Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2008

      WOW! I've made this a couple times now and was really skeptical at first, but it is even more delicious than regular lasagna! So much more flavor! I half the recipe and use a smaller casserole dish. I use turkey spicy Italian sausage (I buy the links and cut the casing off before cooking). I use a bag of fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. NO red pepper flakes, wine, or vodka here and I use fat free wherever I can. GREAT WAY TO GET THE FAMILY TO EAT MORE VEGGIES!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I'll add another rave review to this. I've made it before and never got the right consistency with the eggplant. I decided to buy a mandoline so that I could get my eggplant slices thin and uniform. I was lazy and just used organic jarred sauce. I also used fat free mozz (only 2 cups) and fat free ricotta and it was still delicious. A huge portion was only 3 weight watchers points too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This was an outstanding recipe. It came out delicious and perfect! The reason for the 4 stars is that the prep is WAY more than 15 minutes. It was a little more than an hour. However, once it was actually done it was one of the most delicious meals you could have. I used fat free ricotta and reduced fat mozzarella. I mixed lean ground beef and italian sausage in the sauce. I will regularly make the sauce for other dishes, as well. GREAT RECIPE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Wow. This was incredible! Definitely a recipe that I'll continue to eat long after Phase 1. I used Morningstar Crumbles instead of meat and left out the fennel seeds and alcohol. It's so hearty though that I'm not even sure it needs the meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      Wow, just wow! I've been on SB Phase 1 for a week and this was a true "no way! really?" dinner. Even my DH was blown away, and he hates veggies. I've never seen him eat so many veggies in one sitting!!! It did take me a significant amount of prep work (waaay more than 15 minutes) so we wound up not eating until very late, but it was soooo worth it. I can't wait to have leftovers for the next few days, woohoo!!! I sliced the eggplant in my new electric slicer and it worked great. I also salted the eggplant heavily on both sides and let it drain on racks over the sink for 30 minutes, then rinsed thoroughly and blotted with paper towels before baking. Since I had already salted them (though most of it rinses off), I skipped the salt before baking. I had no problem with the final dish being too liquidy, partly due to this. My dish came out a little on the salty side, so next time I'll skip adding any other salt to the tomato sauce (made my own) or other meat n' veggies. I can't stress enough how ridiculously delicious this recipe is for being so carb-friendly. It's even given me (and even DH!) the desire to try other mock-pasta veggie dishes like spaghetti squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      OMG!!!! What a treat!!!! Best recipe ever. THANK YOU SO MUCH! Will make it again this weekend :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This was wonderful. I liked the idea of this recipe, as I'm avoiding gluten & carbs. I made as per the recipe & we loved it. I'd love a little more tomato flavour, so next time I may add a bit of tomato paste. Otherwise, it was perfect & felt very decadent. Thanks Patti for sharing this keeper that will be made regularly in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Fantastic!! I'll make this over and over again. I prepared the eggplant under the broiler as a previous poster had suggested. I had some grape tomatoes about to go bad, so I pureed them in the blender and used in place of the canned - what a rich flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This lasagna was great! I used zucchini instead of the eggplant, as we don't care for eggplant, and other than adding more cheese and some black olives made the same, excluding the red pepper and alcohol. I used Jimmy Dean sausage, crumbled and then rinsed in hot water and patted to remove any grease. My family really enjoyed this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Fantastic! This was so good! We're "Weight Watchers" and this comes in at like 9 points. I thought I'd short-cut the recipe just to see and viola! Used Newman's Own Marina plus a can of tomato sauce to short cut all the chopping spicing etc., turkey Italian sausage, everything else the same, excluded the liquor... bumped up the cheese to 4 cups instead of 3... and I have to tell you this far exceeded my expectations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I make this all the time and it's a staple meal in our home. Even when not dieting :) A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This was tasty, but I had two issues: first the finished lasagna was very wet; when I make it again, I'll squeeze any moisture out of the spinach and drain the diced tomatoes (you could use just one 15 ounce can of tomato sauce too). Second, the amount of sauce was probably half again what I needed to layer in a 9x13 pan - not a big deal, but you might have leftovers as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Tasted just like the real thing! I used spicy chicken italian sausage, and omitted the alcohol and fennel seeds. I sliced the eggplant and placed them in a colander with a teaspoon of salt and then placed a paper towel over it for 20-30 minutes to dry it up. Then I broiled the sliced/dried eggplant after I sprinkled parmesan cheese, salt/pepper. I also drained the diced tomatoes before simmering it in the meat sauce. I would also like to say be careful with your salt!! This dish doesn't need much as its flavor all comes together nicely. I didn't put that much and it was salty enough. A little bit more would have been too salty though. AWESOME RECIPE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      THIS IS AMAZING!!! It took me a while to put it together but it was well worth it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Wasn't sure if I'd like this since I hadn't used eggplant before, but my family LOVED it! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves lasagna. I used the fennel seeds to give it the extra punch. DELICIOUS--didn't feel like I was eating "diet" food at all. Definitely a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      We've been on the South Beach diet for a month and half now and were jonesing for some Italian food. This rocked! The eggplant is substantive enough so you don't even miss the lasagna noodles. The prep is a pain but it's so worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      this is great! I love eggplant and all kinds of veggies. I made this yesterday but didn't get a chance to have it for dinner until tonight and it was perfect. I think the flavors had time to meld, yummy...and My 16 yr old said it tastes just like the veggie pizza we like. And I am NOT a fan of mushrooms but put them in anyhow and didn't even notice them! I used a mix of ground turkey breast & sweet Italian chicken sausage (removed from casing & scrambled up with the turkey). I did find the prep to be a lot more than 15 minutes - more like 45+ minutes. But worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I'm sorry, I really wanted to like this...it sounded so good. My mother, who I made this for, loved it. I thought the onion taste was very overpowering, and I only used one onion for the whole recipe instead of the three it asked for. I tasted the meat sauce before I assembled the lasagne, and it was fabulous...I would make the meat sauce again and serve it over whole wheat noodles. I also found that it was very watery, even after I simmered the sauce for almost a half hour to try and thicken it up. I would reduce the amount of tomato sauce by about 1/4 of what is accually called for. Thanks anyway, it is a great idea for low carb lasagne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Wow, this was good. Easy recipe to add extra pureed vegetables to for more nutritional value. Meat sauce is first class, PattiCakeB.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This had a strange taste, i guess it was the eggplant

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    41%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 126.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 811.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    39%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    lowfat mozzarella cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites