1064 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't wait to try this.. Do I need to adjust the cook time due to higher altitudes?

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsinmcghee August 24, 2012

I made a few adjustments to this recipe...I used warm water, I did not use trays, and substituted refrigerating for freezing. It turned out just okay, I'll probably try another recipe next time. I'd like to try this using soup, maybe...

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elsie H April 28, 2010

DOes this one come with an online, video tutorial?

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dallas Chef W/Out Time April 15, 2010

does anyone know how many weight watchers points are in these?

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah.prstn March 01, 2013

I think I left them in the freezer for too long. They're really hard...is this normal??

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leighprefect August 23, 2012

A word of caution - if you're fresh out of the shower, and you pop out to check your ice cubes, dry off first. I reached in with wet hands and pulled out the metal ice cube tray, only to get that hand stuck. So I pulled it out, put it on the counter, and bent over to grab try to force it off with my forearm. Unfortunately I am rather well-endowed, and my hand came loose, but something else became ... attached. After telling my bartender friend about this he invented a new drink...I believe he called it the Slippery Nipple? One star for being a safety hazard to the wet domestic diva.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs-felion August 23, 2012

I teach a Culinary Arts class to teenagers...this recipe will be added to the basics needed to complete the class, a copy that they have signed will be sent home to parents. All my students, at one time or another, admit to being accused of not knowing how to make ice-cubes. Thank you so much.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb_leona_12738849 August 08, 2012

I've been trying for years to make ice cubes, but it never worked. I would use water. I would put the appropriate amount in the tray. I would even stir the water in the tray with a straw. Then I would pop it in the microwave for awhile and nothing! I tried the oven, the stove, the toaster, and even the gas grill...nothing worked! Finally someone came up with the brilliant idea of the freezer! Awesome results. Thanks Chrissy.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tortaman August 07, 2012

While I think making your ice cubes from scratch is a great thing and I honestly believe that home made ice cube just taste better I will occasionally for go the time involved to make your own. Because the ice cubes you get in the bag are often not as fresh but are very convenient when you are in a hurry.

If I am going camping or if I have guest that just show up unannounced sometimes I will open the dehydrated ice cubes in a bag that you just add water to pop the pouches in the freezer for about an hour per the instructions. Then just whacking the bad on the kitchen table magically turns the ice in the pouch into wonderfully decorative shapes for drinks.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diefledermaus May 26, 2011

Awesome! Make one on instructions of how to replace the water bottles in the fridge too ;) hehe

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieL87 July 12, 2010
Ice Cubes