1057 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am going to try it but I much prefer ice rounds to cubes. Does anyone know of a recipe for ice rounds that uses the same ingredients?

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shirleytownsend August 16, 2012

My son, who is attending the top culinary university in the country, said thank you so much for this recipe. He has added it to his collection of IMPORTAINT recipes to keep on hand. It might even get him extra credit.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendydd_9702469 August 09, 2012

FINALLY!!! An easy enough recipe for ice cubes that my b/f can do for himself w/o any help from me. Now if I could just find one that explains to him how to put the toilet paper on the holder, I will be in 7th heaven! ; )

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie June 14, 2010

I have been using this recipe for many years and have almost mastered it. In fact I made it just yesterday. It turned out great and I'm consuming it as I type this review. I have placed 4 individual ice cubes in a coffee mug and then filled the mug with Cabernet, which is my preferred way of serving it. (Don't laugh!) But this wonderful recipe could be serviced with almost any beverage intended to be served cold. (Not milk tho. Shudder.)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Marie F April 27, 2010

I have taken the liberty of forwarding on the recipe to Canada and Great Britain. Both countries seem to have lost the recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pzzldmom August 20, 2012

the trick is in how you arrange your hydrogen and oxygen atoms. that's the mark of a true chef.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fruitysudz August 10, 2012

This is a great basic Ice recipe! I tweaked it a little, substituting white wine for the water. I also added it to a butter-and-flour roux, and then when that thickened, I added shredded Gruyere cheese and some nutmeg and Kirsch. I also found that instead of putting it into a freezer, it works REALLY well when you put it in a fancy pot over a flame, and invite a bunch of people to poke sticks into bread cubes and swirl it around in the Ice and then eat these Ice Cubes.

This way goes really nicely with a cocktail. The kids loved it! I made one batch and then took a quadruple batch to the church covered dish luncheon the next day because I was in charge of paper cups and ice, and everyone raved. I was asked for the recipe by a dozen different guests, and now I'm not allowed to show up at anyone's house without this! In fact, a few times in just the past month, I was asked to bring this and not stay for the party at all, it's that good!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CasMarino August 01, 2012

I'm not rating this very high. My ice cubes watered down my water, since they weren't very solid. Could you be more specific about the freeze time?

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaJohnson April 27, 2011

I am so excited to find this recipe!!!! I am in the process of making a cookbook for each of my children with their favorite dishes inside. I hope you do not mind if I use the fabulous recipe in there for them! Of course, I will list you as the arthor ot this priceless keepsake! Keep them coming!!!!!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vmlavender December 19, 2010

Wow!! Outstanding and super simple!! I am so glad to find a recipe my teenager can do and not worry about her burning the house down! Thanks!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssinderella May 04, 2010
Ice Cubes