Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Iced Italian Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Iced Italian Cookies

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2002

      These cookies are excellent! DD and I made these together today, they were very simple to make, and delicious. We had about 3 dozen when we were done and now after taking them to my parents we have maybe 1 dozen left. They aren't too sweet which was good but just sweet enough too. Great with coffee also. These are now a keeper and let me tell you Heather my Nana (grandmother) who is 100% Italian loved them and said they tasted like the ones she use to make :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      I am the one that was looking for this recipe and this is truly the one I was looking for. The cookies are delicious! I am keeping this one! Thanks so much for this recipe HeatherFeather ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      EXCELLENT!! similar recipe has been in my family for years. my mom was alwyas the one to make them. this year, i made them according ot this recipe and everyone said that they were better than my mom's!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2002

      Hello, these cookies were sooo good. Made them on Thanksgiving and they were a hit. The only think I changed was instead of adding the milk to the powdered sugar for the glaze I added amaretto cream and I chose to add the one tablespoon of vanilla and I also sprinkled just a bit of cinammon before the glaze set. Te cookies were just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      these are GOOD! I dipped them into icing then into colored sugar They look very pretty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      These made delicious and beautiful cookies. My grandmother was Italian and I remember her making these when I was a child. They are very similar and I am so happy to be able to make them for my children. Delicate and scrumptious. I used vanilla extract in the icing but am going to try it next time with anise. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I have the EXACT same recipe for these cookies, but I call them "Italian Love Knots" - isn't that sweet? Here are a few things I do: After dipping the cookies in the glaze (I find it best to wait until they cool completely), sometimes I sprinkle them with tiny multi-colored sprinkles. Also, sometimes I add lemon zest into the glaze (when I use lemon juice for my liquid), which makes them extra lemony. If you're using anise extract in the glaze, you can also use anise extract to replace the vanilla in the cookie dough for that extra anise "boost." As with most cookie recipes, I find these always taste better after being stored in an airtight container on the counter, overnight. Anyway, this is a great recipe. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      A Christmas hit. Best part is that they are not too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Great recipe that is easy and has ingredients my budget stressed pantry could afford so that I could make Christmas cookies with my daughter. The cookies are delicious and taste exactly like the ones my Italian grandmother use to make. We made one batch with powdered sugar ( I wanted the Italian wedding cookies but I had no almonds or walnuts) and the powdered sugar stuck nicely to them. Another batch wecdippedvin the icing then rolled in organic sprinkles. The last batch we rolled in icing and left like that. All delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      This is a great recipe! Easy, fast and it makes over three dozen cookies...My family love Italian lemon cookies and I am sure that these will disappear this Thanksgiving Day...The only problem I had was that the temperature stated is too high for my oven which is a new modern computerized G.E. ...I brought it down to 350 degrees for 10 minutes instead of the 15 stated on recipe...I also added a little more fresh lemon juice than indicated...All in all this recipe is a winner and I will use for Christmas holidays...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      super yummy! the lemon juice added great flavor to the glaze. i wanted to shape them into knots, but had trouble getting the shape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Tasty. Little dry. The first batch went into the oven & all came out fine. The second batch got really big. Because it sat maybe? Anyway, I liked them better that way. I'll do these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Delicious Italian Cookies that are easy to make. I used fresh lemon juice in the icing and the flavor was fantastic! My baking time was less as my cookies were lightly browned within 10-12 minutes. I baked these for an afternoon tea and they were the first to be devoured!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Very good and easy to make with the kids. We made little balls instead of trying the various shapes. One caution--icing was too thick so we added more milk/lemon juice/vanilla to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      These were, far and away, my boyfriend's favorite Christmas cookies this year. We made two full batches (he made a second batch when he realized how delicious the first batch was), and they didn't even make it to the holiday party. He replaced half the vanilla in the batter with anise extract, and we liked the intense licorice flavor that resulted. We were a little concerned about the amount of baking powder in the recipe, but we had no reason to worry...they were perfect. We liked them with and without frosting (without frosting, they're great for dipping in coffee). Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Oh wow, these were so good! Easy to make and followed the recipe exactly. The anise icing really makes this cookie special. THX.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Thank you for saving my Christmas! I had been looking all over for an anise pretzel cookie recipe like the ones the old Italian grandmas in the neighborhood used to make when I was a kid. I came across this recipe and thought it would do well with anise substituted for the vanilla. They came out just like the ones I remembered from back in the day. They are simple to make, use ingredients I always have on hand and the recipe is so simple to follow that even a complete kitchen novice could make beautiful cookies. I like the taste and texture so much that I am currently baking up a batch subbing orange extract. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      These are just what I was looking for! My mother recently misplaced many of her recipes, including a cookie recipe she had from her mother/grandmother and another similar cookie recipe from my Dad's side of the family. I came across this when I was searching for one that sounded like our cookies. These are so tasty and perfect. Thanks for submitting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I am so glad to come across this recipe,I grew up on these cookies, but recently lost the recipe. now I can make them with my daughter.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This was a delicious ending to an Italian night dinner my high school son had to make. We followed the recipe exactly, except we never got around to the icing! My son was a little impatient in shaing the dough, and I was concerned that the shapes might be too thick. However, this seems like a very forgiving recipe, because all his shapes turned out terrific. The recipe was fragrant. Next time I may try anise in the cookie itself. Everyone in our family loved these. My son promised he'd be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Iced Italian Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5327.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1797
    33%
    Total Fat 199.6 g
    307%
    Saturated Fat 121.2 g
    606%
    Cholesterol 864.3 mg
    288%
    Sodium 3975.9 mg
    165%
    Total Carbohydrate 804.8 g
    268%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 411.7 g
    1647%
    Protein 67.1 g
    134%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites