1067 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought this deserved 5 stars. Unfortunately, my family disagreed and said they will defiantly NOT be using it again. They suggested maybe fewer steps.

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani May 05, 2010

Thank you for your recipe. We make something very similar in Guatemala. Our version is called hielo, and instead of water we use agua.

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elgordo111 August 22, 2012

Before my heart attack, I cooked and ate anything I wanted.

After my heart attack, All I was sure of was that I am allowed to drink all the water I want.

I decided it was time to take charge of my diet and did an internet search for "low salt, Low cholesterol recipes" The first recipe on my search was this one. 0_0
I was really relieved to see that it looks very easy to make and will compliment my water nicely.
Thanks for the recipe.

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keepalowprofile February 28, 2012

I will be going out of town for about a week. Do you think it will be OK to leave these in the freezer while I am gone? I love these and don't want to do anything to mess them up while I am gone!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TansGram August 15, 2011

WOW! I took these to my church's monthy Sunday Potluck Dinner and everyone went crazy over them! I will definitely use this recipe again!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelseaNmatt March 14, 2012

Bless you for posting this, CHRISSYG! It totally reminds me of the ones Grandma used to make. I especially like the shape of these, tho I assume you could change it up, if so inclined. I made mine as directed, and was rewarded with these lovely cubes of frozen wonderment! And WOW, what they do for a drink! :-) I even snapped a photo. Thanks so much for posting, CHRISSYG; you brought me a little nostalgia today! Made for Best of 2010 'tag game.'

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl February 01, 2011

Thank you so much. I had forgotten some of the details when I lost my recipe card years ago. Now we can have fresh ice cubes. I wanted to let you know a few things though. After trying the recipe a few times I decided to use a large tray instead. The purpose was to cut out some nice shapes, using cookie cutters, for my daughter's birthday party. Maybe you could help. I poured in the water just as you instructed then cut the shapes and put the tray in the freezer. When I pulled out the tray there was only 1 giant cube. What did I do wrong?

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrtmudd August 08, 2012

The recipe was complicated but well written so i was able to duplicate the process after a couple of failed attempts. Now that I feel more proficient about my ice making skills, I'm really starting to feel like a chef. Thank you for making "cooking" easy to understand, for us all. I plan to try making toast soon, with a toaster, just like Mamma used to make.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crisathome August 15, 2012

I printed this recipe and put it on my fridge. Definte keeper!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Raelene June 14, 2010

Way to much water taste for my family! Terrible recipe, avoid at all costs

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tferrara May 23, 2010
Ice Cubes