9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love Hibiscus Tea and this recipe does not disappoint, quick and super easy to make. It was a very pretty dark purple color, very flavorful and smooth. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. It is wonderful served with ice, but best when chilled. I added Del Monte's Tropical Fruit Juice to some for my granddaughter and she loved it, as did I. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 08, 2013

Delicious! I think the amount of hibiscus could be reduced or just plan on resteeping to get the most out of them. I steeped them twice with no reduction in strength. The 3rd steeping was weak so I added some black tea leaves & made hibiscus iced tea. :) Made for Welcome to Egypt in the NA/ME Forum 5/12.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo May 31, 2012

I steeped 3 ounces of hibiscus in hot water with Lavender Sugar With Vanilla. Then added 1/2 to a pitcher filled with ice adding additional cold water. Sorry just getting to the review long overdue. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 09, 2008

i make this tea all the time,i make just like the recipe, with dried hibiscus flowers,but we call it sherbet not tea. besides being delicious, this tea has many health benefits, most importantly it lowers blood pressure and soothes the nerves,and it is natural, not like store-bought teas or sherbets that are loaded with god-knows-what chemicals and preservatives. i have a twist on this recipe i use all the time, i put in the jug few whole pods of cardamon with the tea, it gives it an exotic taste.try it and see for yourselves

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hoda April 18, 2008

I love hibiscus tea! When I lived in Mexico I used to buy the flowers in the market. Lovely taste! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 26, 2007

I really enjoyed this tea. I usually drink a rosehip/hibiscus blend hot without sugar. I find a really healing tea, because of the vitamin C in he rose hip and the hibiscus has the blood pressure regulating powers. I did enjoy this iced and I'll probably take it to the beach with me this summer because its really refreshing. Thank you. Made this for ZWT III .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlitt June 14, 2007

I Make this all the time I usually just put the leaves in my coffee pot (sometimes i toss in a lemon zinger or rasberry zinger tea bag) but my husband always complains it's not sweet enough. This was a good ratio! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen June 12, 2007

i have my own hibiscus plants, (yes i live in new england, but they are doing pretty good!) and i never knew you could make tea out of the flowers :) thanks alot!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedheadHen June 10, 2007

I didn't have to use dried hibiscus flowers as I just picked up some hibiscus tea from the supermarket (easily available). I did find it very flat-tasting - it need some citrus to perk it up, so I added lemon juice to taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 08, 2007
Iced Hibiscus Tea