Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ice Cubes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ice Cubes

    Average Rating:

    1,052 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 1,052

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2011

      I too have encountered a few folks who seem to have forgotten this time-honored recipe.

      Thank you for bringing it back for the next generation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      I added two tablespoons of cayenne pepper to the water.
      Get ready for a mouthful of fire punks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      Are these gluten free?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      The instructions were very clear and I followed them exactly, however, I was unable to get cold water out of my tap no matter how hard I tried. It was very frustrating. I put the trays under the tap and nothing. I waited for so long and I felt so helpless that I began to cry. That was when it struck me.. I kept crying using the trays to catch my tears. It took a good 45 minutes of constant crying but I was able to fill the trays with some left over that I put in a ziplock bag for later.
      it took way longer to freeze but I suppose there must be some reason why. Anyway, these ice cubes are the bomb! They make great mixed drinks and all my friends really love them

      Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Wow, what a treat- I feel like I live in a fancy restaurant now!
      My first batch came out looking like cold cubes of YooHoo, so I made an audible and switched my Houston tap water with a bottled source- much better now.

      Is there a Kosher version to this recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This is a workmanlike, versatile recipe. Those who want to up their game will want to move on to Hand-made Frozen Water-Marinated Water. A bit of extra time and effort, and possible serious injury, but a crowd-and emergency-room pleaser and well worth it.

      Ingredients:
      For the water: 2 c water
      For the marinade: 1 c water.

      Directions:
      1. Fill medium-sized bowl with water
      2. Drizzle in marinade, one teaspoon at a time
      3. Cover with plastic wrap and leave at room temperature 24 hours
      4. Uncover water carefully, and with a silicon spatula, gently scrape the condensed marinated water on the underside of the plastic wrap into a small container and set aside
      5. Open freezer door
      6. In each hand, gently scoop one handful of water from bowl (do not discard remainder, though no one knows why)
      7. Gently put hands as far back in freezer as possible
      8. Use right shoulder, then chin, to close freezer door
      9. Remain motionless for 10-14 hours
      10. Remove hands from freezer

      If you are able to open hands, you will have two uniquely shaped frozen delicacies, and usually only mild frostbite. (If hands are too frozen to unbend fingers, place on countertop and rest at room temperature.)

      Slide each Frozen Water into an espresso cup and garnish with reserved condensed Water-Marinated Water.

      Beverage pairing: Steamed Ice Cube Tea

      For a more delicate version, see Hand-made Frozen Water-Scented Water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Thank God someone copycatted this world famous recipe. Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      I am going to print this recipe and tack it to the fridge. I dont think my husband know how to make ice cubes! Now if only there were a recipe here for "How to Change the Toilet Paper Roll" roflmho

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Glad to get this - just like I had them so many years ago, thanks for posting Chrissy : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      So funny. I love it! Chef #1408275s response had to be the best ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I used to only have ice cubes when I could fill trays and set them outside during our New England winters. Thanks for the freezer tip! Finally, some cold drinks for other seasons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      I love recipes like this that you can make ahead of time. I highly suggest doubling this one too. This would be a great summertime thing and will "WOW" your guests. I do not hand this recipe out willy-nilly. It is now what people request for me to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      If you plan on adding these to water after they've frozen, consider adding bits of cucumber, lime, orange, rosemary, lemon, or mint (or a mixture of a few of these together) and you'll have a refreshing addition to your already refreshing drink!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      I am a pretty fair cook. I tried this recipe and forgot to add water! 1 hour later I realized and opened freezer and added the liquid still took additional hour but a major kitchen nightmare was averted! They are best served marinated in scotch but best results are usually found with any alcohol infused beverage.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I prefer crushed ice. Does anyone have a recipe for that?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      I don't get it.....I went through step by step, and followed the recipe EXACTLY, but somehow my freezer started on fire......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      My kids are Hydrogen-intolerant, so I've been using Helium and Oxygen for the "water" part. It takes some getting used to, but when I add a brightly colored paper umbrella it helps to distract them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This receipe takes way to long to make. I need a much quicker way to make ice for my Cosmo - I can't wait around all night for a receipe with so many steps. And the freezing time is just over the top. I could be getting drunk right now but instead I am waiting for ice to freeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Believe it or not, ice cubes made with HOT water freeze faster than those made with cold water (something to do with the accelerating rate of cooling). They also freeze clearer, and harder.

      seriously - next time you make ice, fill one tray with cold water, and the other with hot water. Come back in two hours, and see which tray has frozen more, and which are clearer and harder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      Thanks for the recipe! I've been buying mine at the store because I just don't have the time to make my own, but hopefully (one day), I'll bite the bullet and hope they come out right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ice Cubes

    Serving Size: 1 (503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes