44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used a french vanilla cake mix and a can of lemon supreme frosting, because that is what I had in the pantry to use up. This cake turned out so flavorful and moist, with great texture. The outside of the cake was quite brown, and the inside was beautiful, a pleasant light yellow color. I put a little of the batter into a 6 oz. custard cup to bake alongside the cake so that I could taste the end result without cutting into the main cake. Even with that, the cake rose very high and almost overflowed my bundt pan. I might need to make 2 little extra cakes next time just to be sure it doesn't overflow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue April 03, 2011

My family LOVES this recipe! It is our "go-to" dish for bake sales, pot lucks, and work lunches. Is best eaten the day after it's baked, and the flavor combinations are endless! My 9-year-old daughter made a lemon mix/lemon frosting combo to take to the fire station, and it turned out beautifully. THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buglet's Mom October 03, 2009

Oh God, how have I not rated this yet???? This is an amazing recipe! I usually end up using a yellow cake mix with chocolate frosting. I also butter my bundt pan really, really generously using a sandwich bag turned inside out and whatever I have on hand (last I checked it was Country Crock). I did a pineapple cake mix with coconut pecan frosting for my family and it was gone in about fifteen minutes. Thanks for sharing this delightful recipe!!!! **UPDATE 10FEB2009: So, I've made this recipe yet again . . . and for the Valentine's day flair, I used a box mix of red velvet cake and used cream cheese frosting . . . it is gorgeous and delicious! **UPDATE 26JULY2009: I love the versatility of the ingredients - especially since I wanted just a small amount for my husband and me. He was awesome enough to suggest halving the recipe - so we can make the other half fresh next week! The ingredients halved perfectly and I fit it into my 8"x8" square glass dish. I LOVE this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick July 26, 2009

YUMM ! Needed a quick dessert for cards, and had picked up a lemon yellow cake mix, and added a container of lemon icing. Mixed it all up as directed and poured (VERY soupy) batter into my 12 cup bundt pan -- almost to the top. Baked for 50 minutes, batter expanded slightly over the top of the pan, and the edges were quite dark. I use Pam baking spray, liberally, and cake slid out after cooling. Served with peach sorbet, which made a nice contrast. This was really easy, and very tasty. Will keep in mind for other combinations. Thanks for postin, anni.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney March 23, 2013

Made this cake with german chocolate cake mix ,coconut pecan frosting threw in chocolate chips and extra pecans. My husband said every day it seemed more moist than the day before. Lasted three days. He enjoyed every bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLA December 23, 2012

I must say this is a wonderful and ever so yummy cake. I changed the cake mix to Betty Crockers Super Moist Rainbow Chip and used Betty Crockers Rainbow chip frosting and followed the directions to the t except for the cook time but I made little ginger bread and x-mas tree cakes. They came out so pretty and cute Now off to the bake sale!!! Thank you ever so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
two happy children November 13, 2009

can't believe i haven't reviewed this yet! we love this. i have passed this recipe on to many others and they are always suprised at how easy it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel October 03, 2009

I halved this and it made a good plain chokky cake with crispy edges and some fudgy bits in it too - thoroughly enjoyable. I used a vanilla cake and choc icing but the possibilities are endless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew September 25, 2009

I made this cake the original way and I didn't care for it...but I recently tried it again with chocolate cake and chocolate frosting...and well my opinion has totally changed...I love this cake and I make it often now. Making one today as a matter of fact.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa May 30, 2009

This is a great, quick cake! Took it over to a neighbors house, and it was devoured! I substituted a chocolate cake mix and it was a great combination. Will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quinnirish April 26, 2009
Icing-in-the-Cake Cake