1072 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is horrible! Maybe I should have left them in longer than two minutes (the recipe doesn't say how long to leave them in the freezer so I just kind of guessed) but mine came out all watery. I won't be making these again.

445 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donkeymilkshake July 07, 2010

I harvest my own free-range water, so the idea of putting it in a plastic tray and a commercially made electricity-wasting freezer disgusts me. I prefer nature's method, waiting until the temperature outside drops below freezing.

342 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donquix66 May 27, 2011

I wanted to make your recipe but our well ran dry, so I didn't have any water to make ice. Since I was having a party, I really had to come up with a clear liquid substitute so I would have ice on hand. A word of warning: when you make vodka cubes your BIL will hit a tree with his new car and your sister will never speak to you again.

340 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug May 17, 2011

I was wondering if you had a crock-pot version for this recipe. I work long hours and I just don't have the time to invest in this kind of hands-on cooking, but they really look yummy.

234 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyluya August 03, 2011

I made a few adjustments...... used a pot instead of trays. boiled instead of freezing. Added salt, potatoes, carrots and beef to the water. It turned out more like soup instead of ice cubes. Next time I will make a few more adjustments to try and get this recipe to work for me.

221 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carambola June 16, 2010

Oh man, so happy to have this recipe! My grandma died and took the recipe with her. You are a life saver!!

200 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia October 17, 2010

I'm relieved to notice in the nutritional facts that these delicious cubes are not sodium free. A touch of salt is so important to bring out just the right icy flavor. We make this fabulous recipe so often, we had to buy 30 or 40 bottles of bourbon and scotch to go with it...

182 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMSoprano December 20, 2011

I guess they turned out OK. I assumed, like muffins, you had to grease the pan first. They did come out nice and easy, but they made our drinks awfully greasy. Next time I will grease AND flour the pan. Anyone else have this same problem?

171 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia August 09, 2012

My wife and I have been dining at the Palms for ages and from the beginning we have been a huge fan of their ice cubes - so smooth and cold - just perfect. We've become close friends with the manager, but no matter how many Gin Fizzes I feed him, he refuses to share their recipe. I've gone to great lengths to try to duplicate this at home, but have always failed miserably. We even tried to sneak some home one night in my wife's purse, but when we arrived home, they had some how gone missing and my wife's bag was a soggy mess. With much trepidation and little confidence, I gave your recipe a go. I was anxious and kept checking on them every five minutes for what must have approached 15 hours with nary a positive result. Additionally, for some unclear reason, my ice cream and leftover chicken stock both melted and had to be discarded. I had given up hope and passed out dejected and exhausted on the couch. I had forgotten to discard the unsuccessful recipe before my brief respite and when I awoke and went to pitch my disastrous attempt, I was astonished to find perfectly smooth, cold, ice cubes at my disposal. My wife and I quickly broke some out and tried them with some tepid tap water - perfection - just like the Palms! My only complaint is this recipe takes much longer than the implicated two hours. I recommend anyone using this recipe to make it at least 24 hours prior to serving. Other than that, it's perfect. I can't wait to see the look on the Palms' manager's face the next time he comes over and finds out I've finally duplicated their recipe!

142 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baconandfries August 08, 2012

This was so simple to make and absolutely delicious. I used fresh, organic water since we're both trying to lose weight. Since it didn't specify how many servings the recipe would make, I doubled the recipe and actually had enough for left-overs. I'm definitely adding it to my list of favorites.

139 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee1943_11730202 May 21, 2010
Ice Cubes