Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ice Cubes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ice Cubes

    Average Rating:

    965 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 965

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2010

      This recipe is horrible! Maybe I should have left them in longer than two minutes (the recipe doesn't say how long to leave them in the freezer so I just kind of guessed) but mine came out all watery. I won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      I harvest my own free-range water, so the idea of putting it in a plastic tray and a commercially made electricity-wasting freezer disgusts me. I prefer nature's method, waiting until the temperature outside drops below freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      I wanted to make your recipe but our well ran dry, so I didn't have any water to make ice. Since I was having a party, I really had to come up with a clear liquid substitute so I would have ice on hand. A word of warning: when you make vodka cubes your BIL will hit a tree with his new car and your sister will never speak to you again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      I was wondering if you had a crock-pot version for this recipe. I work long hours and I just don't have the time to invest in this kind of hands-on cooking, but they really look yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I made a few adjustments...... used a pot instead of trays. boiled instead of freezing. Added salt, potatoes, carrots and beef to the water. It turned out more like soup instead of ice cubes. Next time I will make a few more adjustments to try and get this recipe to work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Oh man, so happy to have this recipe! My grandma died and took the recipe with her. You are a life saver!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I'm relieved to notice in the nutritional facts that these delicious cubes are not sodium free. A touch of salt is so important to bring out just the right icy flavor. We make this fabulous recipe so often, we had to buy 30 or 40 bottles of bourbon and scotch to go with it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      I guess they turned out OK. I assumed, like muffins, you had to grease the pan first. They did come out nice and easy, but they made our drinks awfully greasy. Next time I will grease AND flour the pan. Anyone else have this same problem?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      My wife and I have been dining at the Palms for ages and from the beginning we have been a huge fan of their ice cubes - so smooth and cold - just perfect. We've become close friends with the manager, but no matter how many Gin Fizzes I feed him, he refuses to share their recipe. I've gone to great lengths to try to duplicate this at home, but have always failed miserably. We even tried to sneak some home one night in my wife's purse, but when we arrived home, they had some how gone missing and my wife's bag was a soggy mess. With much trepidation and little confidence, I gave your recipe a go. I was anxious and kept checking on them every five minutes for what must have approached 15 hours with nary a positive result. Additionally, for some unclear reason, my ice cream and leftover chicken stock both melted and had to be discarded. I had given up hope and passed out dejected and exhausted on the couch. I had forgotten to discard the unsuccessful recipe before my brief respite and when I awoke and went to pitch my disastrous attempt, I was astonished to find perfectly smooth, cold, ice cubes at my disposal. My wife and I quickly broke some out and tried them with some tepid tap water - perfection - just like the Palms! My only complaint is this recipe takes much longer than the implicated two hours. I recommend anyone using this recipe to make it at least 24 hours prior to serving. Other than that, it's perfect. I can't wait to see the look on the Palms' manager's face the next time he comes over and finds out I've finally duplicated their recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This was so simple to make and absolutely delicious. I used fresh, organic water since we're both trying to lose weight. Since it didn't specify how many servings the recipe would make, I doubled the recipe and actually had enough for left-overs. I'm definitely adding it to my list of favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Thank you for adding the photos! They really helped me get a visual on when my Ice was done! And they turned out just like the pictures! My family was really thrilled!
      Thank you...oh Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This recipe might be a little too difficult for me! I once tried to make a similar recipe, but it didn't turn out too well! That recipe was called "Iced Water". The ingredients were, 1 drinking glass, but it didn't state what size...ice cubes, which I didn't know how to make...and tap water, which I don't have access to because I'm not a tap dancer! So I don't think I'll be attempting to make anymore of these types of gourmet recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Make sure your freezer is plugged in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      An absolutely true story: I had a friend several years back who told me the story of how he And his friend got arrested for stealing ice from the grocery store. When they went before the judge, he asked them, "What, did you forget the recipe?" If I ever catch back up with him I'll be sure to forward this recipe on to him! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, and for doing your part to prevent crimes like these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      It looked a bit thin so I added some kidney beans (half of a 15 oz. can) and some chicken stock. Try it, you'll like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      THANK YOU!! my ice maker on my fridge just stopped working, and i missed my ice. I had no idea i could "make" my own.
      Thank you so much such an amazing recipe!
      :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I too have been stumped on how to make my own ice. I would wait until Lake Michigan froze over then go with my ice cutter and bring back enough to last a week or so, but the darn cubes were so big they didn't fit in the glass. Now, thanks to you I am able to do this much more efficiently. You're a life saver, Chrissy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I wish I had found this recipe over the summer. My iced tea and lemonade were so warm. I just knew something was missing. TIP...you have to carry the tray to the freezer VERY SLOWLY so you don't spill any water. Thank you SO much for posting! My family loved it, so this one's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      To be quite honest, the coldness kind of takes away from the flavor.

      My Indonesian in-laws advised me to sprinkle a little cumin and a dash of curry power, and it worked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      KILLER RECIPE! Now I know what I that other compartment that gets super cold is for. It sure didn't keep my lettuce happy. I also vaguely remember Ice Cubes from my childhood. G'ma made them for special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 49

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ice Cubes

    Serving Size: 1 (503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites