12 Reviews

Mmm, this cocoa soup really is super yummy! A sweet, chocolatey treat, perfect for a chilly day or just to cheer you up after work. I enjoyed it with some home-made spice cookies, which was a perfect match. For flavour this would be a definite 5 stars, but unfortunately it never thickened, even though I used 2 tbs potato starch and allowed the soup to simmer for quite a while. Nonetheless it was very much enjoyed! :) Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #16 Novembre 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 24, 2009

This was fun to make & a treat for this chocoholic. I admit I have the advantage of *on-site input* & it turns out nearly all recipes for it match yours, altho some suggest using vanilla instead of cinnamon. The thickness (or lack of it) was the main issue in prior reviews & I found 1T cornstarch is used for thin soup, 2T for thick soup & 3T for pudding. I used 2T, cooked it till it was clearly starting to thicken, removed it from direct heat & let it sit for a few min. This method got me the equivalent of a thick & creamy hot chocolate that I liked a lot. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis May 16, 2008

I am so sorry, i dont want to be mean but my friend and I wanted to make this recipe for a Geography ISU and it did not work well. I'm sure that somewhere we are screwing up but it was sooooo bitter and just overall unpleasant. :/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krafty48 May 13, 2014

We enjoyed this quite a lot. I used potato flour hoping that it might make it thicker, but it did not. That said, we still thought it was very tasty. We would have liked it a bit sweeter I think, but that is personal preference. I used skim milk which made this very low fat. This would be particularly good in cold weather. And some homemade pound cake croutons would make it almost decadent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 06, 2007

The kids loved this and I liked it too. It didn't thicken up much at all with the cornstarch so adding a bit more is probably not a bad idea. The sugar proportions were spot on for taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat May 11, 2007

I followed the directions and it turned out rather bland. So I added more cocoa, sugar and cinnamon and it tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyKat April 06, 2007

It was fantasic! I've had it for quite some time and I have grown to love it. Perfect while sitting outside in the snow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wischefski November 21, 2006

This was unique. I agree that a little salt is the key. It's like a thicker, less sweet hot cocoa. I like the hint of cinnamon in there. I'll make this again. Thanx for a unique recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 12, 2006

this was really good. kind of like thicker hot chocolate. i loved the cinnamon addition!! thanks for a yummy and quick snack!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K June 12, 2006

Ok, I'll admit I was dubious about this recipe. But the end result was really quite nice! Out of the pan it was an awful lot like hot chocolate in a bowl, but the salt is the key. I used a couple of pinches,and suddenly it lost the (what I find) sickly sweetness and took on a much more soupy flavour. It really would be lovely on a cold winter's night! I substituted soy milk for the milk, and as I'm not allowed starch I cut a half cup of the water, just to help thicken it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houmous Monster April 30, 2006
Icelandic Cocoa Soup