12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies are perfect with iced tea and hot weather! The combination of lemony sweet cookie and tart glaze is wonderful. I got a bit "zesty", so mine were a bit more tangy. We loved these, and thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Lee September 18, 2003

These are my new favorite cookie - light, lemony and delicious!! I made the recipe as written - no changes and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueDogLady August 14, 2012

I made these today but changed some stuff... Let me first say tho that the kids really liked them.

Okay, so I doubled the recipe and used 12 packets of Splenda and 3 T of honey instead of the granulated sugar. It was really thick so I used 3 eggs instead of 2 (in the double batter recipe). It was still thick enough that i literally used my hands and kneaded the batter Seeing that they didn't spread at all, the next tray I pressed them down a bit and basicly molded a cookie shape. They were perfect. Not too sweet, not too lemony, just really good. And again, the kids thought they were great with no sugar! :) I'll post a pic if I can.
thanks JDG for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PizzaSnob March 09, 2012

I realized I forgot to review these. Last year I was looking for one more cookie recipe to fill out my cookie trays, and I had everything on hand allready for these. I used dried zest which I accidentally didn't notice I was only suspose to use half for, but they tasted wonderful anyways. Only thing I didnt have was lemon juice, so I skipped the icing, this year, I will be doing half with and half without, because they were a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle November 16, 2010

These are super easy to make, moist and yummy. I increased the lemon zest in the dough and made the glaze a little thinner for a more lemony taste. Also cut the glaze amount in half which turned out to be the right amount. These cookies are great from grandma to toddler

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threadz August 05, 2009

I mixed these twice. The first time they melted into a giant soupy mess that ran off the tray and burnt on the bottom of the oven. The second time they melted and spread out to nearly 3 inches before they started to set. I'm not at any elevation so that's not the problem. It the amount of flour correct? What am I doing wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathleen Colbert December 20, 2008

Is it the poppy seed or the fact that I'm a lemon-lover that makes these so addictive? I baked a double batch this morning for a group of ladies this afternoon and everyone wants the recipe! They are yummy, light and pretty too. p.s. I had a lot of leftover glaze. Next time, I'll cut down on those ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick July 18, 2007

Delightfully perfect light little cookies. I got exactly 2 doz. and followed the recipe exactly. I did end up with a lot of extra glaze- I just brushed the glaze on with a silicone brush, let them sit and then brushed again. I had just finished baking a lemon blueberry cake that also needed glazing, so used the extra on that. These are excellent cookies, I just wish the recipe made more! I'll definitely be making another batch of these soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 June 11, 2007

Tasted good, but needed a little more flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria January 15, 2006

Slighly crunchy on the outside and perfectly chewy on the inside. I've been looking for a great lemon cookie recipe and so far this is the one for me. The glaze is amazing (I had to skimp a little on the cookies because I was eating it out of the bowl...) and the only disappointing part was that I could only have 3 cookies since I had to give the rest away in an exchange. This mixes up and bakes in no time, so it will be easy to double the recipe next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama December 08, 2005
Iced Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies