20 Reviews

Wow, Sharon will you marry me. These cookies are amazing. They were quick and easy to make and tasted fantastic. Good luck keeping them around. Made exactly as written but used chunks of extra dark chocolate instead of chocolate chips, as I didn't have any. The chocolate chunks worked perfectly in these lovely large, sweet cookie. My dh is over the moon....say's this is a 10* recipe. Thanks so much for making me look good and for sharing this treat.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 12, 2012

These are great! We had a cookie baking contest and I submitted these and won first place! The only changes I made were to add chopped walnuts and pecans (one half cup total), use white, dark and semi-sweet chips and finish with a scant sprinkle of sea salt on top (the salt was an amazing contrast to the sweetness). Finally, through experimentation, I figured out that the longer you chill the cookie balls, the better the final product will be.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kris G. April 25, 2015

These cookies are amazing. I made as written. In my opinion, when making these cookies, it is a must to use Chuncky chocolate chips. I also think it is a must to add chopped walnuts. Great recipe!!! I'm sure you can add all kinds of your favorite goodies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattykudla_9121436 November 05, 2014

I made these and agree, simple, no mixer needed, but needs some elbow grease! I recommend a large pot (rice krispie sized), things get tricky to blend in your average saucepan. The key is to just chill the rolled dough and let the cookies finish, aka

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flynn78 February 15, 2014

I made these one night and they instantly became our very favorite cookie. Everyone loves them with or without nuts. They are so good especially warm and right out of the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
583319 April 16, 2015

Simply delicious. When I realized I was out of white chocolate chips, I substituted bittersweet chocolate chunks with the semi-sweet chips. Per another reviewers suggestion I added a cup of chopped macadamia nuts. Next time I will make it as written with the white chocolate chips. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy March 21, 2015

These are some of the best cookies I have ever made and I've made a lot of cookies. If I owned a bakery I would bake these and sell them. I left out the cinnamon but otherwise included all ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2cook February 26, 2015

I made this with a gluten free flour mix and it came out awesome! The only suggestion...let the cookies completely cool on the cookie sheet. Gluten Free cookies tend to fall apart but the ones I left to completely cool down were perfect! Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greenbinlady February 19, 2015

Very good recipe. I used chocolate toffee candy pieces, instead of white chocolate and added black walnuts. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudette R. January 12, 2015

We loved these cookies. I only had light brown sugar, so I used that, and increased the baking soda to a full teaspoon. My only problem was that after 10 minutes in the freezer, the butter/sugar mixture still was not cool, and after adding the flour and oats, the dough was still very sticky and there was no way I would have been able to roll it into balls. Added to this, even with all other ingredients added, the dough was still warm enough that it melted the chips a bit when I added them in. We ended up putting all of the dough in saran wrap, wrapping it up, and putting it in the freezer for about 30 minutes. By then it was cool enough for me to handle and I was able to roll it into balls. This recipe ended up making about 30 cookies, rather than the 24 that the recipe specified. Love them, though, and will definitely make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydia's Mama January 06, 2015
I Want to Marry You Cookies