8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great cookies! Very much like a commercial cookie that we occasionally buy here. Be careful not to overmix the batter, I think I did and my cookies were a little tough. Also, I baked the first batch for 11 minutes and the bottoms were browned which made the cookies a little tough so I baked the rest for a shorter time and they were much better. Finally, I will cut down on the butter in the icing next time because it tasted too much like butter. Overall a great recipe though, thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_princess_suzy February 14, 2010

WAY better than the store bought soft sugar cookie. I strongly dislike crunchy sugar cookies, so this recipe was perfect! I switched out about half a cup of flour for french vanilla pudding. Your icing is also fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halfrican808 December 19, 2012

These were super soft and fluffy, the kids liked them once the frosting was on them, otherwise they had a strong "flour" taste. I think we may just prefer a regular sugar cookie than this type.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AimeeTouss November 16, 2012

I have made these several times and they were a big hit. Simple cookie that tastes so good. I cheated and used canned icing. The kids love them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phyllis `. June 13, 2012

So yummy I could have ate all of them. The dough was a bit sticky. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore January 20, 2012

If I could give a hundred stars I would to this yummy recipe. So popular were these cookies, that my 17 year old son has just called his brother a pig monkey for eating the last one. I cooked them exactly to the recipe, they turned out beatifully and I have to make some more tonight to keep everyone happy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fiery February 15, 2010

Delicious, I made them after dinner. They were easy to make. I used egg whites that I had frozen previously. It was just like white cake. I was surprised how nice the batter/dough held up. I was holding my breath the first time I open the oven. I pictured the batter going flat. They were enormous! I made the second tray of cookies smaller by 30%. DH loves chocolate, so I added 2 squares of melted bittersweet chocolate into the icing recipe. I definitely will be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parris Original November 14, 2009

OOOOPSIES!!! I did forget to mention in my previous review that I did not chill the dough. The first batch can out like muffin tops almost. Maybe because of the changes I made with the soy and stuff. No biggie thought I just smashed the rest of them down with a wet bottomed drinking glass. Next time, there will be plenty of next times, I will try chilling in a log and slicing. Thanks again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amypalooza June 13, 2009
Iced Sugar Cookies (Cake-Like Cookies, Soft Icing)