great, easy meal that everyone with a family to feed needs to have in the mix. I do suggest a real oven-baked potato for quality, but ours was cooked in a crock pot and they can also be nuked for convenience. Taco stuffing in a potato is a pleasant surprise to those who haven't tried it and comfort food for those familiar with it. We have been doing something similar for years, calling it "Irish tacos." Kids love them, and they can be done salad-bar style with varied toppings so picky eaters can build their own. Made for Top Favorites of 2009.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 06, 2010

This was wonderful, yet so simple. This probably won't go in our regular rotation, but we all really liked it and will be great to make when we want something different.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne October 05, 2009

This is a simple idea that had never occurred to me to try. I don't use pre-made seasoning packets, instead flavoring the beef with some chili powder, cumin, seasoned salt and a couple of Tbs of salsa. The whole family loved these, and were done in under 20 minutes, as we microwaved the potatoes. We'll be having these again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin R. June 17, 2009

We made these Idaho Tacos tonight for Taco Tuesday. The ground meat was seasoned with my homemade, salt-free Mexican seasoning. The potatoes were topped with the meat, green onions, sharp white cheddar, homemade salsa, homemade corn tortilla strips and sour cream. So good! We even used the potato skins as makeshift taco shells! Everyone loved it! We will make Idaho Tacos again soon! Thank you. Prepared for the FYC tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 13, 2015

Great idea!! Put this under the category of "why didn't I think of that?" Everyone loves this and I like to also add the shredded lettuce and onion that I'd serve with real tacos.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse February 03, 2012

Absolutely delicious, and it does taste like tacos! I have made these several times now, sometimes using ground turkey, other times using soy crumbles (and both are really good). We usually omit the cheese, and also top them with cilantro, guacamole and tomatoes (or pico de gallo instead of salsa). You will be licking your plate with this one if you love tacos and potatoes like I do!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 06, 2009

My kids wanted tacos again so I decided to make me a baked potato in the microwave and used your recipe for an idaho taco. What a great dinner idea.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 06, 2009

My dh said 4.5 stars and i say 5. Mexican is my favorite and these were delicious. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 January 05, 2009

Good, quick and fun dinner. I served each taco on a half of a baked potato.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue December 29, 2008
Idaho Tacos