133 Reviews

I am not going to rate stars. I made this for four people. Two liked it. I did not think that it was all that for the amount of work. However, I am not on a limited diet. I, merely, wanted to make something that was good but was healthier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn October 06, 2012

Thanks for the idea. I didn't do the lasagna but I did cook the eggplant as you suggest and topped it with homemade marinara and parm. It was delicious. Thanks for a great low-carb idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMia September 01, 2012

I honestly prefer this to regular lasagna. It is absolutely delicious! A lifelong staple in my house now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliawiggins July 02, 2012

This really is excellent dish for dieters and non-dieters alike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 03, 2012

So... it took me 45 minutes to prep it, not 15. But it was totally worth it. I did use wine. It is amazing! I have NEVER cooked with Eggplant before and was very concerned it would be rubbery... But it really isn't. I ate it up. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
THISJESS March 28, 2012

This was such a delicious recipe! We are trying to cut down on carbs and eat more vegetables in this house. My boyfriend, and even my Asian Grandma (who thinks noodles are the meaning to life) gobbled it up!
We didn't add red wine because we didn't have any, and I forgot to put foil on. When the lasagna came out it looked a little burnt on top, but it just turned the top layer of eggplant into a crispy cheesy 'eggplant toast' for a top layer.
The sauce I used was a little too watery however, so I would definitely recommend thickening your meat sauce with tomato paste or cornstarch prior to putting it on the layers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanlokla_9450316 November 30, 2011

I didn't follow the recipe exactly--I used the cheese mixture from my favorite recipe for regular lasagna, and cheated with store bought sauce. It tasted great, and even my hubby and 4-year-old wanted seconds. The eggplant was a decent substitute for noodles, but were a little hard to cut through without destroying the whole thing. By the time we got our servings out of the pan, it looked like a train wreck...you'd definitely want to think twice before serving this dish to company, unless you're not trying to impress them with the presentation. If not for the sloppiness factor, I would have given 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyAngel1124 October 12, 2011

This was yummy! Hubby asked me where the noodles were, but once he tasted it it didn't seem to deter him a bit from gobbling it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 August 06, 2011

So good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcool29 July 11, 2011
I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna