1064 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am a pretty fair cook. I tried this recipe and forgot to add water! 1 hour later I realized and opened freezer and added the liquid still took additional hour but a major kitchen nightmare was averted! They are best served marinated in scotch but best results are usually found with any alcohol infused beverage.....

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gdeel67 January 20, 2013

The instructions were very clear and I followed them exactly, however, I was unable to get cold water out of my tap no matter how hard I tried. It was very frustrating. I put the trays under the tap and nothing. I waited for so long and I felt so helpless that I began to cry. That was when it struck me.. I kept crying using the trays to catch my tears. It took a good 45 minutes of constant crying but I was able to fill the trays with some left over that I put in a ziplock bag for later.
it took way longer to freeze but I suppose there must be some reason why. Anyway, these ice cubes are the bomb! They make great mixed drinks and all my friends really love them

Thanks so much for the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
argonaught January 03, 2013

I prefer crushed ice. Does anyone have a recipe for that?

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stretchotto August 24, 2012

My kids are Hydrogen-intolerant, so I've been using Helium and Oxygen for the "water" part. It takes some getting used to, but when I add a brightly colored paper umbrella it helps to distract them.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cween August 18, 2012

Believe it or not, ice cubes made with HOT water freeze faster than those made with cold water (something to do with the accelerating rate of cooling). They also freeze clearer, and harder.

seriously - next time you make ice, fill one tray with cold water, and the other with hot water. Come back in two hours, and see which tray has frozen more, and which are clearer and harder.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StevieP65 August 15, 2012

Thanks for the recipe! I've been buying mine at the store because I just don't have the time to make my own, but hopefully (one day), I'll bite the bullet and hope they come out right!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElfiePoo August 01, 2012

Thank God someone copycatted this world famous recipe. Amazing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandaleigh0413 March 23, 2012

This is one great recipe that has zero carbs and zero calories!! And it really cools the drinks!! I probably use this recipe more than any other recipe I have. Regardless of how often I make this recipe, there never seems to be enough of it! On several occasions, I even printed out this recipe and posted it on my freezer. It must be a really popular recipe, for each time I come home from work, I find the recipe gone! Thanks so much for this healthy recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Low Carb Fan October 06, 2011

Please, please send this recipe to Europe. When I was in Solvakia and the Czech Republic in the heatwave of 2006 they had no idea how to make it. Warm fruit juice. Gag.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reynon March 08, 2011

Glad to get this - just like I had them so many years ago, thanks for posting Chrissy : )

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah December 08, 2010
Ice Cubes