Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ice Cubes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ice Cubes

    Average Rating:

    1,045 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 1,045

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      I think this recipe would also be good if you used Dihydrogen Monoxide in place of the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This tastes exactly like the ice cubes my grandmother makes! She has a secret recipe that she refuses to share with anyone, but these taste exactly the same! Thanks SO much, now everyone in the family is going to want to know my secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      From another equally helpful website:

      NUTRITIONAL SUMMARY:
      Calories: 0 Fat: 0g Carbs: 0g Protein: 0g

      There are 0 calories in 3 ice cubes of Water.
      Calorie breakdown: 0% fat, 0% carbs, 100% protein.

      Other common serving sizes:
      Serving Size: 1 oz - 0 Calories
      Serving Size: 1 fl oz - 0 Calories
      Serving Size: 3 ice cubes (3/4 fl oz) - 0 Calories
      Serving Size: 100 g - 0 Calories
      Serving Size: 100 ml - 0 Calories
      Serving Size: 1 cup (8 fl oz) - 0 Calories

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      An hilarious recipe. (On a serious note, it you want more transparent ice, start with hot water--less gas is held in hot water compared with cold water). The only better recipe would start like this: Step 1: find a glacier...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Woohoo...homemade ice cubes! I've only had store bought, never again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Sheer Genius! Thank you so much for sharing this culinary delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      This is amazing. Am going to try it with Beer cubes, Rum cubes, you name it. Am clearing the freezer of all food tonight to make room. Parties from now on are going to be a blast at my place

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Where to begin with the fallacies of this recipe? Let's start with the missing items from the ingredients list. It only mentions water on the list, then in the first step of the directions, something called trays is mentioned. I racked my brain for a few minutes on what these trays could be. I went to the source of all modern day knowledge for some assistance, Wikipedia. A quick search for trays told me a tray is a shallow platform designed for carrying things. The examples of trays listed there include a butler's tray, a cafeteria tray, surgical trays, seed trays and a darkroom tray. I went out and purchased these items expecting to use them for this recipe, boy was that a waste of money. None of them aided me in my quest for ice cubes and a cold beverage. Thinking I hit a dead end, I realized this recipe was on food.com so where else should I go but the food network on TV. I sat on the couch drinking hot beverages for a week straight hoping to find out something that mentioned these "trays". Nothing. I didn't know what to do. I cried, paced back and forth, banged my head against the wall, called my mom, and then it hit me. I don't know why my kids were throwing that ball in the house but it hurt. After a few more hours, I decided to start from scratch. I went to my favorite search engine, livorobot.com and searched for "ice trays" and voila, I now know what trays are being referred to. Turns out I could just pick these bad boys up at the local grocery market.
      Now that I have the trays, I found I can basically skip over step 1 for the first attempt since I've never used them before. Direction step #2 was self-explanatory to say the least so good job on that. Step #3 got a little tricky because there was no descriptive way to perform this task. When I finished step #2, I was physically located at the kitchen sink and step #3 tells me to place the trays in the freezer. They must have had a completely different kitchen layout as I cannot reach the freezer from the sink. My first couple attempts at performing step #3 left me drenched with a wet floor to clean up and trays flying everywhere. Long story short, please add "gently take the water filled ice trays from the kitchen sink over to the freezer and place them in there", emphasis on gently.
      Directions step #4 is also self-explanatory if you actually own a bin to keep ice in. Step #5 I found to be a very key point but again is missing pertinent information. Once I shut the freezer door, how can I see the water, ice trays or ice cubes? This also brought me to a point where I was unsure what the next step would be. I see at the top under total time that there is a 2 hour cook time involved but I did not see any step in the directions that would even hint at using any cooking appliance. I got to the point where I was tired of drinking hot beverages so a few days later, I decided to throw all caution to the wind and stray from the directions by opening the freezer door. I found the water that was poured into the trays had turned into ice without any actual cooking at all. I began using the ice immediately and haven't looked back.
      Once I was finally able to enjoy a cold beverage with ice cubes in the glass, I decided to get on here to write this review and warn others of the potential mistakes of following the directions as marked and stumbled upon a gallery of 6 photos of ice cubes. I realized if I had only gone here first, I would have been able to view a photo of an actual ice cube tray that was eluding me for the first couple weeks of my toil. I also realized how convenient it would be to ship ice cubes to all my friends in a small white envelope as shown in photo #3. One of my friends is currently attempting a weight loss routine and was over the house the other day before I was able to figure out how to make these ice cubes. We were discussing meal plans for the day and she suggested having an ice cube for dinner or maybe just sharing the run off but sadly I still did not crack the code for these babies yet. It's great to know I can easily ship them through the local mail to my family and friends.
      The other good thing and one of the main reasons I came across this recipe in the first place is the fact that we're talking about lactose and gluten free ice cubes. Most of my family is allergic to both so this will come in very handy in the future. There are also many other great health benefits of these such as being very low in carbs, sodium, cholesterol, saturated fat and calories as mentioned in the categories this recipe is listed under. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful it was to know all of this and then taste the refreshingly cool benefits of the first batch of cubes in a glass of ice cold water. I hope you can master this recipe with the tips I have provided and can enjoy the same euphoria as I have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Although my "cold water drops" (I think this would make a much better name for this recipe) came out great I was a little bit disappointed. Since I found this when I was searching for Ice Cube's Recipe I was really expecting something that Ice Cube himself makes. Many people know him for his rapping and acting, but he's also quite the gourmand. (I have heard that his brownies contain a special ingredient that makes you beg for more brownies.) Anyways, I will still use your cold water drops from time to time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I made a batch of these to give out to family for holiday gifts. Warning they were stolen!!! Each family member said that when they opened the box there was nothing but wet cardboard. I will be speaking to the post office about this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      I am going to try it but I much prefer ice rounds to cubes. Does anyone know of a recipe for ice rounds that uses the same ingredients?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      My son, who is attending the top culinary university in the country, said thank you so much for this recipe. He has added it to his collection of IMPORTAINT recipes to keep on hand. It might even get him extra credit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      FINALLY!!! An easy enough recipe for ice cubes that my b/f can do for himself w/o any help from me. Now if I could just find one that explains to him how to put the toilet paper on the holder, I will be in 7th heaven! ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I have been using this recipe for many years and have almost mastered it. In fact I made it just yesterday. It turned out great and I'm consuming it as I type this review. I have placed 4 individual ice cubes in a coffee mug and then filled the mug with Cabernet, which is my preferred way of serving it. (Don't laugh!) But this wonderful recipe could be serviced with almost any beverage intended to be served cold. (Not milk tho. Shudder.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      I have taken the liberty of forwarding on the recipe to Canada and Great Britain. Both countries seem to have lost the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      the trick is in how you arrange your hydrogen and oxygen atoms. that's the mark of a true chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      This is a great basic Ice recipe! I tweaked it a little, substituting white wine for the water. I also added it to a butter-and-flour roux, and then when that thickened, I added shredded Gruyere cheese and some nutmeg and Kirsch. I also found that instead of putting it into a freezer, it works REALLY well when you put it in a fancy pot over a flame, and invite a bunch of people to poke sticks into bread cubes and swirl it around in the Ice and then eat these Ice Cubes.

      This way goes really nicely with a cocktail. The kids loved it! I made one batch and then took a quadruple batch to the church covered dish luncheon the next day because I was in charge of paper cups and ice, and everyone raved. I was asked for the recipe by a dozen different guests, and now I'm not allowed to show up at anyone's house without this! In fact, a few times in just the past month, I was asked to bring this and not stay for the party at all, it's that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I'm not rating this very high. My ice cubes watered down my water, since they weren't very solid. Could you be more specific about the freeze time?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I am so excited to find this recipe!!!! I am in the process of making a cookbook for each of my children with their favorite dishes inside. I hope you do not mind if I use the fabulous recipe in there for them! Of course, I will list you as the arthor ot this priceless keepsake! Keep them coming!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Wow!! Outstanding and super simple!! I am so glad to find a recipe my teenager can do and not worry about her burning the house down! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ice Cubes

    Serving Size: 1 (503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes