Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      My fiancé made this for me and it was absolutely delicious! I am contemplating begging him to make it for me again soon. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I looove lasagna. But alas I'm trying to cut down on carbs since my dad is diabetic and my blood sugar is running high. As such, I was excited when I found this recipe. A few pointers, if you're having issues finding sugar free tomato sauce, you can try using tomato paste and adding water. I used 1.5x as much water as I had paste and blended thoroughly. Tomato paste has about 2 grams of sugar per serving I believe. I made a few other modifications, didn't have mushrooms, red peppers, or fennel seed, so used zucchini and green peppers. Also didn't have mozzerella so used mexican cheese and the slightest bit of cheddar and that was fine, also had no ricotta so used all cottage cheese which was also good. Also used turkey breast. Lastly it wasn't super clear to me, but after adding all the veggies, put in the tomato sauce. that wasn't explicitly in the directions and is clear to everyone else, but just to be totally explicit. Also the ricotta, is the onion/meat mixture with the ricotta in it in case you get confused.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I brought this to a party and it was a huge hit! My boyfriend, who doesn't like eggplant or mushrooms, ended up having seconds. Great flavors. Our grocery store didn't have fennel seed and I omitted the red pepper flakes since I was making it for a group. I will probably add the red pepper flakes next time since I love spicy food. I had to cook the sauce longer also to reduce the liquid more. Next time I will drain the diced tomatoes to speed up the sauce's reduction a bit. Great recipe. The eggplant mock-noodles give a great texture and really lighten up the recipe in a good way even if you're not on a low-carb diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

    • on May 04, 2010

      Dee-Lish-Us! Took me quite a while to prepare but it was well worth the wait. It is absolutely divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      This is a definite keeper!! Took a little longer to prepare, I salted the eggplant and let it drain for a few hours before I starting cooking, but well worth it. My BF loved it and didn't even realize there weren't any noodles until I mentioned it after we ate. Fantastic recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

    • on April 01, 2010

      Fabulous! I recommend adding the red wine, it gave the dish a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      OMG!!! That turned out so FANTASTIC!!! YUMMY YUMMY!!! I used fresh spinach and mushrooms. I did not add the fennel seed, wine or vodka. I also used a slotted spoon when I added the meat sauce (this helped it not to be soupy). I also added a third layer of eggplant, etc. DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Soooooo good! Hearty, healthy and on SBD this is exactly what you want without cheating on your diet. I've made this twice so far and it was great both times. Wonderful flavors! The only complaint is that the prep time is way off. I spent the better portion of 30-45 mins prepping everything before it even made it to the baking dish. It was well worth it but we had to eat dinner much later than anticipated. I will be making this again and again....and again! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      My husband and I were fasting during Orthadox lent and I wanted to make a lasagna that was low in carbs, and great tasting. Well this one nailed it big time. I made some changes to it...like I added veggie ground instead of the meat. I followed the recipe, but added more spices that were indicated in the original recipe. I used 3 eggplants so that I would get more a traditional looking lasagna. I omitted the ricotta as that has more calories and fat and used low fat cottage cheese, just stain it before you use it as this will make it thicker. I used fresh spinach and did not steam or sute, just chopped it up and added to the cottage cheese along with the eggs and some mozzerella cheese. The assembaly was like your classic lasagna, but put the spinach mixture on the bottom and the veggi ground in the middle. Top the veggie ground with another layer of eggplant and add some plain tomatoe sauce, and more cheese. It was amazing and we loved it. My husband has never had veggie ground and he could not believe how good it tasted and how amazing this lasagna was. This will be a keeper in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      My mother and I decided to go on the South Beach Diet together. We made this recipe last night and it was AMAZING! The house smelled so good and the taste was wonderful. We really enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      It was nice but it's nothing spectacular. Maybe because I used ground beef so it tasted like the pasta sauce I make normally but I didn't think it would make much difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Wow, what an excellent recipe. My family enjoys this more than lasagna made with real lasagna noodles and none of them are big eggplant fans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      YUMMY!...We loved this recipie. It took a little long to make but it was worth it. My husband agreed that this is definetly a substitute for the traditional lassagna, and it's healthier also. Thanks for the recipie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Holy Smokes! Even though this took a long time to make (I'm a fan of 30 minute meals), it was TOTALLY worth it!! My all time favorite meal is lasagna, now I can have it without noodles. I'm so glad I found this recipe. DH and son loved it. I made the mistake of telling my son there was eggplant in it. He was hesitant, but still ate it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Delicious!! Wish it would have taken me less time to make, but it was worth it! Even my vegetable hating kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

    • on December 10, 2009

      I made this tonight for me and my husband and wow, was it good! The flavors were superb and I love that it had so many different vegetables in it. A couple notes however: the recipe does not specify to thaw and drain the spinach so I did not even though I was wondering about it the entire time. I plunked the huge cube of frozen spinach into the sauce and it continued to boil away but it was melting very slowly. I could tell the sauce was going to be super watery if I let it completely thaw and cook into the sauce so I ended up fishing out about 90% of the spinach chunk. I don't know if I was supposed to pre-thaw it first but even without the spinach it was still terrific. Second, definitely put a cookie sheet under the lasagna pan! Mine boiled over in my oven and started to smoke. This is not a defect in the recipe, just a careless error by this cook. :) I made the lasagna with the Italian sausage, omitted the thyme, and precooked the eggplant to save time. And yes, the preparation took probably 45 minutes (plus eggplant time). Also, I did let the sauce cook down for about 25 minutes before assembling the lasagna. Good luck, its delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This is absolutely delicious! In fact, it was even better the second and third nights since the flavors had been given time to meld. My husband isn't a fan of "healthy" dishes but he loves eggplant and hasn't stopped raving about how good it is. HE is the cook in the house, so I can't tell you how much of a compliment it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    41%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 126.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 811.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    39%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    lowfat mozzarella cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites