1118 Reviews

I tried to follow the recipe but I'm never sure about those American 'Cup' measurements. It took me a couple of goes but I think I've got it now. Top tip: try adding a couple to your Gin and Tonic. My breakfast times have been transformed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larrettp August 23, 2012

I followed this recipe to the letter, and let me tell you... WOW!!!! A must have for your next get-together and wonderful with just about any beverage. THANKS!!! And to think all these years I've been drinking warm, uninteresting refreshments without the added benefit of this revolutionary addition!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerhez August 23, 2012

May I substitute applesauce? I'm trying to watch my cholesterol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WonderScott August 23, 2012

very clear and detailed in how to execute. so happy to have found a recipe broken down into easy to follow instructions.
thanks ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgmontz August 23, 2012

I'm a little suspicious that this recipe will actually turn out as well as everybody is claiming.

Has Alton Brown analyzed the science behind this?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ekervina August 23, 2012

If you have finicky kids like mine, you'll thank your lucky stars for this recipe! Added benefit: whatever ice cubes you don't finish you can always freeze again for later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qsett August 23, 2012

This recipe is OK, but I like Alton Brown's version better. By deconstructing the water molecules first, you get a much better end-result without all of the usual residue. Bonus: you get to use your electrolysis machine in the kitchen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerManDan August 23, 2012

Through much trial and error, I learned to put the ice cube tray in the freezer so it is flat. Otherwise the water pours out all over everything. What a mess! Now, my big question is what do you DO with ice cubes? I tried grilling them, but they melted and fell right through. Do you have a recipe for barbecued ice cubes? I was hoping they would retain their shape.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
It's Me, Lori August 23, 2012

I thought this recipe was FABULOUS! I had heard that Nordstroms had a very highly guarded recipe for ice cubes that you could purchase... I am thrilled that I don't have to shell out $500 for their recipe when, in my humble opinion, these ice cubes are far better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tslimbert August 23, 2012

My aunt Karin had an interesting take on this recipe. She was very frugal, so after she had people over and served them beverages, she would put the half-melted ice cubes back into the ice tray, refill it with water and refreeze them. Counting the amount she saved on electricity and water, she saved at least 3? during her entire life. Some called her frugal. Others called her cheap. I just called her a crazy old bat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gehix August 23, 2012
Ice Cubes