35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did notice one thing that might be helpful to others--if you let the Jello set up too much between layers, they will separate when served. They "stick" together better if just set when you add the next layer. I waited for several minutes for the Jello to cool off (but still warm) before adding the ice cream. I put it in the refrigerator between layers without any other waiting in between. Very beautiful and surprisingly, not too sweet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W November 14, 2006

I made this for my husband (who adores Jell-o more than anything in this world) and he LOVED it. I don't care for Jell-o or ice cream that much, and I still enjoyed this dessert. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gabe's mama August 21, 2009

I made this again.. it's been 2 years now, but I was just as good as before, and I actually got to have some! LOL! And I loved it! It's just the most refreshing dessert on a hot summer day, and it's so pretty! Most important advise I can give is do not rush it.. Set aside 2 hours of time to make this.. which will cover the the 1/2 time for each layer of flavor! Thanks again 2years later!! My first review is below from June 1, 2006. Dear faith58, Thank you for sharing your ice cream jello treat. Apparently it was a big big BIG hit! I wouldn't know because I did not get to try it.. I took it to my niece's graduation party, and every other person asked me how I made it. Mostly everyone said it tasted like sherbert, and that it was very refreshing on this 89 degree day! One suggestion, I would give.. by the time you pour the 3rd flavor on top of the 2nd flavor, I would suggest you realllly let the 2nd flavor layered, and the layers after that, "set" at least 30 minutes. 15 minutes may be to early (especially if your frig is not that cold). Causing the flavors to mix, instead of layer. I plan on making this again this weekend.. So I can have a chance to taste! Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick September 18, 2008

I don't like jello or vanilla ice cream but I had to make this. It was so light and flavorful.My kids loved it. It was even better the 2nd day. I can't wait to try the all berry one. Thanks for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jt*s_mom December 30, 2006

This JELLO was made for a kid's b-day party. Was really GREAT and enjoyed by both Kids and Grownups. Make sure each layer cools completely by refrigerating, as my first attempt in making this was poured down the drain. I didn't allolw enough time for the layer to cool/set and the second layer of jello poured right through and it was one HUGE mess. So,my next attempt, I allowed to cool about 1 hr in between layers in fridge, and worked out GREAT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iLuv2cook 2 November 26, 2006

This looks so pretty! Unfortunately, I made with "no name" jello & it didn't set. I have to attempt to do this again with "real" jello.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb February 19, 2012

My family has been making this for years, it is a favorite. Just a suggestion, we put a very thing layer of sour cream between each layer to seperate them. The layers will fall apart, and the kids love to eat it one layer at a time. It's a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slkelly411 December 21, 2010

this was the most delicious and easy recipe to make. the only part was it was a bit time consuming but it was very much worth the wait.. I made it for a party and everyone told me it was like creamy sherbet but not cold.. it was the best. . My hubby ate the majority of it because he loves jello and sherbet so this is a def keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssej1078_1251510 December 06, 2010

This was fun to make with my daughter. She adores anything icecream. Very pretty presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmomof2 May 03, 2009
Ice Cream Jello