47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so fun and easy to make! I put the cones in a muffin pan and filled them about 1/2 way with the cake mix and they came out with nice round tops. Just used store bought frosting and added sprinkles on top=) As someone stated before the cones do get soggy so eat up!!=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chachie July 09, 2008

I took this to a recital (everyone was asked to bring treats) & they were gone before anything else! I baked as long as I could without burning them, & there was no problem with sogginess when they were eaten 4 hours later. I also baked in a cupcake pan to avoid the domino effect should one tip over while I placed in oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treva W June 08, 2008

These are great a perfect hit with the kids and grown ups. If you are anything like me and became a little confused after reading the reviews about how much cake mix to fill the cone with I first made only 6 using various amounts in the cones, and then I used the rest of the mixture for mini cupcakes. I found I needed a little more than the 1/4 cup stated in the recipe. Once I worked out how much then I made a full batch. I found it easier to do a small trial first rather than wasting a whole heap of cones and mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelmate May 18, 2008

Great idea! I made these for a pre-teen group at my church and everyone (even the adults) loved them. I wish I'd read the reviews before making though, as using scant 1/4 cup batter was still too much and they ended up overflowing all over the pan making the appearance less than 5*. I think next time I make these I will pour the cake batter into a large ziploc bag with a hole cut in the corner. Hopefully that will give me more control over how full the cones get!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef summerlover February 11, 2008

these were my FAVORITE when i was a kid!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Court13 February 10, 2008

These are awesome! I made them for my engagement party. I also had to fill them more than half way in order for the "scoop" shape to form on top. Also, I wouldn't recommend making these the day before the event because the cones ended up a little soggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super San Mateo Chefs February 04, 2008

My mother made something like this for a birthday when I was a small child and they really stuck in my mind. These tasted good and were good fun. I also had to fill my cones more than half the way up to get the cake to come up and out of the cone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne December 31, 2007

These were so fun! Just don't make them the night before because the cones will turn soggy. I found that I needed to fill the cones more than halfway to get a little more rise out of them. These made a hit for my son's birthday party. I had them decorate their own with candies and sprinkles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer November 25, 2007

I made these before for my daughter's birthday party. Of course, they were a HIT! We are making them 3 times this week in celebration of her birthday - for a FUN treat for our 4-H meeting, for a snack at Christian Education, and for our adult bible study group! This is fun for kids and adults alike! Easy, and no mess! No need for "ice cream"! Mrs. Even

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Even November 06, 2007
Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes