Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Swear I Made Them Myself Homemade Everything Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Swear I Made Them Myself Homemade Everything Bagels

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2011

      The dough recipe is standard, and it's good in texture. Though I would recommend boiling them for one minute per side. I am not quite sure why this recipe has received such high ratings, but I imagine it is because most of these are first-time bagel bakers. I have made bagels in the past using different recipes, and I have to say this is my least favorite. It's not bad. Again, as a recipe for bagel dough, it's perfect. But the topping situation doesn't work. The egg wash turns a dark brown and doesn't look (or taste) very appetizing. Not to mention, I found that because the bagels were hot from the oven, the egg wash dried almost immediately and none of the toppings would stick. Then when I toasted the bagels, the egg wash chipped off with all the toppings. I'd recommend another method for toppings, which is to have a bowl with all the toppings in it, and when you take the bagel from the boiling water, immediately drop them in the bowl, then take them out. It works much better. I also prefer to set the wet bagels on a drying rack before putting them on the cookie sheet, but it's probably not necessary. Overall, this recipe is good, but with modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Great recipe! I love it, I didn't do the egg wash I just dropped them on a plate with my topping right out of the boiling water and then flipped them over and dropped them onto the cookie sheet with the cornmeal. They taste great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Extraordinary! These were the best bagels i'd ever had. I added garlic to the dough and followed the other instructions. The topping did flake off and get a bit toastier then i liked. I'm making them again right now with chocolate chips and coconut flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Made the bagels this morning and nixed the egg wash like many of the other reviewers. I also included minced garlic and did not toast the onion prior to baking. The bagels came out great with lots of good flavor. Will definitely be doing again and will experiment with different flavors! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Easy to make! Delicious! I did not like the yolk wash, it flaked away and the flavor was a bit distracting. Instead, I brushed on melted butter and sugar and cinnamon. I also added a T of cinnamon to the dough and 1/2 cup raisins. I used olive oil and flax instead of corn meal (allergies).
      They are soft and awesome! I cooked them for 15 min after brushing on the toppings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      These are absolutely delicious! My husband absolutely is so excited to make more! No more store bought bagels for us! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      These are wonderful, I did adjust the temp to 375 after 15 minutes, and they turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      These are good, but I just couldn't quite give 5 stars. They are crunchy on the outside and soft/chewy inside. I would be sure to check after 15 minutes in the oven next time, as my got a little too cooked after 20 minutes. I also added 1/4 c. of frozen concentrated juice to add some flavor. Got 6 'normal' size bagels, although I probably used 3 1/2 c. flour. May make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Really yummy. My first ever bagels and they wer soft and delicious! Though, they did flatten out for some reason in the oven, but that's not really a problem. I made mini-bagels and cooked them for 15mins in a gas mark 6 oven and they did get a bit burnt, so beware if you are making mini's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I enjoyed making the bagels and it was a new recipe for me. I thought they turned out well. They were chewy inside and crisp on the outside. I used poppy seeds to top them. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I used all whole wheat flour. Everyone ate them up. I didn't use the egg wash or any toppings this time, but I will try some with my next batch. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Love these! I made 2 batches and topped one whole batch with cinnamon and sugar (skipped the egg wash, when they came out of the oven, I sprayed them with a little cooking spray and rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. The other batch I split - 3 plain and 3 with cheese, garlic, basil and oregano. Yummy yummy and easy. Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      To be completely truthful, my husband made these. He announced this morning that he wanted to make bagels and so I lovingly informed him that I had a recipe chosen for PAC that he could make! He used whole wheat pastry flour and doubled the recipe but otherwise made as stated. To a half of the dough he added mini chocolate chips. These were really good, though a tad flat. Not sure if it was our yeast, though the dough rose just fine. A good chewy texture and I'm sure we'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I made a batch of these today, and they are fantastic! I made mini bagels (got 16 out of a single recipe) since large bagels get wasted at my house with the little ones. I replaced 1 cup of flour with wheat flour and did not add any toppings, but otherwise followed the directions as written. Next time my DD asked that I try to make her some blueberry or strawberry bagels. I can't wait to try it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Swear I Made Them Myself Homemade Everything Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.1
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    13%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 27.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 392.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites